Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

The same one I referenced. Not needing to go after stars because they wouldn’t fit in with the “workmanlike” mids. Bloke is a pathological liar
Post the quote or stop melting.

Well it would be completely contradictory to what Sam and our list management have continually communicated.

So it sounds like you're pulling it out of your arse to me.

I'm happy for our workman like midfield to be complemented with some points of difference which is what a fit Day, Petracca and Merrett can provide.
It’s all he does

Best to not engage

Will be on the game day thread stinking it up

“With our midfield as an example, being pretty workmanlike and making sure that we’re consistent across the board. If you’re putting $2 million into one player, that makes it a little bit more difficult, of course.”

Well it would be completely contradictory to what Sam and our list management have continually communicated.

So it sounds like you're pulling it out of your arse to me.

I'm happy for our workman like midfield to be complemented with some points of difference which is what a fit Day, Petracca and Merrett can provide.

Had an absolute sook about being turned down and it turns out they’re doing exactly what he claims they wouldn’t do.

So why is he gagging for every elite mid in the comp

Hawks, in particular Sam Mitchell living rent free in your head!

Your precious Eagles will be talking to targets as well.

Sounds like Merritt has seeked out and spoken to several clubs.

Why no rage at the Saints for there rather large number of senior talents there in the mids of acquiring?

The lions spoke to OA and Draper as well and they’ve been blessed with premierships and free hits via NGA.

Yet it’s only the Hawks you rage about! Get with the times this is player movement for all clubs! Deal with it!

Had an absolute sook about being turned down and it turns out they’re doing exactly what he claims they wouldn’t do.

Sounds like we've saved ourselves 2 million on one player and will be spreading it to two.

Welcome Tracc and Merrett.

The genius.

1757476637644.png

Mitchell is the biggest snake. 3 days out from a final and meeting with oppo captains. So much for your “workmanlike midfield” flog
coach looks to improve team

WHAT A FLOG!!!!!😡😡😡😡

Weird take. Are you sure you’re not confusing him with Goddard?
Didn’t mean it to be offensive. I just reckon if the guy is the Captain and wants out, get rid of him. The Cats lost Colbert in the late 1990s to North and in return got a player (Cam Mooney) and Corey Enright with the draft pick.

Cats fans were guttered at the time but it worked out. I can’t see him being a member of your next Premiership team, trade him and get heaps in return via draft or players. Brad is a good coach, you’ll bounce back this year.

Hawks, in particular Sam Mitchell living rent free in your head!

Your precious Eagles will be talking to targets as well.

Sounds like Merritt has seeked out and spoken to several clubs.

Why no rage at the Saints for there rather large number of senior talents there in the mids of acquiring?

The lions spoke to OA and Draper as well and they’ve been blessed with premierships and free hits via NGA.

Yet it’s only the Hawks you rage about! Get with the times this is player movement for all clubs! Deal with it!
The timing and optics of the deal more than anything. Same as meeting Oscar earlier in the year. Just has zero self awareness.

Tell us you know nothing about footy without telling us you know nothing about footy.

He is one of the better skilled players in the AFL.
I haven’t watched many Bombers games, but the ones I’ve seen it was his terrible attitude on field that was really jarring. They were late in the season so he’d probably had enough.

I think MacKenzie (if willing to move for opportunity) would have to be included in any deal we want from Hawthorn to be honest.

I reckon Carlton pick plus MacKenzie gets it done at this point as much as it would suck to see him running around in Hawthorn colours.
If MacKenzie was to head anywhere, it would be to the Saints to give us more trade collateral.

You’ve already been talking to Ramsden and Husswaite, and Reeves would make a lot of sense, the biggest hurdle for Essendon will be getting any Hawthorn player to want to go to a club that is going backwards.

Didn’t mean it to be offensive. I just reckon if the guy is the Captain and wants out, get rid of him. The Cats lost Colbert in the late 1990s to North and in return got a player (Cam Mooney) and Corey Enright with the draft pick.

Cats fans were guttered at the time but it worked out. I can’t see him being a member of your next Premiership team, trade him and get heaps in return via draft or players. Brad is a good coach, you’ll bounce back this year.
I should've been clearer, I agree with it being an issue about him questioning the club's direction constantly and that if he's not fully on board he needs to get out.

The bit that was weird/Goddard-ish is this part: "He sooks on the field and berates his teammates for skill errors - and then promptly butchers the ball himself. I’ve never liked his attitude."

The timing and optics of the deal more than anything. Same as meeting Oscar earlier in the year. Just has zero self awareness.
Only slightly hypocritical that you were probably completely OK with Don Pyke playing golf with Chad Warner weeks earlier, eh?

Again all other clubs are doing this…. In season the year before!

They plant a seed, hey if your unhappy where interested. Player has a bad year or club has a bad year and said player starts considering his future else where!

The lions have been working on OA and Draper for a while in season.

It’s no longer 2000, it’s how player movement works for all clubs. For what ever reason Sam Mitchell catches more media for his meetings.

I should've been clearer, I agree with it being an issue about him questioning the club's direction constantly and that if he's not fully on board he needs to get out.

The bit that was weird/Goddard-ish is this part: "He sooks on the field and berates his teammates for skill errors - and then promptly butchers the ball himself. I’ve never liked his attitude."
Yeah, good point, Goddard was a shocker for that. The Richo school of spooking it up! I was probably a bit harsh on Merrett, a tough season given the injury toll.

Let's say we walk from the deal.

We still have Day, Newcombe, Ward, McKenzie and pick 8 - let's say Greeves.

Media are now saying Newcombe is one of the best performed mids in finals over the last 2 years.
To be fair, last years elimination final against our ****ing witches hats would be doing A LOT of heavy lifting for his averages there.

If MacKenzie was to head anywhere, it would be to the Saints to give us more trade collateral.

You’ve already been talking to Ramsden and Husswaite, and Reeves would make a lot of sense, the biggest hurdle for Essendon will be getting any Hawthorn player to want to go to a club that is going backwards.

Harsh on Essendon to say they are going backwards. They've been pretty consistently mediocre for a solid two decades.

Ridley, Draper, Merrett all want out, some noise about Perkins, Martin injured. I think they’re going backwards.

The only teams he would go to would be us, pies, bulldogs or cats, you don’t get a better deal from any of those other teams
We aren't paying shit for him,

His management came to us but he isn't a need nor worth the trade required for us

Sam was just catching up with a mate to get him a few extra 0's on his contract from Brizvegas.

All he asked in return was a six pack.

Good bloke.

Unfortunately your club made him do an interview at gunpoint.

we are 100% going backwards, next 1-2 years is gonna be rougher than what we have seen since 2016.

But its not our job to convince players to come to us in a trade we don't necessarily want to do, if Hawks want Merrett somethings got to give.

We arent letting our best player and captain walk with 2 years on his contract for a mediocre deal, so unless the picks work out in our favor they need to send a player over in addition to picks. Hawks sent Ryan Burton to Port against his wishes originally. So they can do it again i guess.