Preview Prelim Final 25 - Geelong V Hawthorn Fri 19th Sept 2025 740pm @ MCG

View attachment 2424877
If they won a flag again soon, they'd probably jump us but we are a big club these days. We can fill out the G as much as them.
I've always disliked these tables.

How many tickets does that add up to?
Lets say Geelong have 40,000 3 game memberships and Hawthorn have 87,000 11 game memberships.

In that scenario I know which team is doing better.

I reckon this thread could be a fascinating exercise in trauma response. Some of us are so clearly spooked by the colours and the history and not looking at the reality of the two teams rationally.

Thank God our players couldn't give a shit about Trevor Poole's torpedo in the 1991 Semi, let alone remember Jordan Murdoch putting us up by four goals in 2013.

Have a little faith here, folks. At least to my mind, we've generally beaten them when we are better and sometimes when we weren't.

This has more 2011 Qualifying Final vibes to me than 2013 Prelim/2008 Granny.

I sound like a broken record but if we kick straight we win. If they get the chance to kick in from a behind too often they'll carve us up.

We're better in almost every position and should win.

In some ways I'd have liked the soft kill prelim against an interstate club infront of 70k people, instead we get the next chapter in an epic rivalry infront of 90-95k people.
We are the better team, we are more experienced, we are a better club, it is the hawks who will need to play above themselves to be a chance, and judging by last night, that won't be happening, they seem incapable of actually playing finals footy.
Bring it on. 1 foot in the GF.

I've always disliked these tables.

How many tickets does that add up to?
Lets say Geelong have 40,000 3 game memberships and Hawthorn have 87,000 11 game memberships.

In that scenario I know which team is doing better.
Yeah I've no idea. I would safely assume the Hawks in general have more supporters than us, but once upon a time we were down with Stkilda in terms of support and members. We aren't Collingwood or West coast but we are at the heels of the bigger clubs.

There was 86,000 at the G for Brisbane Geelong last week, and it was majority Geelong.

I know the Friday night time isn't perfect for Geelong but we can even the numbers.

We are the better team, we are more experienced, we are a better club, it is the hawks who will need to play above themselves to be a chance, and judging by last night, that won't be happening, they seem incapable of actually playing finals footy.
Could you expand on that a bit? They won in a canter against the Crom, no?

I reckon this thread could be a fascinating exercise in trauma response. Some of us are so clearly spooked by the colours and the history and not looking at the reality of the two teams rationally.

Thank God our players couldn't give a shit about Trevor Poole's torpedo in the 1991 Semi, let alone remember Jordan Murdoch putting us up by four goals in 2013.

Have a little faith here, folks. At least to my mind, we've generally beaten them when we are better and sometimes when we weren't.

Dunno about 'trauma response'.

More like all the Debbie Downers popping out of the woodwork again desperately talking up us losing.

They haven't had much to shoot at recently so this is their big moment.

I just wish it were the Crows.

Hawthorn are a distinct chance, and I'm going to cop endless ridicule from within my circle if they get over us.

Mind you, I'll be ****-a-hoop if we win. Modest though.

But damn I'm going to be nervous.
You just described my situation, and likely many other supporters whom live in outer eastern suburbs Melbourne.

Meek will be a bit of a problem? Blicavs and SDK will need to pay attention, assuming Stanley won't play.
Presumably Mullin to Newcombe.
Hawks similar to us - strong at both ends with slightly weaker midfields. But I'd like to think that we're slightly superior on every line.
Hopefully either or both of Holmes and Smith can get off the chain and cause some havoc.

That nagging complaint of not beating them in cut-throat finals...this would be a nice time to lay that to rest.

They're good though. Very quick and clever.
It will be on!
First quarter will tell the story- if we are anywhere near or ahead of them, it should be ours- getting blown out of the water as has previously happened to us, in first quarters of KO finals, is a nightmare.

Suppose for a moment we do lift the cup. We'll have beaten Lions, Hawks, and Collingwood to do it. That would be a pretty fuvking sweet way to do it if we did.
2011- Hawks, WCE, Pies- all finals nemeses. There is history there for us sometimes.

There are 3 or 4 really good match ups on Neale at this stage of his development and Barass is one of them. Weedle is also about the perfect match up on Dempsey - just as quick with same endurance plus he is taller, a better mark and defends well.
I feel like Shannon has the advantage in the air with Barass. He just needs to lead up and jump instead of trying to play from behind.

You just described my situation, and likely many other supporters whom live in outer eastern suburbs Melbourne.

I think there's a demographic of Cat supporters who had to endure watching Hawthorn win GF's monotonously whilst we couldn't win a chook raffle.

Then there was the 'what if' factor from '89. I was devastated that day.

The scars, and respectful hatred of Hawthorn, run deep.

We are a better team and we are playing very good footy. We will be too strong for them.
The media will be all over the hawks this week and I’m happy with that. They can salivate over Newcombe and co and we can quietly get prepared.
Can’t see their forward line kicking enough goals against our backs.

I just wish it were the Crows.

Hawthorn are a distinct chance, and I'm going to cop endless ridicule from within my circle if they get over us.

Mind you, I'll be ****-a-hoop if we win. Modest though.

But damn I'm going to be nervous.

No im totally opposite , Ade have played a limited number of MCG games this year and have played well - i feared theyd have a free hit and sneaky chance of rolling Geelong

I ive got a pretty good strike rate when it comes to your feel about certain games , and i did tip correctly Carlton Bris and GWS to all beat Geel comfortably when the Cats were clear cut favourites to win

I think in the Prelim Geelong will win easily , when the Cats won the 22 flag , i tipped Geel by an even 6 goals , well in this weeks Prelim , re the margin , well Billy Goggin was my all time favourite player , Champion player , all class and skill , so i will settle on a Geelong victory by 35 points

My wariness on Hawthorn simply pertains to their current team. I agree that ancient history in finals means zilch.

If you tracked each team's most recent 40 games or so, not much separates them. They have had a tougher draw this year and they tend to take the foot off the gas against poorer teams, that's all. They'll bring a higher standard than Brisbane did last week but our best is better than theirs.