Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

Fev loves this club. The players did the wrong thing by him, the footy show handing him the microphone when he was so drunk and setting him up for failure. Instead of looking after him and putting him to bed, they all turned on him.

yes he had a bit of growing up to do but he loves this club. Should have better looked after him.

Charlie wants out. Fev didnt want out.

If Charlie has met with other coaches then he can go. He's not interested.
I wonder if Fev was at a more stable club at the time would they have managed it better. It's no secret we've not really be a well managed club for 20+ yrs. If he was at, say, Geelong or Sydney they maybe keep him within the lines a bit better.

In the end though, as you say, it is all his own fault ultimately. We maybe could've helped in some ways but personal responsibility also needs to be taken - which he eventually did so well done to Fev, just a shame it cost us an 800+ career goal forward. Arguably even a realistic shot at a flag.

Our compo picks won't be confirmed until after St Kilda lodges the paperwork with the AFL on Oct 3rd. The AFL will try and process TDK and Jacks paperwork and hand out our compo picks before Brisvegas lodges the paperwork for Allen. And then when they have done all that and WCE get pick 2 for Allen and we get pick 69 for Jack, they'll say that's just way the formula works.
I think we go back and ask them to reconsider...

Our compo picks won't be confirmed until after St Kilda lodges the paperwork with the AFL on Oct 3rd. The AFL will try and process TDK and Jacks paperwork and hand out our compo picks before Brisvegas lodges the paperwork for Allen. And then when they have done all that and WCE get pick 2 for Allen and we get pick 69 for Jack, they'll say that's just way the formula works.
What we get for Jack v what Ess get for Draper will be the watch

That could be several Geelong players.

Polkinghorne, Mannagh, Collarjazzknee (because there is no spelling that one correctly), Knevitt, Ivisic, Retschko, Matofai-Forbes, Blicavs, Guthrie, Clohesy, Miers.

Looks like names you’d see playing country football on the weekend.
Yeah we have enough trouble spelling Clark correctly

My housemate is a big cats fan so I’ve been watched a lot of cats games, Kolo is good. He plays key (he’s 195 cm and 7cm taller than Cowan) and was a huge reason they did so well in 2022, I’ve wanted to poach him ever since that season.

Unfortunately his injuries seem to be a real problem and being 30 might be outside our recruiting range - but he is really good and would compliment Weitering well
I think he has a few good years in him but not so many that he stands in the way of an up and coming kid. In that way I think he'd suit. He wouldn't really cost anything either.

The other one you should be targeting is Ted Clohesy

That could be several Geelong players.

Polkinghorne, Mannagh, Collarjazzknee (because there is no spelling that one correctly), Knevitt, Ivisic, Retschko, Matofai-Forbes, Blicavs, Guthrie, Clohesy, Miers.

Looks like names you’d see playing country football on the weekend.
Oi... Polkinghorne is easy to say and spell. It'd be like saying Falkingham is hard to say correctly.

But then again... Falkingham was my grandmothers family, and Polkinghorne were the Falk's cousins :D And yes... I am related to all the Polkinghornes who played V/AFL.

In my opinion Gibbs was a very skilled footballer but only turned it on when he wanted to.
Never quite lived up to the hype for me. The way he performed in in juniors, and the SANFL prior to being drafted, looked like he was a surefire multiple time AA. Debuting for Glenelg at 16 then finishing 3rd in Glenelgs BnF at just 17 was ridiculous.

I still remember an interview with Fev when asked about Murph or Gibbs he said both a great, but thinks Gibbs will win a Brownlow. Turned out Murph had the better career and individual accolades. I also remember Adelaide were blowing up about the F/S rules because he was so highly rated, with Ross playing 197 games (iirc) before the cut-off date, despite playing over 250 ultimately.

Just not sure Gibbs ever quite took the next step professionally. He was clearly very naturally good as a footballer - hence why you could play him anywhere on the field and he'd do a decent job, he read the game very well - but he never looked the fittest, ran the best or was the strongest. I'm not claiming unprofessional, but not sure he ever got to the elitest level of standards either.

Never quite lived up to the hype for me. The way he performed in in juniors, and the SANFL prior to being drafted, looked like he was a surefire multiple time AA. Debuting for Glenelg at 16 then finishing 3rd in Glenelgs BnF at just 17 was ridiculous.

I still remember an interview with Fev when asked about Murph or Gibbs he said both a great, but thinks Gibbs will win a Brownlow. Turned out Murph had the better career and individual accolades. I also remember Adelaide were blowing up about the F/S rules because he was so highly rated, with Ross playing 197 games (iirc) before the cut-off date, despite playing over 250 ultimately.

Just not sure Gibbs ever quite took the next step professionally. He was clearly very naturally good as a footballer - hence why you could play him anywhere on the field and he'd do a decent job, he read the game very well - but he never looked the fittest, ran the best or was the strongest. Not unprofessional by any means, but not sure he ever got to the elitest level of standards either.
Gibbs was one of those guys who would run all day, and still be running at the end of the game. He was always in a good position and would always make the opposition hurt. Should have been an absolute star of the game. But yeah, he'll just be remembered as a very good player.

Kolodjashnij would be a decent get for a year or two. Likely would be a salary dump for the Cats, so the price could be very right.

Edit: We just need a viable no. 2 KPD for two years. He is not getting back in to their top team on a regular basis and would have been on reasonable money as a staple before his issues. Due diligence required. We do still have L.Young as a viable option if he and Weiters can co-exist. HOF and Dean will step up quickly with an even run at it.

Kolo could be a likely option for Tassie, so if he stays healthy, may even have a small resale value.

Flanders won’t do anything to move the needle in our midfield,looks average.

The Flanders of last year that was getting centre bounces would be a massive addition to our midfield. The emergence/preference of Humphrey and Davies as centre bounce mids has coincided with his poor form this season.

I would be more concerned with his lingering back injury than his ability to play football. If that is ticked off we should be all over him.

We're going to be shafted regardless.
Unless the AFL gives us band 1 instead of band 2 to help sweeten a deal with GC for CC.

They've done that previously to help with a couple of players where the pick would get on traded help their nepo babies come out ahead.

I wouldn't put it past them to pay Charlie a marketing bonus.