Autopsy AFL 2025 First Preliminary Final - Pies v Lions Sat Sept 20th 5:15pm EST (MCG)

• Thread starter Thread starter Wosh

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 12 6.6%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 55 30.4%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 14 7.7%
  • Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 15 8.3%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 63 34.8%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 18 9.9%
  • Draw

Votes: 4 2.2%

Brisbane were dominating scores from turnover as the old Pies tired.
Pies got a junk time goal at the end as well to flatter the scoreboard.
How about those umpires but - I'm sure I read somewhere that Fly couldn't wait to get back to the MCG , a place where they get treated better by officials. That statement really worked a treat last night

Is this some directive cos of the predominantly Vic market?
Mate I am just happy one non Vic side made it to the 2025 grand final.

This time last year, I was cheering hard for Brisbane to beat Geelong due to making sure it was a all non Victorian grand final. Swans vs Port was irrelevant to me.

I didn't care who won last year's grand final. It was moving North regardless.

It was either gonna land at NSW or go further up north to Queensland

I got confused reading their post before too but then realised myself so I could see how you interpreted it. :tearsofjoy:

Pies got a junk time goal at the end as well to flatter the scoreboard.
How about those umpires but - I'm sure I read somewhere that Fly couldn't wait to get back to the MCG , a place where they bet treated better by officials. That statement really worked a treat last night
Well you are both Carlton fans. So your obvious views on why you wanted Collingwood to lose.

No way you want magpies to try and win a 17th flag.

Elmer_Hauser and Irish BlueBagger , I guess you Carlton fans have to settle with Carlton, magpies and Essendon stuck on 16 flags each for another season LoL

Collingwood vs Brisbane - Finals

2025 Preliminary Final (MCG)
Brisbane defeated Collingwood by 29 pts

2023 Grand Final (MCG)
Collingwood defeated Brisbane by 4 pts

2003 Grand Final (MCG)
Brisbane defeated Collingwood by 50 pts

2003 Quarter Final (MCG)
Collingwood defeated Brisbane by 15 pts

2002 Grand Final (MCG)
Brisbane defeated Collingwood by 9 pts

Collingwood: 2
Brisbane: 3
Damn this pattern guaranteed a Brisbane win.

Even if it was a free, and even if he kicks the goal, Collingwood are still down by a goal. In what universe does that mean Brisbane doesn’t still kick the next 5 goals or whatever or just hold their current lead. Thinking that a single free kick with 10 minutes to go would have meant Collingwood kicked the next 5 instead of Brisbane is pure fan fiction.

The high free kick for the Schulz dive seconds after Ashcroft tackled around the neck was a much worse decision if you want to pick a single moment in 120 minutes.

Let’s be real, Brisbane were the much better team and Collingwood were lucky to get as close as they did with efficient kicking.

Should be a good Grand Final for the best two teams of the year.

No doubt Pendlebury not being able to play threw the team outve whack.
Howe not playing a full game since Rnd 16 and can’t play out the game.
Pretty damning.

Pies didn’t have the midfield to go with Brisbane.

Why are David King, Jack Riewoldt and Jon Ralph doubling down on the "Starcevich v Elliot" absence of free? Starcevich had eyes on the ball and flushed the ball out of Elliot's hands without obstructing Elliot's face, chopping his arms, or hitting him unduly in the front of body/face.

Not only was it not a free kick, it was an exemplary spoil running with the flight of the ball.

The frustrating part is is that umpire deserves a hell of a lot of credit for making that call. Live, 99 people out of 100 probably thought that was a free, and in front of 100000 mostly Pies fans it’d have been easy to get sucked in. But the replay showed he was 100% correct to call play on, and as you say it was a phenomenal effort from Starcevich.

Why are David King, Jack Riewoldt and Jon Ralph doubling down on the "Starcevich v Elliot" absence of free? Starcevich had eyes on the ball and flushed the ball out of Elliot's hands without obstructing Elliot's face, chopping his arms, or hitting him unduly in the front of body/face.

Not only was it not a free kick, it was an exemplary spoil running with the flight of the ball.
💯 this and then 💯 again.

Pies have it where they want it. You just know it’s heartbreak for Brisbane. And once again the story will be the umpiring…..
3 out of 3 sentences scored by you. WRONG.
might be how Demons have dropped away so fast. Unable to read the play properly. :cool: :brisbane:

The frustrating part is is that umpire deserves a hell of a lot of credit for making that call. Live, 99 people out of 100 probably thought that was a free, and in front of 100000 mostly Pies fans it’d have been easy to get sucked in. But the replay showed he was 100% correct to call play on, and as you say it was a phenomenal effort from Starcevich.
Agree. It was an incredible call by the umpire to not blow the whistle, but he remained composed and the right decision was made. Hope he’s getting plaudits internally from his coach.

You could rewatch the game and find a 100 calls that weren't made that could of been. Crying over one decision in a 29 point result game is wild..

Oh well. Given they’ve had the rub of the green for such a long time this might humble them a bit. No doubt the media will keep reminding us how much of a travesty it was.

Where’s Gary Lyon when you need him? Flog

Was anyone seriously surprised at last night's result? Pies get anyone else but Adelaide first week and they lose, cant believe so many so called footy experts were fooled by the Adelaide result. This is a team that has been cooked for 2 months now. Brisbane were always going to beat them and beat them well.
They are staring down from the top of the cliff as it crumbles beneath them, t's time they cleaned out the old dead wood and hit the draft hard.

You could rewatch the game and find a 100 calls that weren't made that could have been. Crying over one decision in a 29 point result game is wild..
That’s the media though. That’s what the VFL do. No way you’re getting the same coverage going back the other way.