Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

So where do with think Treloar's best role next season is going to be? I think others will be first in line for CBAs, not to mention if we somehow land Butters. Can he shift to a full time wing role? Would he work at half forward or like a twilight Matty Boyd off half back?
I can’t stand to even think about him doing preseason 😟

The flank opposite Dale concerns me. It was held down by an aging JJ and hot and cold Bramble this year, who knows if JJ will be on the list next year, Bramble certainly isn't going to improve at this point. Sellwood looks more defensive and Jaques still prepubescent.

True. I would be concerned that we can't handle another non-defending defended back there

I think his long term future is definitely on ball but I would rather Freijah play half back while waiting for that midfield spot to open up, rather than half forward where he is solid but not as impactful

If you guys and gals are mad about the academies wait til you hear what a little birdie told me the other day.

My best mate was talking to a bloke who’s son, born and raised in glen Waverley, Melbourne, is a talented young footballer. The kid is 13 years old or so and footy mad.

Lions offered to pay for him to relocate so he can be in their academy.
Who would have known that were loopholes in the AFL rules that you drive a bus through?

Reckon there would be some awfully nervous Saints officials. Day before their BnF and no announcement shutting it down. I would still have the odds at 80% staying.

100% There is major Sphincter puckering having said that. If there is no announcement at the BnF then it could well be game on.

Do they really need to say anything when hes contracted?

Loved when Dunkley gave Sniff a push over boundary.. Sniff went down like a bag of shit…
Soft as marshmallows he is.
Dunkley 10 times the player sniff will ever be!.. And a gentleman at that..
A gentleman that tried to leave us with 2 years of his contract left and then left town the first chance he could. I’m not sure why there is so much Dunkley love. He is as much a snake as Bailey Smith. I know most will say he got us to a GF and won a B&F before leaving but he was always out the door after the 2020 season. He just bided his time when he couldn’t get out in-contract.

Do they really need to say anything when hes contracted?
No they don't have to but just to reassure the Saints faithful that he is staying they will put out a statement confirming Wilkie's intentions. If I was a betting person BnF would be a good time to do it. With a large audience and a likely media presence

A gentleman that tried to leave us with 2 years of his contract left and then left town the first chance he could. I’m not sure why there is so much Dunkley love. He is as much a snake as Bailey Smith. I know most will say he got us to a GF and won a B&F before leaving but he was always out the door after the 2020 season. He just bided his time when he couldn’t get out in-contract.
I agree with some of what you’ve said here not all. It’s just that he looks like Chris Grant compared with that narcissist that went down the highway.

Or he wanted out of the Bevo regime ? Which to be honest is fair enough. His personal decision has been vindicated. Sure it sucks for us, but think we need to look internally at the actual problem

So where do with think Treloar's best role next season is going to be? I think others will be first in line for CBAs, not to mention if we somehow land Butters. Can he shift to a full time wing role? Would he work at half forward or like a twilight Matty Boyd off half back?
I think he'll probably be used similarly to how Fyfe was used this year. Still in the midfield but most probably as sub most weeks.

He wanted out because of concerns with professionalism from other players. He requested a trade, was denied it, and came back and gave it his all. He fulfilled his contract to the absolute best of his ability, then departed once his contract was finished.

Bailey Smith skipped milestone games of team mates and community events in his final year, made public appearances with Geelong personnel while still under contract, and has continued shit talking the club once he left despite everything done for him.

I truly could not see how Dunkley is as much a snake as Smith. It’s not even remotely close

Or he wanted out of the Bevo regime ? Which to be honest is fair enough. His personal decision has been vindicated. Sure it sucks for us, but think we need to look internally at the actual problem
Bevo regime, is there anything that Bevo is not responsible.

He did not like the professionalism of a few players, some in supposed leadership roles. He was and is a professional, he also wanted to leave Victoria.

I think he'll probably be used similarly to how Fyfe was used this year. Still in the midfield but most probably as sub most weeks.

Sub rule will be gone, it will just be 5 interchange players

Yeah the whole package, pressure, tackles, forcing turnovers. The Cats tried to get it out of defence a few times, only for it to go straight back into a Lions players hands, and straight back inside 50. Hard to defend repeat entries.
Yes, we are on the same page on this and you are spot on. The reason Brisbane won yesterday was the power of tackling, forcing turnovers and winning clearances. They have the cattle, but we are not far off it. It could be a body size thing with our young players, but imagine having player like Andrews and Starcevich down back. This is why I reckon JJ is no longer useful in the modern game.

Wing or is this too crazy an idea?

Bevo regime, is there anything that Bevo is not responsible.

He did not like the professionalism of a few players, some in supposed leadership roles. He was and is a professional, he also wanted to leave Victoria.
Bevo is at the head of it is he not ? He's responsible for majority of it. That's the coaches role.

The Bevo defendants will always find excuses as to why we don't make finals or win them and why A grade talent are happy to walk out the door in their prime.

He wanted out because of concerns with professionalism from other players. He requested a trade, was denied it, and came back and gave it his all. He fulfilled his contract to the absolute best of his ability, then departed once his contract was finished.

Bailey Smith skipped milestone games of team mates and community events in his final year, made public appearances with Geelong personnel while still under contract, and has continued shit talking the club once he left despite everything done for him.

I truly could not see how Dunkley is as much a snake as Smith. It’s not even remotely close
So concerned about professionalism that he wanted to join a club that housed the super-professional Jake Stringer. He did fulfill his contract but there was no doubt that he was leaving at the end of it.

Bevo is at the head of it is he not ? He's responsible for majority of it. That's the coaches role.

The Bevo defendants will always find excuses as to why we don't make finals or win them and why A grade talent are happy to walk out the door in their prime.
The fact you use the term Bevo defendants for those who point out your gripes and opinions that Bevo is responsible for all issues despite the fact that not one of your assertions are supported by facts in anyway really shows you have no idea.

Here is another simple fact, we would be lucky to have 2 out of the top 25 players in the last 10 years leave the club and I am being very generous with Bailey Smith to include him in that group

The fact you use the term Bevo defendants for those who point out your gripes and opinions that Bevo is responsible for all issues despite the fact that not one of your assertions are supported by facts in anyway really shows you have no idea.

Here is another simple fact, we would be lucky to have 2 out of the top 25 players in the last 10 years leave the club and I am being very generous with Bailey Smith to include him in that group
If its a simple fact I'm not sure how you can be generous to include Bailey Smith ??

Maths not your strong point? For us to actually have 2 players in the top 25 players that moved clubs in Bev's term there is Dunkley. Bailey who shat the bed when it counted in his first year at the cats needs to be included. Given he is not even the top 2 at Geelong alone would say that's being generous

Crows adding Ah Chee, and potentially Petracca.

Lions adding Allen, Draper and another top five academy kid.

Geelong adding potentially Marshall, Worpel or Curnow.

Big off season coming up for us if we want to keep up with the best.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)