Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Should we let Charlie go too, supporters will have to be appeased with a bag of lollies, an anguished and disillusioned supporter base is not an Ideal for any footy club.
GW & CD have walked into a minefield, its going to take expertise and determination to extricate the club from the quagmire its in.
Our President, Voss don't really inspire.

He is a similar opportunity purely based on $ for picks.

Given length of contract the Oliver salary trade should be worth an early future 1st + change (future 2nd/3rd) given longer contract than Bowes + higher value.

IMO I’d be happy to pay that to cover off walker + improved draft hand in future (opportunity to package the dees future 2nd/3rd with our ones to move up the draft)
Regarding Oliver salary dump and future 1st - imo Dees are unlikely to move up the ladder in 26. That would make the base value of a salary dump pick 5 in 2026 + whatever else we could get.

That might be enough to cover off Walker bid whilst retaining our 2026 1st round pick (say about 8-10 range).

In a much stronger draft is the money worth it? (Assuming Oliver doesn’t play a game) - imo I would take that deal - particularly if the change is a future 2nd ie early 20s pick
To put it more clearly and succinctly: if they're paying half of his salary, it's not a salary dump. It's a player dump, and that sweetens the draft pick or player return because they are assuming less risk.

It won't look anything like the Bowes trade.
I don't think that's as bad as you're making it out to be.

We're getting unders for TDK as he's a free agent, we're getting probable unders for JSOS as well as he's a free agent (arguable, but I reckon in this draft we'd have been able to squeeze more than what is effectively an early second rounder). Both of these are beyond our control.

Our natural first and second rounders already got us a decent chunk of Jagga Smith.

We're somewhat hampered in our ability to secure free agents this year, but should be in a good position to hit the free agency market in 2025.
We can in fact take in free agents up to the tune of about $800k without losing a shred of compensation. That's how ridiculous TDK's deal was.

SOS' pick probably pays for Dean, who despite you chanting repeatedly about it and holding hands, is not a top 10 pick at this point, because the draft hasn't happened.

It's been thoroughly covered in multiple threads why he is not locked in for the top 10, and nor should he be. We don't need to flush assets away for him as yet, and frankly you would be looking to turn it into a future 1st and some spare change unless you had plans to select players deep into the second round (pending Ison valuation).
You really think a club is going to trade a low 1st in a strong draft next year, for a super comprimised 2027 1st plus a 2nd? Absolutely no chance.

Also, who is this A-Grader that is going to want to come to us?

Would love it if it was that easy but think you're being a bit optimistic.
With you all the way here except for calling 2027 super compromised. First round has some extra picks, but they have to trade 4 of them. They'll likely be desperate to turn those into usable top 30 picks to improve their list.
You weren't very clear... you tacked it on as an assumption in another post but weren't specific as to who... just "a decent player"

Either way, would make no difference... they're not doing that and you know it.
I don't know, but I can think of a variety of options given one tall would be sent to reserves, and another shoved into a role they might not want to play.
Yeah, unlike you, I'm realistic as to where Dean will be bid on and the TDK compo pick we have will get eaten by that bid...

So, we lose it anyway, at least if we trade up before any chance of a Dean bid, we can take a quality player + Dean by trading in a bunch of picks in the 30's... that's how smart clubs would operate... just look at how Brisbane did it...
Ah yes, because I haven't repeatedly mentioned that if it remains a clear small risk, we can just have a plan in place to trade down, there would be multiple takers, including West Coast.

Such a deal would likely increase in value as we get closer to the draft, lots of work still being done. Delist counts league wide suggest the draft pool will be 60+.
Might want those reading comprehension classes for yourself mate...

The only difference in your scenario is, we keep the TDK compo pick in exchange for losing Acres and a F2... everything else stays the same...

Now ask yourself, if you were WCE, would you prefer Acres + F2 over a top 10 pick this year? Not gonna happen. Shit if Acres + F2 is worth pick 10 then we might as well try and get a pick around that mark for ourselves...

And don't try and weasel out of it, this is what you said:

That puts Acres current value at around pick 21! :D
I wrote that initial comment forgetting the McGovern component because it was almost 1 AM. You can look back in the list management thread and see I've maintained the proposal for a while, and now think the Sydney sweetener makes it viable.

I assume Sydney would be throwing them something else, presumably a decent player looking for midfield minutes, or dislodged out of the forward line by Curnow.

Maybe we'd throw them McGovern?
This was my thinking:

2 + Chesser
for
TDK pick (or Sydney's 2025 1st) + Acres + McGovern + Carlton 2026 2nd

That values Acres and McGovern combined as about pick 25-30.
And Sydney sending them a player. I think it could work out well for them come 2027.
In summary: go away.

If the AFL ever wanted to use that BS special herbs and spices they add with all the FA compo etc to look after teams actively getting f***ed, making JSOS band 1 compo would really solve a lot of our issues over the next two seasons to mitigate the disastrous impact of their changes to the F/S and NGA bid matching system.

Carlton has told Ryan Burton that they won’t be considering him. 🔒
Awkward The Simpsons GIF

Nothing more certain than Geelong picking up Oliver for a fourth rounder and only having to pay half his salary, for him to then turn around and become an A grader again.

I will say though... that club is taking on a lot of risk with DHs. That cup is already overflowing. I will take some joy when it bursts.
Id love to see what happens with him and Bailey Sniff. They may as well as Elijah to the mix. They get away with everything down the highway. Still some big secrets down at Geelong that need to stay hidden this off season. It’ll blow up imo.

Made a mistake in my post - Imo Oliver salary dump would be along the lines of Bowes salary dump (Bowes +pick 7 for future 3rd) ie we would be asking for Oliver + future 1st for blues future 3rd

So in essence
Out: Cripps + future 3rd
In: Oliver + 2x future 1sts (freo+dees) + 2027 future 2nd/3rd (freo)

Oliver may have had issues but 2 years younger + similarly performed in 2025 + slap in the face being traded may mean he pulls the finger out (the talent is there).

As I said it won’t happen but it would be a good way to buy future talent for minimal list impact (I don’t rate Cripps captaincy and think he is limited around the ground + should not be a primary midfielder as we gear up for the next finals push)
What are you smoking

If the AFL ever wanted to use that BS special herbs and spices they add with all the FA compo etc to look after teams actively getting f***ed, making JSOS band 1 compo would really solve a lot of our issues over the next two seasons to mitigate the disastrous impact of their changes to the F/S and NGA bid matching system.
Exactly, why aren't we making a noise about this. AFL approved media have already reported it as fact about what we will get, floating it out there, so corrupt. Bent over again without a whimper.
Nothing ever changes.
Nothing ever happens

Cripps always turns a down year around. Watch him improve again in 2026.
My position on Cripps has nothing to do with having a down year - more we/list profile, when we expect to contend next, Cripps on field flexibility (don’t rate him as a forward) and the historical inability to sacrifice Cripps game to enable development of others (Dow, Kennedy, Hewitt, cerra)