- #5,203

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Not sure how you form an argument to an administration that have no formula to their system and make it up as they go along.Sorry but I'm yet to see any evidence of anyone being ruthless at the club for a long time.
When are they going to get 'ruthless' with the AFL? A ruthless club would be pushing for 2 first round picks for TDK for a record 1.8million contract prime Ruck about to hit his peak. Yet here we are meekly accepting unders from the system as usual.
A ruthless club would be threating all kinds of action over the changes to the father son. That are going to see us bent over yet again... after other clubs have been gifted dynasties.
All I'm seeing is the usual meekness from this club.
A lot of you just fall for the same old spin and chinese whispers.
'Mr new guru is the bee knees just wait you'll see, he's going to sort it out .. trust in Mr xxx" Seen it with Silvagni etc etc, and all objectivity goes straight out the window.
Nothing ever happens
Absolute ****ing amateurs.League to formally announce rules for 2026 in the next day or two
Is it silly for a team stacked with slower inside mids and clearly a bit of a culture problem to target another slower inside mids who’s rooted in the causes of another clubs culture problems?Is it silly to think Clayton Olliver at $700k is worth a gamble, would be getting a premier midfielder for basically the AFL average salary and cant imagine we would be giving up much in a trade.
Is it silly to think Clayton Olliver at $700k is worth a gamble, would be getting a premier midfielder for basically the AFL average salary and cant imagine we would be giving up much in a trade.
There needs to be a monster push back. We are screwed next year, but * royally reamed assuming Tassie comes in as scheduled. No way on earth they can match a top 3 bid all things being equal with the draft capital on offer (they should not be forced to trade premo talent, while trying to build a competitive list after extended time in the “wilderness”)Expecting first round and end of first round picks for TDK and JSOS.
Definitely looking at improving our 2026 hand this year. League to formally announce rules for 2026 in the next day or two - plenty of clubs still pushing back following the commission meeting a couple of weeks ago.
There needs to be a monster push back. We are screwed next year, but * royally reamed assuming Tassie comes in as scheduled. No way on earth they can match a top 3 bid all things being equal with the draft capital on offer (they should not be forced to trade premo talent, while trying to build a competitive list after extended time in the “wilderness”)
These entitled prats running the AFL have no sense of history or tradition. The dramas caused by the academies need to be divorced from the father son situation. Yeah, many are pissed off at the hand given Collingwood, Western Bulldogs and the Suns (via academy), myself included. It is such a romantic and time honoured thing, that this current crop of administrators should nit have the right to dramatically screw with it.
Agreed and I think it will likely swing back the other way once it becomes apparent that it's unreasonable.I genuinely think that if the 2025 rules/DVI had been in place since the DVI was introduced 10 years ago, there would be very little complaining or pushback now. Maybe a slight tweak to the DVI necessary, although we can't know that until we see it play out.
Just a massive knee-jerk reaction because the Lions (and Dogs, Pies Suns to a much lesser extent) have been able to rort the previous system.
I asked the same question. Based on Melbourne's stance i reckon clubs can get him for $500k. Steal at that price. Only 28 years old.Is it silly to think Clayton Olliver at $700k is worth a gamble, would be getting a premier midfielder for basically the AFL average salary and cant imagine we would be giving up much in a trade.
Unfortunately the only thing less optimal than a young gun with 'alledged' drug issues, is an older gun with 'alledged' drug issues.Is it silly to think Clayton Olliver at $700k is worth a gamble, would be getting a premier midfielder for basically the AFL average salary and cant imagine we would be giving up much in a trade.
For the purpose of MATCHING in the FIRST ROUND, I believe that the AFL should consider picks held at the end of the season proper be valued at their original position, as opposed to any level reached following allocation of compensation picks.Think it’s time for the clubs to push back and say NO!
2027-28 Tassie compensation and FA compensation, reducing the value of picks and destroys teams chances of landing their player.
Example: Cody is in this draft and it’s a super draft!
It’s a farce!
- Cody gets bid on with pick 1.
- We have pick 8
- FA Competition hits WCE pick 2 (Allen) & Essendon Pick 6 (Draper)
- Pushes our pick back to Pick 10
- We’d be forced to get a top 6 pick, from teams that wouldn’t want to trade out of a super draft, as they need top tier players to improve.
If there has to be change. Bring any changes in after Tassie compensation is finished and there is a (value formula) for the buying club to pay for FAs. No more AFL compensation!
The AFLs better off having an un-compromised draft and no trades. Un-contracted players can go anywhere they want as long as they fit under the salary cap, like the NRL.
The Tassie concessions which were put to the clubs, seems like the perfect avenue to influence DVI changes. Club should have kicked up a stink and used it to get the 2 pick rule pushed back a couple of years. Seems obvious and a very solid argument. AFL would have wanted club support for those concessions, giving perfect grounds to negotiate.Think it’s time for the clubs to push back and say NO!
2027-28 Tassie compensation and FA compensation, reducing the value of picks and destroys teams chances of landing their player.
Example: Cody is in this draft and it’s a super draft!
It’s a farce!
- Cody gets bid on with pick 1.
- We have pick 8
- FA Competition hits WCE pick 2 (Allen) & Essendon Pick 6 (Draper)
- Pushes our pick back to Pick 10
- We’d be forced to get a top 6 pick, from teams that wouldn’t want to trade out of a super draft, as they need top tier players to improve.
If there has to be change. Bring any changes in after Tassie compensation is finished and there is a (value formula) for the buying club to pay for FAs. No more AFL compensation!
The AFLs better off having an un-compromised draft and no trades. Un-contracted players can go anywhere they want as long as they fit under the salary cap, like the NRL.
Agree its similar to when Treloar left Collingwood for Dogs, has it worked out well for the Dogs is unclear.I asked the same question. Based on Melbourne's stance i reckon clubs can get him for $500k. Steal at that price. Only 28 years old.
Steven May is the Harris Andrews equivalent.. Is better option than Lewis Young to support Weiters, would allow Weiters to play the loose interceptor.Unfortunately the only thing less optimal than a young gun with 'alledged' drug issues, is an older gun with 'alledged' drug issues.
Not to mention, isn't really a position of need that would warrant such a punt.
If it was a Harris Andrews or the like with same issues maybe you roll the dice if the confidence is there at club level to support accordingly. At nearly 30 unlikely to change materially off field.
Yeh that makes the most sense. Picks hold their natural value when matching bids.For the purpose of MATCHING in the FIRST ROUND, I believe that the AFL should consider picks held at the end of the season proper be valued at their original position, as opposed to any level reached following allocation of compensation picks.
This would alleviate a clubs situation becoming untenable due to eventualities beyond their control and emanating from “random” movements year to year.
Up the top of the order where the curve is really steep getting bumped 2-3 spots makes a massive difference.Yeh that makes the most sense. Picks hold their natural value when matching bids.
I don’t see him as a fit. Even at that price, most top sides only carry one slow extractor who struggles by foot, and we’ve already got more than enough of those.Is it silly to think Clayton Olliver at $700k is worth a gamble, would be getting a premier midfielder for basically the AFL average salary and cant imagine we would be giving up much in a trade.
totally agree - againSteven May is the Harris Andrews equivalent.. Is better option than Lewis Young to support Weiters, would allow Weiters to play the loose interceptor.
Damn think GC are out on Charlie now.
What melbourne reap what we could have had. Damn you Petracca.
Hope Humphrey doesnt want to go to Melbourne and we get involved in that trade to get him.
I still don’t see the problem with having to match with two picks.
Really what is the downside of it? One club has to make the decision on a player, it has little effect on the other 17 clubs. This is exactly how it should be. Having some sides just getting lucky is just stupid.
It is horrible timing for us but it is the right decision imo
FA compo is still the biggest problem.