AFL Player 7: Indefatigable Zach Merrett

What gets it done?

Currently the offer is 10 a future first and 22.

No idea,
I just think it might (partly hoping).

Yeah if he backflips on this immediately its really bad. Not only is it red flags he's getting involved in trades but it just feels like the old boys club mentality coming right back. Your word means nothing if your initial mission statement after getting the job is something you roll over on.
I don't think so, whenever the club's statements have been referred to in the media it's always followed by the line that never doesn't actually mean never in footy, just that it would take a pretty remarkable deal to get it done. And I've certainly never seen any commentary saying the club or Walsh should adhere to that public stance.

I think the only way there's any blowback is if they agree to an obviously inadequate deal.

I don't think so, whenever the club's statements have been referred to in the media it's always followed by the line that never actually means never in footy, just that it would take a pretty remarkable deal to get it done. And I've certainly never seen any commentary saying the club or Walsh should adhere to that public stance.

I think the only way there's any blowback is if they agree to an obviously inadequate deal.
Nope. He made his statement. He planted his flag in the ground. It doesn't matter if what he "really meant" is different, he came out swinging with his first statement like this. Pathetic by him if he caves. And then thing is, all Hawthorn CAN offer is an inadequate deal. We'll try and spin it like it's better for us, which makes his caving even worse.

A bigger bust than letting him walk for nothing in 2027?
Doesn't mean we can't trade him for something better next year - with potentially more options than just Hawthorn involved. And if we held him next year and he walks in 2027 then we will have definitely extracted the best out of him by then. Its a lot of maybes, but there is another alternative where we pick another Perkins or Hobbs for him .. yay

Nope. He made his statement. He planted his flag in the ground. It doesn't matter if what he "really meant" is different, he came out swinging with his first statement like this. Pathetic by him if he caves. And then thing is, all Hawthorn CAN offer is an inadequate deal. We'll try and spin it like it's better for us, which makes his caving even worse.
What else can he say? If he comes out and tells the truth (we're open to trading Merrett) it weakens our position. He can't say one thing to members exclusively and another thing to Hawthorne.

I'd rather he do what is in the club's best interests rather than throw pragmatism out the window and put the club in a materially worse position.

Doesn't mean we can't trade him for something better next year - with potentially more options than just Hawthorn involved. And if we held him next year and he walks in 2027 then we will have definitely extracted the best out of him by then. Its a lot of maybes, but there is another alternative where we pick another Perkins or Hobbs for him .. yay
There is pretty much 0 chance we would get more for him next year.

What else can he say? If he comes out and tells the truth (we're open to trading Merrett) it weakens our position. He can't say one thing to members exclusively and another thing to Hawthorne.

I'd rather he do what is in the club's best interests rather than throw pragmatism out the window and put the club in a materially worse position.
He can play his cards closer to his chest. Now it would be a case of we can't believe a word he says and his meddling in the trade itself just comes across even worse.

Its crazy that so many people think whats "best of the club" is accepting clear unders

If one of the picks for Zach doesn't end up as an absolute star and one of our best ever players then this will be a bust
Only if we think keeping Zach will make us a finals contender in the next two years.

Or we pick up two Archie Roberts and Angus Clarke type players with those picks…

#i#inrosawetrustHASH]

The consensus seems to be we're not getting a better deal than what is offered this year. He'll be a year older, have one less year of high level footy left in the tank and only one more year until clubs can get him for nothing. Plus any future first round picks offered would land in the Tassie drafts and would most likely be significantly worse than 2026.

A whole year of clubs being able to work behind the scenes to turn his head - more suitors. More chance for clubs to work with each other. I'd say there would be just as much if not more chance. There is also the off chance that relations improve and he chooses to stay (that would require a lot of improvement on our part too). But this just reeks of playing right into Hawthorn's hands of "haha offer them any old shit and they'll accept it to get him out the door"

The night club lights have come on and there’s some desperado's frantic for anything on offer, a 2nd rounder and late first is kinda like a high end pick right?

He can play his cards closer to his chest. Now it would be a case of we can't believe a word he says and his meddling in the trade itself just comes across even worse.

Its crazy that so many people think whats "best of the club" is accepting clear unders
What is a fair price? Honestly I'd rate the first offer as being preferable to 20-40 more games out of him before he walks and we get nothing. Not to say we should've accepted it (never take the first offer and all that) but we're not going to be worse off out of this.

The consensus seems to be we're not getting a better deal than what is offered this year. He'll be a year older, have one less year of high level footy left in the tank and only one more year until clubs can get him for nothing. Plus any future first round picks offered would land in the Tassie drafts and would most likely be significantly worse than 2026.
Ok cool. Lets just bend over then. Be that club.

My gut feel he stays. I don’t think the offer is good enough.
You're right, it's not.

If Welsh folds on this then it's a shocking look.

A whole year of clubs being able to work behind the scenes to turn his head - more suitors. More chance for clubs to work with each other. I'd say there would be just as much if not more chance. There is also the off chance that relations improve and he chooses to stay (that would require a lot of improvement on our part too). But this just reeks of playing right into Hawthorn's hands of "haha offer them any old shit and they'll accept it to get him out the door"
That needs to be weighed up against the risk he sticks to his guns, insists on Hawthorne again and refuses to agree to a trade anywhere else.

What's currently being offered is close, maybe even better than what Geelong paid up for Cameron, it ain't any old shit.

It might be a player to fill our needs, we also have more time to plan for a couple of draft picks ... and "future picks are more important next year because we're likely to go for Free Agents next year and then need the picks in 2027 for points.

I also reckon in 12 months Zach can consider Gold Coast or Geelong, get some ducks in a row. Essendon also has time to speak with opposition players from all clubs that we could include in a trade for Merrett.

In my mind, if Hawks came and said here is pick 10, F1st for 2026, F1st for 2027 and MacKenzie, I'd take it. However, I believe half of that next year is more useful for us. I just get the feeling that Essedon will fold here.

petoro gives me this

mv5bztu0yjy2mtgtmduwys00ndc4ltlmmwmtnzu5ndy0y2jizgy3xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymzq3nzk5mtu-_v1_sx675_cr00675999_al_.jpg