List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
If 3 Cat B's will cost us 1 Cat A spot regardless of 2 or 3 spots on the Cat B list then is this a futile conversion?

Agree.

I didn't realise the total number remained 44 players, I thought Cat B were outside the normal list numbers.

It hardly provides clubs any great incentive of spending years developing kids new to the game.

Watters’ Malthouse-like attitude probably guaranteed hid downfall by alienating the remaining senior players

It was the board that he completely alienated. They dragged him in and read him his rights saying that everything that he announces has to be run through the board first. He went on SEN and started running his mouth the same day and didn't last the week. You can act like an angry ant with a Napoleon complex and get away with it but backstab your bosses and you are screwed.

He is from my home county back home so I have been watching this closely , have watched him play when he was a young cub. He is at least 190cm ( 6ft 3 ) as a gaelic footballer he has it all , pace , skill and vision and most important of all work rate so hopefully all those skills transfer over to afl. A huge loss to my county back home , but i wish the lad nothing but the best with his new career , hope it goes great for him . I will be keeping a close eye on his progress as I do with all the irish who play over here .
Thanks for the info mate, greatly appreciated!

I tried searching the web for info about him and I came across some dodgy forums so apologies to all for the misinformation

Do you reckon a comparison to Pearce Hanley or Zach Tuohy makes sense?

Plenty of tall, courageous, hard tackling, fast twitch types back home. Positioning and disposal would be build from scratch though. Need some sort of early identification cross over program.

Been quite few Fijians in footy. Nic Nat, Rodan, Aaron Hall. A few half Fijian guys too.

Hypothetically speaking, if they have committed a Rookie spot to Tex - then they wouldn’t be any shorter on numbers if the below comes into play, which would mean:

38 senior listed players (2 vacancies)
3 rookies cat A (1 vacancy)
3 rookies Cat B (no vacancies)
1 indigenous Rookie (1 Vacancy - Tex)

Hopefully Latrelle Pickett slips through to the rookie list.

He is from my home county back home so I have been watching this closely , have watched him play when he was a young cub. He is at least 190cm ( 6ft 3 ) as a gaelic footballer he has it all , pace , skill and vision and most important of all work rate so hopefully all those skills transfer over to afl. A huge loss to my county back home , but i wish the lad nothing but the best with his new career , hope it goes great for him . I will be keeping a close eye on his progress as I do with all the irish who play over here .

Thank you for posting. Welcome to St Kilda FC ;)

Plenty of tall, courageous, hard tackling, fast twitch types back home. Positioning and disposal would be build from scratch though. Need some sort of early identification cross over program.

You mean like this:

"...marking a bold step forward in expanding the Saints’ international presence while also helping embed Australian Rules Football within the Fijian community.
“From player camps and talent identification to tourism activations, we’re approaching this partnership with great ambition and an open mind.

Moyle looks a ready to go ruck and Knobel is a pretty good back up. I think monsters like Witts will still have a place too. He's huge and combative.

Definitely will have players bleeding out as they get access to more anymore talent.

I was more pointing out that a leaping ruck would contrast from what they currently have. Their ruckstocks are good, but are not high leaping.

The Suns have virtually everything they need, so they can also more explore niche types, to provide more options.

Thanks for the info mate, greatly appreciated!

I tried searching the web for info about him and I came across some dodgy forums so apologies to all for the misinformation

Do you reckon a comparison to Pearce Hanley or Zach Tuohy makes sense?
Very early to make the call however Kobe would have much more attacking flare than Tuphu or Hanley- however a lot easier to learn the game facing the ball in the backline for a while… let’s see

I mentioned awhile back when I attended the training session after our famous win over Melbourne that I spoke at length with Eamonn after the training session. A ripper kid and you could see he was really happy to be down here in Australia. Has good muscle definition already but will get even better with a couple of pre-seasons under his belt. Very exciting to see our Irish brigade grow.

*bolded... this is starting to become uncomfortable guys

Been quite few Fijians in footy. Nic Nat, Rodan, Aaron Hall. A few half Fijian guys too.
Don't forget Setanta O'Hailpin!

All raised in an AFL / Gaelic football environment though. I'm talking about someone straight out of the Isles.

Thanks Paddygunner 👍 , Afl is a bad word back home at the moment from reading the forums.

Irishman abroad and paddygunner would you believe that Kobe is the most talented Irish recruit that the St Kilda has signed over the years? We have had a number.

Ones who have played at least 1 senior game with us:
  • Liam O’Connell
  • Colm Begley
  • Darragh Joyce
  • Joe O'Grady
  • Dermot McNicholl
  • Bob (Robert) Kenny who played 2 games for St Kilda in 1899! He was recruited from a Sydney team.
Plus Tommy Walsh who played 5 games for the Swans after he left St Kilda, but none for us.

From reading he seems like that he would be. But you would both know more than I.

Irishman abroad and paddygunner would you believe that Kobe is the most talented Irish recruit that the St Kilda has signed over the years? We have had a number.

Ones who have played at least 1 senior game with us:
  • Liam O’Connell
  • Colm Begley
  • Darragh Joyce
  • Joe O'Grady
  • Dermot McNicholl
  • Bob (Robert) Kenny who played 2 games for St Kilda in 1899! He was recruited from a Sydney team.
Plus Tommy Walsh who played 5 games for the Swans after he left St Kilda, but none for us.

From reading he seems like that he would be. But you would both know more than I.
Its impossible to Say stfan , i am old but 1899 is a bit too far back for me 😂. Dermot Mc Nicholl played for Derry , he was a stocky build , I forgot he played afl , he came back and won an all ireland with his county.
What Kobe does have is Electric pace and you can't train that , I suppose its how comfortable he is getting used to kicking the oval ball . The irish players are definitely been recruited younger, Kobe will be 18 over there , Oisin mullen also a Mayo man didn't sign for Geelong till he was 21 I think so perhaps by signing them younger they might have a better chance to adapt to the ball and game *

CaptainRisky any tips for the Cup tomorrow? All of this winning this off season--I'm feeling lucky ;)
Mate tomorrow is the worst day to punt all year, here is my tip , don't punt or just pick your fav number and colour as you will have just as much chance of winning , your week late for a tip , the one in my profile pick won last Saturday

Brisbane have 2 other Irish guys and 3 girls in their AFLW program

The premiers still couldn't beat us to this signing

We're doing something right...
Didn’t know that….

Destination club, we are 🤩

Yep , never understood why they were even after him , all show and no go
Pissed off that we beat them for JSOS.
A little bit of, “let’s make them stretch their salary cap.”

Just succeeded in making themselves look like unprofessional amateurs really.
How embarrassing for them. Chasing a player they had no intention of giving up anyone slightly decent for.

Not a bad idea in such a weak draft to go out and target a draft age Irish lad to develop, seems highly rated over there. Looks like he has some serious wheels
Brilliant idea and great forward planning.
Granted, he’s still got to learn the game ….🤣

Its impossible to Say stfan , i am old but 1899 is a bit too far back for me 😂. Dermot Mc Nicholl played for Derry , he was a stocky build , I forgot he played afl , he came back and won an all ireland with his county.
What Kobe does have is Electric pace and you can't train that , I suppose its how comfortable he is getting used to kicking the oval ball . The irish players are definitely been recruited younger, Kobe will be 18 over there , Oisin mullen also a Mayo man didn't sign for Geelong till he was 21 I think so perhaps by signing them younger they might have a better chance to adapt to the ball and game *
I messaged a mate earlier that is also from Mayo. There is no club more suited for someone from Mayo to join than the Saints. We are kindred spirits in the ability to turn long saught after success into nearly nearly nearly, nope. Hopefully he can help break our curse before heading home as a legend to break Mayo's.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V