Training Saints preseason 2026

What is a boffin in Australian slang?

Boffin was originally a British slang term for a scientists and other technical people who were recognized as particularly innovative and effective, but more recently is being applied to people who resemble the popular stereotypes of asocial scientists.

For me a boffin would need to have some understanding of salary caps and the use of salary caps - during the trade period.

He aint no boffin.

In WW2 terms he'd be a runner, carrier of messages.

For me a boffin would need to have some understanding of salary caps and the use of salary caps - during the trade period.

He aint no boffin.

In WW2 terms he'd be a runner, carrier of messages.
In WW1 terms he'd be a sniveling coward, and be shot.

rowan atkinson GIF

Sorry dude. I’m always surprised when you talk about Isa and it has the same urban shit we have. I expect a place with 25 pubs, a roadhouse and a general store where everyone is a 160 kg miner with leather skin, an acubra and diabetes.

Honestly though it’s disappointing that we don’t have as much rural culture any more. That old school Aussie stereotype is disappearing
Yep, you only have to read Redheap by Norman Lindsay, or further back, Banjo Paterson or Henry Lawson's poetry, to see the dramatic change in language and "aussie" character over time.

I'm old and grew up in a small relatively isolated part of Tasmania, so the language of our grandparents was held onto longer that in urban environments. In hindsight, it was not so much due to the slow pace of change, because we were very well aware of national and international events and what they meant, so much as that language was really colourful, rich and amusing.

Vestiges of this remain in my generation but our grandchildren will regard is a foreign and strange, which is both sad and inevitable really.

All good mate I’ve moved to Yeppoon now so I can rag out on those backwards rock apes 🦍 in the Isa now.

I was up in FNQ recently and they were already having heatwave in Isa. I was imagining you frying out there. It was already over 40 degrees in October. Good to see you joining the latte sipping soft **** set.

Yep, you only have to read Redheap by Norman Lindsay, or further back, Banjo Paterson or Henry Lawson's poetry, to see the dramatic change in language and "aussie" character over time.

I'm old and grew up in a small relatively isolated part of Tasmania, so the language of our grandparents was held onto longer that in urban environments. In hindsight, it was not so much due to the slow pace of change, because we were very well aware of national and international events and what they meant, so much as that language was really colourful, rich and amusing.

Vestiges of this remain in my generation but our grandchildren will regard is a foreign and strange, which is both sad and inevitable really.

I was in Traralgon recently buying some tin at a roofing supplier and chatted to a guy who was like an absolute relic. He was like some mythical Aussie stereotype and it was what got me thinking how rare it is these days. He spoke like the Honey Badger in uniquely Aussie descriptors. We've lost our characters.

FNQ used to have a drawl but they mostly sound like inner Melbourne flogs or are accented backpackers now.

* Rant on *

What will the oily goblin say if we go all the way and win the bloody thing?

“St Kilda bought their way to a Premiership. Hardly a surprise with all of the money they were throwing around. It wouldn’t surprise me if some of their payments were also under the table,”

Barrett hates St Kilda. With contempt. We heard it, time and time again, during the trade period. It’s both embarrassing and unprofessional.

Vacuous, vexatious, vituperative, vitriolic and vicious.

Barrett never breaks a story. Never does anything that is positive or noteworthy. His stock in trade is to nit pick and snipe to his biased heart’s content.

It’s sad. And pathetic.

There will never be any room for him on our bandwagon.

Never forget.

* Rant over *
When I see purple ranting about St Kilda, I find it nourishing. To know that every step we take is just another paper cut upon his rump. Ahhhhh.

Happy Feel Good GIF

Give me everything you’ve got Barrett….it makes me happy knowing the Saints are under your skin.

I was in Traralgon recently buying some tin at a roofing supplier and chatted to a guy who was like an absolute relic. He was like some mythical Aussie stereotype and it was what got me thinking how rare it is these days. He spoke like the Honey Badger in uniquely Aussie descriptors. We've lost our characters.

FNQ used to have a drawl but they mostly sound like inner Melbourne flogs or are accented backpackers now.
Speaking of OZisms I met a tradie the other day on a site who I only knew through having done a bit of work with his dad (also a tradie).

I asked him How’s your old man and he replied. “Seems okay, but he wouldn’t tell his dentist which tooth to pull, so I never know for sure”.

I’ve never heard that one before.

Speaking of OZisms I met a tradie the other day on a site who I only knew through having done a bit of work with his dad (also a tradie).

I asked him How’s your old man and he replied. “Seems okay, but he wouldn’t tell his dentist which tooth to pull, so I never know for sure”.

I’ve never heard that one before.
You’re the dentist 🦷 you ****en work it out. **** me.

Calm your self....let's not get too excited about jumping on top of what you see as a redneck racist. Just saying there are better candidates to put in front of the camera. Sure you will get the likes and pile on that you are after ....George(DardBallGet) will be in first with his laugh reacts
IMG_2291.jpeg

Everyone stay calm, Hunter has accidentally found the gym this morning and thought he’d give it a go! Also, why does he look like Dylan Buckley here lol.

Attachments

• IMG_7561.jpeg
    IMG_7561.jpeg
    198.6 KB · Views: 104
When I see purple ranting about St Kilda, I find it nourishing. To know that every step we take is just another paper cut upon his rump. Ahhhhh.

Happy Feel Good GIF

Give me everything you’ve got Barrett….it makes me happy knowing the Saints are under your skin.
ab5hrh.jpg

Training Saints preseason 2026