Training Saints preseason 2026

Watch us finish 7th next year, and get knocked out in a wildcard, playing Geelong at Cardinia park.

The Saints will win from 10th and the fans of other clubs will sook their arses off and claim that it doesn't count.

Ross Lyon will be happy too. His chances of making finals just got a whole lot easier.

If we finished 7th, we would be playing a home final.

To be honest, it only really sucks for the sides 7-8th who might need a week off or who are significantly better than 9-10th over 23 weeks and then lose in a wild card game.

I do think it will impact the conversations we have as supporters and you will see more overrating of lists going forward because of a few wildcard wins etc.

Dogs and Sydney could have knocked out Gold Coast and Hawks this year. Dogs had better percentage than both and only one game behind. GC had a bullshit fixture designed to get them into finals so probably would have been fair if they did get taken out by the Dogs. Swans started terribly but were playing well late. That momentum might have carried them further than a faltering GC or an inexperienced Hawks.

I can’t remember the last time I genuinely didn’t know which player to focus on either. There are so many who I want to know how they are progressing and tracking.
100%!!!!

The new recruits

Fitness - King, Howard, Pou, Henry in particular

Physique - ie Keeler in particular and others - Who now has manbods, or not -Trav

The Irish (the 2 we have)

OK Guys and Dolls, a bit of a scrappy report, first session back.

Seems like no time trial or they did it very early at the Aths Track

Tom De Koning
Number: ?
Attributes: Blond hair, not at Carlton, in the gym.

Sam Flanders
Number: 3
Attributes: Bad Haircut, has stolen Lanceyboys nappy shorts. Clean at ground level.

Jack Silvagni
Attributes: Absent

Liam Ryan

Matheus Phillipou
Injury: No strapping
Attributes: Moving well, taking mark at his highest point, looks very fit. Running well, totally unencumbered.

Max King
Injury: no strapping
Attributes: in rehab, slow jogging around the oval. Out om the oval for nearly the full session

Dougal Howard - Absent
Liam Henry - Absent

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boxshall, Tauru and Hall first out, followed by Wilson and Windy.

Can already see the difference in size of the recruits like Dodson and Tauru.

Armstrong has a hideous tash, makes him look like a Sherlock Holmes villian.

Wilson has filled out nicely.

Wood and NAZ present, Pou and Carroll also present.

Boris taking training. Asking why Windy is present. Gringo's avi also taking training. Biscuit boy and bj also out.

Hugo looking nice. No undersized players, Keeler has a big barrel chest. Getting a real Paddy Ryder shape about himself.

Hunter walking about in the gym.

Only Silvagni at training is SoS. Hanging with Colin Young by the looks.

Higgo and Hunter front up. Hunters has a strapped knee, across the field to do some separate work. Doing laps, while Ming doing rehab, no strapping.

Fairly laid back ball work.

While I'm over the other side, watching rehab, Boss and Gubby walk past, Boss says down here a bit, out if my earshot, I must look suss.

Hall carrying on where he left off during the drills. Really good get.

No 55 training on, someone called Billy. Anyone know? Will Phillips I think.

Mason Wood misses my head by a foot with a torp while I was typing. A bit early to be targeting supporters you would think. Haven't even bagged him yet.

Has anyone mentioned Tauru's leap?

Interestingly the first session is all ball work for the first part.

Half ground positioning drill. Lots of talk, corridor work. Flanders not shy, 3 pick out Tauru who is not pressing in and tells him so.

Rapid change of 3 x 9 player groups.

Lol Woods yells out to Flanders ' that's the way Sammy, you worked it out pretty quick, get the ball to Naz'.

Higgo runs past and gigs Naz about his contract, smiles all round.

Wilson through the guts at full pace, bullet 40 metre passes to a leading Owen. Wilson looks terrific at full speed.

Pretty clean for an early session. High aerobic drill. Now the group is changing into runners.

Repeat 200's in two's. Wilson and Trav leads off. Only ones doing it a bit hard are the big guys, Dodson and Keeler, but its just because they are bigger.

Now 3 groups running alternate 300's, Flanders running laps.

Collard much fitter aerobically this year, slight off the back but keeping up. Really putting in. Starts to struggle at the end, but looks much better than last year.

Starting to string out a bit now, Keels and Godzilla trailing off but nothing like the Cordy/ Heath days.

Armstrong, well built, almost as tall as Sharman, they make teenagers big nowadays. Hard runner, good aerobically.

Nicola Xenos on crutches after the acl, probably down to begin rehab.

All over adios amigos.
Nice work Joff...#55 likely Billy Richardson

OK Guys and Dolls, a bit of a scrappy report, first session back.

Seems like no time trial or they did it very early at the Aths Track

Tom De Koning
Attributes: Blond hair, not at Carlton, in the gym.

Sam Flanders
Number: 3
Attributes: Bad Haircut, has stolen Lanceyboys nappy shorts. Clean at ground level.

Jack Silvagni

Liam Ryan

Matheus Phillipou
Injury: No strapping
Attributes: Moving well, taking mark at his highest point, looks very fit. Running well, totally unencumbered.

Max King
Injury: no strapping
Attributes: in rehab, slow jogging around the oval. Out om the oval for nearly the full session

Dougal Howard - Absent
Liam Henry - Absent

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boxshall, Tauru and Hall first out, followed by Wilson and Windy.

Can already see the difference in size of the recruits like Dodson and Tauru.

Armstrong has a hideous tash, makes him look like a Sherlock Holmes villian.

Wilson has filled out nicely.

Wood and NAZ present, Pou and Carroll also present.

Boris taking training. Asking why Windy is present. Gringo's avi also taking training. Biscuit boy and bj also out.

Hugo looking nice. No undersized players, Keeler has a big barrel chest. Getting a real Paddy Ryder shape about himself.

Hunter walking about in the gym.

Only Silvagni at training is SoS. Hanging with Colin Young by the looks.

Higgo and Hunter front up. Hunters has a strapped knee, across the field to do some separate work. Doing laps, while Ming doing rehab, no strapping.

Fairly laid back ball work.

While I'm over the other side, watching rehab, Boss and Gubby walk past, Boss says down here a bit, out if my earshot, I must look suss.

Hall carrying on where he left off during the drills. Really good get.

No 55 training on, someone called Billy. Anyone know? Will Phillips I think.

Mason Wood misses my head by a foot with a torp while I was typing. A bit early to be targeting supporters you would think. Haven't even bagged him yet.

Has anyone mentioned Tauru's leap?

Interestingly the first session is all ball work for the first part.

Half ground positioning drill. Lots of talk, corridor work. Flanders not shy, 3 pick out Tauru who is not pressing in and tells him so.

Rapid change of 3 x 9 player groups.

Lol Woods yells out to Flanders ' that's the way Sammy, you worked it out pretty quick, get the ball to Naz'.

Higgo runs past and gigs Naz about his contract, smiles all round.

Wilson through the guts at full pace, bullet 40 metre passes to a leading Owen. Wilson looks terrific at full speed.

Pretty clean for an early session. High aerobic drill. Now the group is changing into runners.

Repeat 200's in two's. Wilson and Trav leads off. Only ones doing it a bit hard are the big guys, Dodson and Keeler, but its just because they are bigger.

Now 3 groups running alternate 300's, Flanders running laps.

Collard much fitter aerobically this year, slight off the back but keeping up. Really putting in. Starts to struggle at the end, but looks much better than last year.

Starting to string out a bit now, Keels and Godzilla trailing off but nothing like the Cordy/ Heath days.

Armstrong, well built, almost as tall as Sharman, they make teenagers big nowadays. Hard runner, good aerobically.

Nicola Xenos on crutches after the acl, probably down to begin rehab.

All over adios amigos.
Fantastic stuff mate. Been looking forward to hearing about training. Keep it up. Much appreciated.

Philips is a high possession mid and generally makes good decisions when he gets the ball. His burst from front of stoppage is quite good. But he can't be the first midfield option at the AFL level as the bigger bodies will prevail more times than not. I thought they had senior mids Cunningham and Ziebel at North, but played 1 or both of them behind the ball so Philips was thrown to the wolves a bit, along with some injuries in his early years.

A player can lose confidence quickly but don't normally lose ability. Dow is another example. Philips is worth a shot in the VFL, a low cost high reward money ball option. He is a more natural mid than Clark or Byrnes. Also reminds me a little of Jagga Smith for some reason.

I thought he'd make it. It's never been a worse time to be a one position inside mid. Pretty sure Thompson Dow and Fin Macrae got delisted this year along with George Stevens, Ben Hobbs, Dev Robertson etc.

If you aren't absolutely elite it's really hard to pick up a spot in most sides.

Wood always had star factor - was clear as day. Just had to get his body right

I don’t think he’s very comparable to Phillips who is the type of player the modern game has moved beyond

I know North a few supporters. Wood was about as frustrating as any player in footy. He'd have patches where he'd look amazing and string a couple of games together and then break down or lose any form or momentum again. His biggest problem was as a KPF he couldn't get separation and he needed to run to make space. Sending him to a wing was actually a bit of Ratts genius. It gave him space and time and drifting inside 50 without a opponent made him really dangerous. He reminded me of a more uneven Sharman at North. I never thought he'd end up being such a good contributor.

So another high potential player that never put it together at afl level with both having injuries playing a part to a degree.

As for “games gone past” Phillips type of player. He averages a decent amount of tackles and seems to find the pill without being an absolute butcher ala Dunstan.

There will always be a role for these types of- See Will Brodie at a third club after not having played an AFL game for 2 years.

Will Brodie was an absolute ball pig at least. Phillips will probably have to be a full timer tagger because he does't really have one stand out trait.

I’m happy to argue Phillips is no different.

Check out his disposal numbers vs his TOG%

Doesn’t seem to have any issue finding the pill.

Just doesn’t hurt sides when he gets it and being one paced doesn’t help.

But our game plan is just get the ball to Nas. So pretty easy for everyone to look good 😂 😂

If we finished 7th, we would be playing a home final.

To be honest, it only really sucks for the sides 7-8th who might need a week off or who are significantly better than 9-10th over 23 weeks and then lose in a wild card game.

I do think it will impact the conversations we have as supporters and you will see more overrating of lists going forward because of a few wildcard wins etc.
That and BF go hand in hand

The old timers on here can help me, but wasn't their a season where we came home like a steam train but just missed out on finals. My old man reckoned if we had made finals that year, we would have won the flag. I think it was in the Plugger era.

I guess, that is one good thing about it.
That would have been 1978

It sounds like a lack of spread is his issue, but I wonder if we would look at him as a small lock down defender?

If Will Phillips was pick 24 there wouldn't even be a conversation about signing him. A bust is a bust. Maybe worth the VFL team picking him up but nothing more than that.
I’d argue that’s not fair.

He is only 23 and has played 50 games.

There isn’t a hell of a lot of mature talent to challenge him, internally it’s Byrnes or Phillips and via the draft it’s either trading a F1 for a phillipou or a very late pick in a very poor draft.

That would have been 1978

Finished 6th in 78 and finished the season very well.

Graeme Gellie was crazy good for us in 78. Injured his knee early in 79 and that was pretty much it for a player who would have been a star of the AFL.

Recruited from Redan in the Ballarat league (having earlier had a couple of seasons at VFA club Northcote)¹, Graeme Gellie was a late starter at VFL level, debuting with St Kilda in 1978 as a 23 year old. Nonetheless, he quickly made up for lost time and appeared to have a long career ahead of him as a rover-cum-centreman after an outstanding first year that saw him play 20 games, record the most handballs in the competition (at an average of 11.8 per game), and win the Saints best and fairest award, a remarkable feat for a first-year player. He was bracketed with Terry Wallace as the best debutante of 1978. However, tragedy struck during the 1979 pre-season when he suffered a severe knee injury that, as events transpired, dramatically curtailed his career. He did not return to the field until 1981, playing three late season games before further injury problems saw him miss the entire 1982 season. Persistent to a fault, he managed nine further games in 1983 before finally hanging up the boots.

Bottom 12th in both 77 and 79!

Finished 6th in 78 and finiseh the season very well.

Graeme Gellie was crazy good for us in 78. Injured his knee early in 79 and that was pretty much it for a player who would have been a star of the AFL.

Recruited from Redan in the Ballarat league (having earlier had a couple of seasons at VFA club Northcote)¹, Graeme Gellie was a late starter at VFL level, debuting with St Kilda in 1978 as a 23 year old. Nonetheless, he quickly made up for lost time and appeared to have a long career ahead of him as a rover-cum-centreman after an outstanding first year that saw him play 20 games, record the most handballs in the competition (at an average of 11.8 per game), and win the Saints best and fairest award, a remarkable feat for a first-year player. He was bracketed with Terry Wallace as the best debutante of 1978. However, tragedy struck during the 1979 pre-season when he suffered a severe knee injury that, as events transpired, dramatically curtailed his career. He did not return to the field until 1981, playing three late season games before further injury problems saw him miss the entire 1982 season. Persistent to a fault, he managed nine further games in 1983 before finally hanging up the boots.

Bottom 12th in both 77 and 79!
Damn it: still wouldn't have played finals in 1977 or 1979

Training Saints preseason 2026