News "State of Origin is back" - Eddie McGuire, March 2025

Yeah, all you'd need is for PNG and the Pacific islands to absolutely love AFL.

It's nothing to do with AFL/NRL and everything to do with soft diplomacy.

Why didn't he give funding to rugby union to run a Pacific competition then? It's much more popular than rugby league in those countries. It wouldn't have helped out his mate Peter and his favorite sport is why.

Assumedly because League gets them into the much more popular NRL. A standalone Pacific comp is a bit meh and would require the sustainment of a whole league of teams.

FWIW, I believe that your assertion that Union outstrips League in PNG is wrong AFAIK.

Assumedly because League gets them into the much more popular NRL. A standalone Pacific comp is a bit meh and would require the sustainment of a whole league of teams.

FWIW, I believe that your assertion that Union outstrips League in PNG is wrong AFAIK.

Why is that the job of the Australian government to get Pacific island nations into a private sporting competition? This is in addition to the 200 mill the federal government gave the nrl to spread the code in the Pacific. Even Australian football would gain a footprint in the Pacific if given that amount of money, you know our own Australian code, not the British invented rugby league.

Png is the only country in the Pacific where rugby league is more popular than rugby, and your mate gave them 650 mill as well. Its a conflict of interest, particularly when he's regularly seen going out to lunch with his mate Peter in Sydney.

To make this work, you can bet the AFL is going to be stacking the deck in WA's favor as much as they can get away with.

Vic should, theoretically, have a significantly stronger team, and having Vic give WA a thumping would be the death of SOO, so they'll do all they can to at least make it close and preferably (for the AFL) help WA win.

Why is that the job of the Australian government to get Pacific island nations into a private sporting competition? This is in addition to the 200 mill the federal government gave the nrl to spread the code in the Pacific. Even Australian football would gain a footprint in the Pacific if given that amount of money, you know our own Australian code, not the British invented rugby league.
Because China.

This isn't a sports move, it's an international diplomacy move. China is basically buying influence from Pacific islands, partially because their votes are worth just as much as any other nation at bodies like the UN, and partially for the geographical footprint. Make no mistake, China has no issue with splashing huge amounts of money on sport in the Pacific. They pretty famously built a 10,000 seat stadium in the middle of Honiara (a city of around 100,000 people).

This is a lot bigger than League vs AFL or any somesuch.

The federal gov through its PacificAus Sports program already gives rugby Australia millions to grow union in the pacific and literally helps fund two super rugby teams in the Fiji drua & Moana Pasifika, for very similar reasons to their funding for png.

Png is the only country in the Pacific where rugby league is more popular than rugby, and your mate gave them 650 mill as well. It’s a conflict of interest, particularly when he's regularly seen going out to lunch with his mate Peter in Sydney.
Because without an nrl team in png the Australian gov wouldn’t get a defence pact with png & there is no commercial justification for the nrl having a team based in png without significant government funding subsidising it.

PNG funding is not $650, it is $290m, with an additional $250m going toward the pacific islands to grow the pathways & provide a greater pool of talent that can be utilised by PNG.

Because China.

This isn't a sports move, it's an international diplomacy move. China is basically buying influence from Pacific islands, partially because their votes are worth just as much as any other nation at bodies like the UN, and partially for the geographical footprint. Make no mistake, China has no issue with splashing huge amounts of money on sport in the Pacific. They pretty famously built a 10,000 seat stadium in the middle of Honiara (a city of around 100,000 people).

This is a lot bigger than League vs AFL or any somesuch.

Yeah so do something for rugby union then, the sport that's actually popular in the Pacific and has a proper international presence. Not the sport that has aussies from western Sydney playing for Samoa and Tonga. The fact you got likes from two known league trolls on here proves a bit.

You’re the one that initiated the discussion about RL… and as you’ve been told, the government does do something for union, it funds two super rugby teams in the pacific islands, for the same reason.

I'm trying not to respond to trolls, but I'll oblige once, rugby league isn't popular in the Pacific as much as you like to think it is and as much as albo is trying to make it that way with our tax dollars, as seen by the fact they have to use aussies to fill their national teams.

Therefore union is popular, so should be funded if we're going to have some bullshit Pacific tournament for 'soft diplomacy'. Actually I don't think any of them should be funded, but if one is going to be, it should at least be the sport that is actually popular in the region. This is what makes obvious the massive conflict of interest from the p.m.

I'm trying not to respond to trolls, but I'll oblige once, rugby league isn't popular in the Pacific as much as you like to think it is and as much as albo is trying to make it that way with our tax dollars, as seen by the fact they have to use aussies to fill their national teams.

Therefore union is popular, so should be funded if we're going to have some bullshit Pacific tournament for 'soft diplomacy'. Actually I don't think any of them should be funded, but if one is going to be, it should at least be the sport that is actually popular in the region. This is what makes obvious the massive conflict of interest from the p.m.
But RL is wildly popular in PNG and if it wasn’t the federal government wouldn’t be soo keen to fund it. It is growing in the pacific as evidenced by street parades during the pacific championships a few weeks ago, but as I have said I suspect the funding for the pacific nations has more to do with increasing pathways to service png given how hard it will be to attract players from Aus or nz. Its curious why in all your rants about albo being conflicted and biased towards rugby league you never acknowledge the $240m his government has committed to Macquarie point, nor the $65m for UTAS Stadium upgrades, without either of which would make a Tasmanian AFL team impossible given the AFL’s demands.

Erm, but League is the more popular one in PNG.

But RL is wildly popular in PNG and if it wasn’t the federal government wouldn’t be soo keen to fund it. It is growing in the pacific as evidenced by street parades during the pacific championships a few weeks ago, but as I have said I suspect the funding for the pacific nations has more to do with increasing pathways to service png given how hard it will be to attract players from Aus or nz. Its curious why in all your rants about albo being conflicted and biased towards rugby league you never acknowledge the $240m his government has committed to Macquarie point, nor the $65m for UTAS Stadium upgrades, without either of which would make a Tasmanian AFL team impossible given the AFL’s demands.

Last I checked, PNG is just one part of the Pacific, the government wouldn’t be throwing cash at it if Albo wasn’t such a rugby league tragic with a conflict of interest and his good mate Peter wasn't whispering in his ear.

Rugby union runs the show in the Pacific, and honestly, even soccer, cricket, or basketball could get more love, you know, actual international sports that don't have to use blokes from western sydney to fill teams.

Meanwhile, the Tassie funding is about a quarter of what the NRL have received from the feds under albo, for real Australian infrastructure, built by Aussie workers, used by the Australian public, not for some tiny pet project cooked up by Albo, a few LU keyboard warriors, and Peter V’landys trying to turn the NRL into the next global superpower.

It’s a conflict of interest mate, even a rusted on leaguie like yourself should admit that. Just kick back, crack open a tinnie, and enjoy the gravy train while it’s still fuelled by the public purse.

Last I checked, PNG is just one part of the Pacific, the government wouldn’t be throwing cash at it if Albo wasn’t such a rugby league tragic with a conflict of interest and his good mate Peter wasn't whispering in his ear.

Rugby union runs the show in the Pacific, and honestly, even soccer, cricket, or basketball could get more love, you know, actual international sports that don't have to use blokes from western sydney to fill teams.

Meanwhile, the Tassie funding is about a quarter of what the NRL have received from the feds under albo, for real Australian infrastructure, built by Aussie workers, used by the Australian public, not for some tiny pet project cooked up by Albo, a few LU keyboard warriors, and Peter V’landys trying to turn the NRL into the next global superpower.

It’s a conflict of interest mate, even a rusted on leaguie like yourself should admit that. Just kick back, crack open a tinnie, and enjoy the gravy train while it’s still fuelled by the public purse.
It’s the biggest part & PNG are the ones who want it… and it’s something Australia has that china can’t give them. It’s RL first and daylight second in PNG and you are incredibly ignorant if you believe otherwise. It has nothing to do with Albo being a RL fan.

It’s not a quarter, $305m is more than half of what has been committed for PNG/pacific and it’s primarily for AFL expansion.

W.a key positions are good but their midfield and flanks are too weak. It's a shame Martin can't play as him and Curtin on one wing each would be alright.

First batch of players announced.

Cripps WA captain surely and you'd think its odds on to be Bont for the Vic's.

Lets see how many are available in 4 months and not recovering from pre season injuries.

Im amazed Barrass was chosen given apparently he is an old man with a back nearly ruined.

W.a key positions are good but their midfield and flanks are too weak. It's a shame Martin can't play as him and Curtin on one wing each would be alright.

One thing WA have going for them, is Vic trying to fit in all their stars.

Vic side will be loaded with attacking players. Most wont be interested in going near their man. Midfield will be rotating like crazy. Will struggle to maximise their stars, when playing them all together.

WA with less talent wont have that same issue. They can pick some lockdown types to play a role. Have more chemistry in their midfield by rotating less. They can build the team around their top players and pick others to compliment them.

No doubt Vic will be better on paper but WA have to chance to build a better team.

Lets see how many are available in 4 months and not recovering from pre season injuries.

Im amazed Barrass was chosen given apparently he is an old man with a back nearly ruined.
Hopefully he has a bug or something that week. I don't want to see an Hawks playing in SOO.

It will sell out, and if the contest is great and overall it's a successful event, I think they'll look into expanding it into having all states involved the next time they do it
I bet it sells out + does a good number ratings wise and the AFL commits to doing it again in 2027. They'll want to sell it to the SA government the following year and have the Croweaters play the Big V at Adelaide Oval. Hopefully they also include a Queensland v NSW game in 2027 because then you've actually got a genuine national state competition. The following year you can sell it to the Tasmanian government and introduce a Tassie state team into the fold because they'll have their own AFL team in 2028. Queensland or New South Wales v Tasmania and SA v WA will work for 2028 and the Vics can have the year off.

Crippa is gonna have to turn into Brownlow Cripps for WA to have a chance in the midfield. I reckon he'll lift in the yellow Sandgropers guernsey because it means a lot to him.

UyJN4i7.jpg

It’s guaranteed it’ll be a 35 degree day on that date. WA will destroy Vic because Perth boys will adapt very easily to the desert heat.

As a Victorian who has been in WA for 25 years…as long as no Essendon players actually play in this game and risk an injury....im all for it wholeheartedly 👌

They're going to need to pick some absolute spuds for the Vic team to make this an even contest. From what has been released, it's going to be a 100 point win to Victoria, and that won't be good for the State Of Origin game. Expect spuds like Jade Gresham (if he's still on a list), Jack Ginnivan and Darcy Parish to make the squad just to even things up a bit

They have picked just about the four best players in the league so far. So much for the assumption by some that none of the stars will play.

News "State of Origin is back" - Eddie McGuire, March 2025