List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
At current rates of growth Ballarat will be bigger than Darwin within 15 years.

And it'll still be a hole that permeates cold, damp and miserable so places like Melton can go "at least we have sunshine!".

Try the Middle East in July / August where its super hugh humidity and 40+ degree .... proper sauna

Last time I went to England I went Etihad and stop over was in Abu.

5am - 50 degrees, and smog warning and I took a picture on my phone of the tower and you can barely see it because of the smog outside of the airport. The 50 & smog was from the planes sensor and readout pre landing, since I had a layover and was looking at what was around to maybe have a snack in those couple hours, decided instead to try the airport food and napped on a steel bench in air conditioned filtered air after looking out that window.

As an aside, also have a cousin in Mackay, so visited him a few times and QLD is acceptable if very uncomfortable during those seasons when you're a VIC border and south person. And yes, the London trips were that same time period to July-August.

Is to say really, anything happening in the NT stadium wise, needs a roof, as without it you are hedging for everything to burn or flood, there is no in between.

good catch. would mean we take 4 picks to the draft. one for Caminiti, one for Fincher (maybe), and two live ones

lends some credence to us trying to get Carlton's first rounder when the Dean bid comes

at the very least it seems like the preference is to pick in the national draft over the rookie draft, which makes sense

I am guessing the rookie list will be Hall, Said, Tex (SSP), LOC, Armstrong, McDonald. maybe curtains for Byrnes?
Incredibly stiff if they’re delisting Said after 1 season

I live in Dubai. I stop playing golf about mid-July, and clear out of the place for August. I remember playing golf about mid July last year. Was very hot as we finished about 11am. As I drove home I glanced at the temperature gauge. 47….and humid.

Fortunately we had been in carts. But still. You have to be very careful and drink plenty of liquid. But it ceases to be enjoyable so that’s when I bow out. Playing Footy in high heat and humidity would be very dangerous.

I believe 18 million Australians live outside of Victoria, but not happily, surely. 😉🤣🤣
Yeah Qld is as bad as l'd been told for all those years back in Victoria.
Slower than sloths on lithium most of em.
The driving here is downright dangerous & lots of tail-gaters.
Ask for something in a shop & you just get a stare back, they have no idea about alot of basic things.
That probably doesnt make them unhappy, but it annoys the crap out of me.

Yeah Qld is as bad as l'd been told for all those years back in Victoria.
Slower than sloths on lithium most of em.
The driving here is downright dangerous & lots of tail-gaters.
Ask for something in a shop & you just get a stare back, they have no idea about alot of basic things.
That probably doesnt make them unhappy, but it annoys the crap out of me.
Do you like their winter?

After listening to the Dilena interview - you wouldnt expect him to give possible trade deals away, but just the tone of his answers tend to lead to us not expecting to be involved early on draft night. It seems two late draft picks are the best we can hope for from the second draft night.

As much as we would all love to grab a late 1st round or early 2nd round pick, I think the clubs holding the capital will want too much to entertain a trade.

After listening to the Dilena interview - you wouldnt expect him to give possible trade deals away, but just the tone of his answers tend to lead to us not expecting to be involved early on draft night. It seems two late draft picks are the best we can hope for from the second draft night.

As much as we would all love to grab a late 1st round or early 2nd round pick, I think the clubs holding the capital will want too much to entertain a trade.

Personally I think the club will be a bit like last year where they will have put a value on all players, and if they see a player slide to where he becomes of more value than what a 2026 Pick may be likely to generate they will seek to do a trade to get back into the draft. But like you it would seem most unlikely that it will involves as getting a 1st round/early 2nd round pick in this years draft.

I believe that our ability to do good pick swap deals will be curtailed by any club willing to trade with us factoring in a possible major ladder rise by St Kilda in 2026, and that the 2026 pool is viewed as stronger and likely to be less compromised. As we have no F2, that will also limit options.

Twomey -

No club is throwing a first round pick at Carlton’s 2 picks (we were rumoured here)

You'd expect its because of Carlton's asking price, that might change on the night. They like other clubs probably see 2026 as a stronger draft and want as many early picks as possible then. They will probably hold sufficient points for Walker next year, they already have their own and Sydney's first round pick for 2026 & 2027.

You'd expect its because of Carlton's asking price, that might change on the night. They like other clubs probably see 2026 as a stronger draft and as many early picks as possible then. They will probably hold sufficient points for Walker next year, they already have their own and Sydney's first round pick for 2026 & 2027.
He said later on the show that there just isn’t the desire to move future firsts into this draft from clubs.

Clubs want those picks but not for the prices seen in previous years.

Oh my. Full report on wines ingested will be necessary please.
I have been off drink for the most part but the temptation to get sideways on a few wines is very very strong atm 😎

The Cott will be absolutely heaving, are you single by any chance? Don’t let a Golden Triangle MILF take advantage of you!

Unless… ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Here’s the itinerary…

Wed (travel day to WA, smaller day – 5 wineries):
10.30am - Evoi Wines
11.30am - Stella Bella
12.30pm - McHenry Hohnen
1.30pm - 2.30pm - Lunch on Margaret River Surf Beach
3.00pm - Windows Estate
4.00pm - Windance Estate

Thurs (big day, strap yourselves in – 7 wineries):
10.00am - Pierro
11.00am - Fermoy Estate
12.00pm - Woodlands Wines
1.00pm - 1.30pm - Lunch – The Nookery Cafe
1.30pm Fraser Gallop Estate
2.30pm Cullen Wines
3.30pm Juniper Wines
4.30pm Grace Farm

Early doors Friday Busselton to Perth in time for the 1st ball.

Here’s the itinerary…

Wed (travel day to WA, smaller day – 5 wineries):
10.30am - Evoi Wines
11.30am - Stella Bella
12.30pm - McHenry Hohnen
1.30pm - 2.30pm - Lunch on Margaret River Surf Beach
3.00pm - Windows Estate
4.00pm - Windance Estate

Thurs (big day, strap yourselves in – 7 wineries):
10.00am - Pierro
11.00am - Fermoy Estate
12.00pm - Woodlands Wines
1.00pm - 1.30pm - Lunch – The Nookery Cafe
1.30pm Fraser Gallop Estate
2.30pm Cullen Wines
3.30pm Juniper Wines
4.30pm Grace Farm

Early doors Friday Busselton to Perth in time for the 1st ball.
Absolutely packed schedule 😂😍

Love it mate, have stumbled around the pink buildings of Fermoy post-tasting once or twice.
Cullen is also very good, was very disappointed to hear they shut the kitchen recently as I never got to enjoy what was supposedly a very special private dining experience 😩

You’ll have a cracking time 🍷

Same top30 players for September and November.
Come draft night and same 30 players are called out, will Fincher be a strong possibility for us
If we want Jevan Pou, then we may not be that interested in Fincher maybe.
Depends where he's bid on l suppose.
If we could land Jpou & Fincher, you'd reckon it would be seen as a good draft for us, all things considered.
There are a few good talls in this draft that may be worth considering with our 50 pick.
E.g. Emmett or Hetherton.

Absolutely packed schedule 😂😍

Love it mate, have stumbled around the pink buildings of Fermoy post-tasting once or twice.
Cullen is also very good, was very disappointed to hear they shut the kitchen recently as I never got to enjoy what was supposedly a very special private dining experience 😩

You’ll have a cracking time 🍷

I read that as you stumbling around pink buildings full of femboys.

I guess if no one from the club pitches up on the first night we’ll have our answer 🤣

If we want Jevan Pou, then we may not be that interested in Fincher maybe.
Depends where he's bid on l suppose.
If we could land Jpou & Fincher, you'd reckon it would be seen as a good draft for us, all things considered.
There are a few good talls in this draft that may be worth considering with our 50 pick.
E.g. Emmett or Hetherton.
Jevan and Pou would be a lot more than good draft for us.....well as long as we do not cough up too much to get Jevan which is the flaw in the plan.

Realistically given our now shit draft hand a good draft for us is Fincher slipping with us taking him, and then us finding one more value player who has slid.

Jevan and Pou would be a lot more than good draft for us.....well as long as we do not cough up too much to get Jevan which is the flaw in the plan.

Realistically given our now shit draft hand a good draft for us is Fincher slipping with us taking him, and then us finding one more value player who has slid.
Yeah, im not sure how we get Jpou without it costing too much.
Fincher & Hetherton for mine.

Yeah, im not sure how we get Jpou without it costing too much.
Fincher & Hetherton for mine.
I think Jevan will slide now - it seems clubs like the other 'high-upside' picks more than him (Barker, Pickett, Taylor, Nairn)

If he gets to Essendon's second-round picks, it's a perfect opportunity to enter with maybe our 2027 2nd. There are question marks over their list abilities to match a bid for Sweid so they might be keen to trade one of their picks to futures which gives us an opening

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V