Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

If Annable goes at 5, I assume that means we use all of our picks with points so what is our next pick likely to be?
We have 1756 points using Picks 17, 23, 44 & 51, just shy of enough to match a bid at Pick 5. Our next pick after that is 59

Pick 5 is 1795 points but with 10% discount we only need 1616 points.
So that's 17, 23 and 44 (with 83 points left over which is pick 49/50)

Not positive where that (83 points) goes but it may leave us with 50, 51 and 59

Also, the Suns will bid on Uwland using pick 15 and 18 and maybe 24
I believe that then moves some of our picks up the order especially when more bids are likely to come in from other clubs.

Ed Pascoe (Rookie Me Central) had our 2nd pick at 49 after Annable at pick 4. So, our 2nd pick likely to be around the high 40's or low 50's. All a guess at this stage though
If Annable goes at 5, I assume that means we use all of our picks with points so what is our next pick likely to be?

It looks like the value in late picks in this draft isn't with tall defenders, but with small forwards. Lot of good prospects that might be available late. It's not exactly a pressing need, but it doesn't hurt to have more cover there after we've delisted Craven, and there's still a chance Bailey leaves at the end of next year.

I think the most impressive highlights I've seen from a small forward who might be available later on is from Talor Byrne. He mostly played midfield in the Talent League, but was a ripper at small forward in the National Championships. He reminds me a little bit of Cobra Kai.

Are we actually allowed to have priority access to our academy lads? Bit worried about briztoon's assertion that we didn't submit our nominations in time!
Clubs have to nominate academy/NGA/FS picks by a certain date before the draft. If we have nominated the academy picks we want to draft by the deadline, i.e. Annable, then yes we do have priority access to them in the draft

Are we actually allowed to have priority access to our academy lads? Bit worried about briztoon's assertion that we didn't submit our nominations in time!
As long as we have nominated 1

After Annable I would hope we can draft McFadyen and Waller. They both seem to have Footy IQ and fill needs particularly Waller. We need to be looking at a tall KPD prospect as longer term replacements for Hippy and Andrews. 204 cm guys with agility a good kick and strong marking ability don't come along often. I can't understand the lack of love from some here. It seems to be a thought that some kid from some other state must be better just because. This kid looks a stronger prospect than both Hippy and Harris in their Draft year

I don't think Waller has played a lot down back.

Fox Footy Phantom Draft
Pick 6. Dan Annable
While there’s a chance Sydney’s draft contribution this year is taking its top three academy players, Brisbane appears prepared to pick in the open draft.
The Lions are preparing to match a top-six bid on Daniel Annable, but intrigue surrounds the club’s commitment to its other academy prospects in midfielder Tyan Prindable, 204cm ruck-forward Isaac Waller and defender Harrison Bridge. Of the trio, Prindable is seen as the player most likely to receive a national draft bid, but whether the Lions would match remains uncertain.
It’s understood the Lions will provide more clarity to the trio in the days before the draft.

Little-known South Australian Noah Roberts-Thompson is a reasonable chance of finding a home late in the AFL Draft, with the midfielder having been interviewed by more than half the AFL clubs. Brisbane and West Coast are understood to be leading the interest for him.
Brisbane is not expected to match a bid for pressure forward Tyan Prindable, who represented the Allies and Brisbane's VFL side earlier this year, but he is a chance of finding his way onto an AFL list, with two Victorian rivals leading the interest.
Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier has become a favourite of close draft followers in recent times after an impressive season for North Adelaide. Brisbane, Fremantle and Geelong are understood to be the clubs most likely to secure his services.

Twomey offhandly mentioned on draft countdown today that we could stay at Pick 17, instead of trading for more points, if there's no interested buyers on draft nght

Totally unfounded probably, but I have always have strong reservations about drafting players with hyphenated surnames.
Surely you can't be forgetting Brisbane superstars Cam Ellis-Yolman, Darryl McDowell-White, Tori Groves-Little and Luka Yoshida-Martin along with Fitzroy greats Bruce McMaster-Smith and Audley Gillespie-Jones?

Twomey offhandly mentioned on draft countdown today that we could stay at Pick 17, instead of trading for more points, if there's no interested buyers on draft nght
No offence directed towards you, but that’s a “well duh” comment from Twomey.

AFL Draft 2025: Every club’s targets and potential pick swaps ahead of first round - Chris Cavanagh and Dan Batten
The Lions’ main target this year is midfielder Dan Annable, who has come through the club’s Academy program. Richmond looks most likely to place a bid on Annable. If that comes at pick 6, Brisbane would require 1493 points to match it, effectively chewing up picks 17 and 23. Brisbane has put pick 17 on the trade table for any clubs looking to move up the order, but there has been little interest in those selections late in the teens. Brisbane has access to three other Academy prospects in 182cm defender Harrison Bridge, 204cm ruckman Isaac Waller, and 181cm mid-forward Tyan Prindable. Waller has rival interest in the rookie draft, while Geelong and Collingwood has interest in Prindable in the national draft. The Lions will also search for another quality player or two out the back of the order, depending on who is still available, with powerful Western Jets prospect Oskar Ainsworth among their options.

briztoon can bids be matched in the Rookie draft or is it only the ND? May need to use the last ND pick on Waller if it's only the ND.
I think if we have nominated them for the ND and they make it through, I am not sure other teams can bid in the RD unless we have no intention of taking them at all.

briztoon can bids be matched in the Rookie draft or is it only the ND? May need to use the last ND pick on Waller if it's only the ND.
There's no bidding in the rookie draft. If a player gets through without being bid on, we can either take them with our last live pick or they can be prelisted as a rookie if they get through the remaining National Draft/PSD picks.

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread