Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 31

No more public education or health services in Tasmania :D

winning charlie sheen GIF

I’m very happy they are on, love Tassie and will definitely go to Port games there.

I’m just wary about how this will negatively affect Port and benefit the Vics.

No more public education or health services in Tasmania :D

winning charlie sheen GIF

To get the votes of the independents to make the approval pass Parliament - the government agreed to limit the total contribution from the Tasmanian taxpayers to $875 million, which is the cost estimate minus a $240 million federal government commitment and $15 million from the AFL.

The amendment to the Bill means that the government has to to do one of two things if there is a cost blowout above that $875m number:

1. seek additional money from the federal government, AFL, Cricket Tasmania or private investors, or

2. decide to reduce the scope of the project if that extra funding does not materialise.

These greenfields public infrastructure projects ALWAYS blow out. But this is a meaningless cap because by the time the blow out happens many of the Independent MPs who set the spending limits will no longer be in Parliament or will have less power than they once did.

And there is no way a future Tassie govt will be able to take the political hit of reducing the scope of the project once it's started and no way will the AFL put more money into the project now they have the Tasmanian Government's signature on the deal.

The Tasmanian Govt and the Labor Opposition went to an election promising to build this thing. And they're delivering on that promise - being politicians they'll leave it to other politicians in the future to deal with the consequences if when the costs blow out.

Old mate Dillon must be cracking open the most expensive bottle of French Vintage champagne he can lay his hands on tonight. Because the AFL getting Tasmania into the AFL in a new covered stadium that will end up costing over a billion dollars with only $15m of it coming from the AFL itself (=1.5% of the cost) is the bargain of the century for a corporation that is desperate to lay claim on being the premier fully national sporting competition.

I was about 8,900 in the queue but it rattled through quickly enough and I was in the ticket room after half an hour. Scored decent seats.

But I'm sick to death of Ticketek's two-step verification that sends a code to an email address I can't access from where I was. Why not just send it to your phone? And when I went to check my tickets online after I bought them it asked me to log in again.
I didn't have any 2 step authentication process?

This stadium should be huge for Hobart. The city needs an identity, this will give that, and it will significantly boost tourism. I just hope the team itself gets fully embraced by the people of Tassie and becomes a success. Even if those people support other teams, you hope they get on board with their historic own club.

That's great for you, doesn't help me much.
Yeah, was just saying so you were aware that isnt totally normal, and I'm not sure where that step was. Was that at the login page? There might be something you can do to change that setting and get rid of it so it doesn't impact you in the future.

Yeah, was just saying so you were aware that isnt totally normal, not sure where that step was. Was that at the login page? There might be something you can do to change that setting and get rid of it so it doesn't impact you in the future.

Maybe they don't like my thing that stops ads (apparently the actual term triggers a word substitution). I get logged out every time I leave their site and then it wants two-stage authentication when I try to log back in.

It even logged me out when I was logged in and had just bought the tickets. Then when I tried to check them, it asked me to log in again. And back on the merry-go-round.

Oh well, have my tickets. Last year they didn't show up in my account until the week before the match.

This stadium should be huge for Hobart. The city needs an identity, this will give that, and it will significantly boost tourism. I just hope the team itself gets fully embraced by the people of Tassie and becomes a success. Even if those people support other teams, you hope they get on board with their historic own club.
They will they are a footy heartland & the people who support other clubs will take far more interest in The Devils than Norf 'n Hawfs. They might get McTallica & AC/DC retirement tour gigs in a couple of years at that sort of venue.

AFL world saddened as Dermott Brereton ends TV career after 14 years

Great news for ears around the nation. The worst commentator on TV, by a significant margin, has finally been moved on. Long overdue.
He loved the sound of his own voice did Derm.

Often ignoring what was taking place on the field to wax lyrical for five excruciating minutes about a technical point no one else gave a feck about.

But I'd still have him over Brayshaw as a commentator of games I care about any day of the week.

To get the votes of the independents to make the approval pass Parliament - the government agreed to limit the total contribution from the Tasmanian taxpayers to $875 million, which is the cost estimate minus a $240 million federal government commitment and $15 million from the AFL.

The amendment to the Bill means that the spending cap means that the government has to to do one of two things if there is a cost blowout:

1. seek additional money from the federal government, AFL, Cricket Tasmania or private investors, or

2. decide to reduce the scope of the project if that extra funding does not materialise.

These greenfields public infrastructure projects ALWAYS blow out. But this is a meaningless cap because by the time the blow out happens many of the Independent MPs who set the spending limits will no longer be in Parliament or will have less power than they once did.

And there is no way a future sitting govt will be able to take the political hit of reducing the scope of the project once it's started and no way will the AFL put more money into the project now they have the Tasmanian Government's signature on the deal.

The Tasmanian Govt and the Labor Opposition went to an election promising to build this thing. And they're delivering on that promise - being politicians they'll leave it to other politicians in the future to deal with the consequences if when the costs blow out.

Old mate Dillon must be cracking open the most expensive bottle of French Vintage champagne he can lay his hands on tonight. Because the AFL getting Tasmania into the AFL in a new covered stadium that will end up costing over a billion dollars with only $15m of it coming from the AFL itself (=1.5% of the cost) is the bargain of the century for a corporation that is desperate to lay claim on being the premier fully national sporting competition.

On one hand im glad to see the team going ahead, and the stadium will do wonders for the town. The redevelopment of AO has been huge for Adelaide, as an example.

On the other hand, the Tas government is broke AF, and it stinks to high heaven the way the capitalist pig dogs at AFL hq have gone about this. More than happy to funnel hundreds of millions towards the sporting graveyards of the gold coast and western Sydney in the name of "gRoWiNg tHe GaMe". I wouldn't be surprised if the devils have bigger support than both of them from inception, despite the former being established well over a decade ago. Have GWS made inroads? They're better supported in Canberra than they are in western Sydney.

The contribution Tasmania has made over the last hundred years has been enormous. Super dedicated and passionate football state. And they've been given the short end of the stick because Demetriou and Dilldo wanted a legacy.

Thank God for that. Piss off, Dermie!

You can ridicule Dermie all you want but his ability to read players' minds and describe exactly what they were thinking was second to none.

That's great for you, doesn't help me much.
It's always about you isn't it Ford?

Spare a thought for the poor feckers who have to clean up the mega poos of those hundreds of old chooks with limited bowel control who lined up outside the Entertainment Centre for a 'whopping' 24 (checks Advertiser story) 23 hours.

It's always about you isn't it Ford?

Spare a thought for the poor feckers who have to clean up the mega poos of those hundreds of old chooks with limited bowel control who lined up outside the Entertainment Centre for a 'whopping' 24 (checks Advertiser story) 23 hours.

cage GIF

Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 31