Training Saints preseason 2026

At the same time we have his son and Tom’s brother a million a year. Something with that deal seems iffy. Sorry call me a conspiracist. I just do
Jack Silvagni didn't have to come to the Saints. He could have gone to Collingwood or Dogs, he knows coming here he maybe scrutinized more because of his dad. Gubby also specifically said that Ross and him deliberately hid the recruitment of Jack from SOS to avoid the exact same talk. Jumping at shadows I'd say. There were a lot more questionable decisions made during Richo and Ratts' days.

Personally, I just think he's drastically overrated. I don't think he's that good of a player.
It's my opinion.
I just don't get the hype.
If the very few nay sayers have to put up with the hundreds believing the sun shines out of Max Kings hole, and that he can do no wrong. Then the hordes can deal with the three or four of us that don't share that view.
When he starts kicking the 70-80 goals a season much touted on here, I'm sure we doubters will come around.
That's it. 🤷
Since kicking nearly 50 goals a few seasons ago, King has spent more time on the sidelines than on the field, when he was playing, he gets very little service. Not saying he is a superstar, but he is at least a very good player when fully fit. Most key forwards capable of kicking 50 goals a season are considered very good if not elite. Give him a chance to get fit and get some continuity. Like i said before, when Richo/Ratts were here, you could be plugger or ablett, good luck being double/triple teamed every week and have the ball long bombed on top of your head 99% of the time.

Lovely day. Banfield and Fincher still in their old numbers. Still cant believe we got Banfield over WC.
WA members what are his supposed flaws in his game because at pre season, he liiks like he was built for AFL?
Some big numbers out there 51, 53, 54 and 55. Maybe VFL players. 51 is a big lad.
Good to see McLobster out there. Clark in the fluro cap.
Umpires here today.
Armstrong is a large lad indeed. Henry out with the main group.
King and TDK out, over to the rehab group.
Player out with a busted wing, maybe a VFL player.
Will wander over to watch rehab.
Only Max and Barrat in rehab, TDK in with main group.
Dodson Pou and another player joins the rehab group. Pou looks fine, said he feels great except for the stiches in his gob., McLobster over there too, also looks fine, would say on modified programs.
Hard running repeat 50's for the group.
Wasn't Barrat but Said in rehab group.
Main group breaks into two for ground ball work.
Pou running laps, as is Dodson., Liam Ryan with the main group.
Group comes together tight. Lots of yelling and cheering.
TDK and Henry join rehab.
Round the other side now to watch the ball drills. Flanders positioning is elite.
Now into three groups, I will stay with the one I m watching. Banfield good turn of pace and evasive skills
Stocker, TDK and Henry running laps
Ryan has subline kicking skills.
Wilson to Coops lovely leap and finishes.
I wonder about Paddy Dow. Nice neat player but just doesn't do it for me. Maybe he isn't just the nice shiney toy.
Delivery into the forward line nice, but I 'll wait and see until contact comes into training in rhe New Year.
So 51 is Billy Richardson, VFL player..
Max in rehab doing a lot of ground ball gets with a,sharp turn .
Keepings off ball drill reds v bibs, spirited when the defence breaks up the attack. Wilson with a great spoil.
Naz straight into the rooms with the doctor. Looks like a little nick, slight limp possibly a tight hammy or calf, precaution ( heres hoping). No panic. Snuck a look in the rooms, Naz stretching like a hammy or calf, doubt its anything major. Hopping on one foot, precaution I reckon. Looking at the trainer, intimating ankle. Naz back with it strapped ( I assume) crisis averted. Doing run throughs with boots on.
Big play ends up with Ryan huge cheer and they all get around him .
Rehab group still out, so much for Max behind schedule. Looks stronger every time I see him.
Naz put in cotton wool up the race into the gym. Back out with runners on doing laps. Guy is so competitive wants to do match sim but trainers say no.
Half ground drill reds v bibs. Ball up and positioning work, getting the ball to the outside to attack the goals.
Naz running like his life depends on it around the boundary.
From halfway taking it to the open side, then back through the midfield. Boxshall and Wilson good. Stocker doing a lot of coaching positional work (hand injury so no ball work) with the back 6. Working hard with Armstrong Hastie and Richardson. Hastie great pickup through the guts to Wilson who hits up Roh. Wilson running like Dangerfield through the guts.
Group moves to other end. Armstrong to Flanders in the guts, congested backline, hits Higgo on the tit with a 50 metre bullet.
Hammer back for bibs.
So for the Ryan worriers, while the group breaks for a drink, he is running repeat 200's.
Boxshall takes a bounce coming out of the 50, gets collared by Hastie
Just heard Tauru may have an injury. Dont know what. Looks ok, sore ankle only. No worries.
Actually it was Banfield who got caught, Boxy just takes a great contested mark.
Good spirited session, Hastie, Flanders, Hugo, Carroll, Boxy, Higgo, all looked good. Hammer doing good things in defence for bibs.
Full ground sim with umpires. Tauru back with the bibs. Banfield forward for reds. Loser team needs to do 10 push ups. Back to 80's training.
Tauru and Trav big spoils in defence.
Players blown in the heat. Lancey runs his guts out to break up an attack. Trav looks more and more assured with ball in hand.
Banfield cops a spray for not looking inside. Carroll again good off half back. Doogs straightens up the defence. Also good, Sincs, Dow, Windy, Hall. Sounds like everyone is great, but these reports are getting harder and harder to find a player who would look out if place or is a list clogger.
Worse case scenario bottom six ( excluding recruits), Lance, Armstrong, LOC, Dow, Ronnie, Stocker? Not one of those are incapable of an AFL career. A couple of years back they would have been automatic choices in seniors.
All the Brains Trust know who I am. Will need to wear a disguise next time..
Running now.
Last report pre Christmas
Adios Amigos.
Great stuff JB

Jack Silvagni didn't have to come to the Saints. He could have gone to Collingwood or Dogs, he knows coming here he maybe scrutinized more because of his dad. Gubby also specifically said that Ross and him deliberately hid the recruitment of Jack from SOS to avoid the exact same talk. Jumping at shadows I'd say. There were a lot more questionable decisions made during Richo and Ratts' days.
Hmmm I don't agree tbh. I think the million dollars a year may have something to do with it.

Jo is going to lose her Chemist Warehouse job for sure. What does she do that a million other people couldn't?

She's there to endorse a brand (that is probably disproportionately targeted to women) and now when people see her, a lot them will instantly think of a rapist. She's gone.

SoS will probably be safe. He hasnt committed a crime but its not great having such a high profile club figure defend a convicted rapist. Its his son, I am not going to judge him for it, unconditional love is a hell of a drug. But its not ideal.
Haha this is extraordinary reading. All the points you make for Dad easily apply for Mum too yet you’ve ended her gig on the spot?
At the same time we have his son and Tom’s brother a million a year. Something with that deal seems iffy. Sorry call me a conspiracist. I just do
Christ almighty. Associating Jack’s deal with us in any part as to his role as “Tom’s brother”. What the actual ****

Personally, I just think he's drastically overrated. I don't think he's that good of a player.
It's my opinion.
If the very few nay sayers have to put up with the hundreds believing the sun shines out of Max Kings hole, and that he can do no wrong. Then the hordes can deal with the three or four of us that don't share that view.
When he starts kicking the 70-80 goals a season much touted on here, I'm sure we doubters will come around.
That's it. 🤷
So because you don’t think he is as good as mentioned by others, you think it’s fair to attack the guys body/work ethic/contract etc?

That’s what the point of my post was. It’s an incredibly weird thing be it your don’t rate him or as others have said they believed he was the anointed one.

Like we had posts claiming he couldn’t even lift a weight and then the club releases a few images of him and he looks like he has arms and legs as thick as tree branches.

If we were during the season and he wasn’t performing. Fair game. But that’s not what is occurring.

For criticism of Max King, I place the blame squarely on Brad Hill. In fact for the 1997 GF I blame Brad. The problem was that when Brad Hill came over to St Kilda, all those buzzing anxieties suddenly had a place to go. Like iron fillings jumping on to a magnet! But then, through several seasons, it became obvious that Brad Hill was extremely helpful, a new target had to come into being. I blame Brad for that too. If Brad slips in form even slightly, he will be pole-axed, and marmony will be restored. Then we can blame Brad Hill. In meantime, it is best just to blame Brad Hill. Inflation? Flat tyre? You know where to go.

Just devastating for all involved

Wouldnt be surprised if SOS & Jo decided to move away from the Melbourne melting pot
The victim often gets lost in all this, she was *aped and it’s most devastating for her. I feel for SOS and the family as well but publically defending him AFTER a guilty verdict is a horrible look imo.

Appeal all you want, support your son but keep it behind closed doors. He is representing the club whether we like it or not. Getting away from Melbourne would be a good move.

It's my opinion.
That's it. 🤷
Cmon mate you know thats not allowed

Do the right thing and just follow the rest of the sheep

For criticism of Max King, I place the blame squarely on Brad Hill. In fact for the 1997 GF I blame Brad. The problem was that when Brad Hill came over to St Kilda, all those buzzing anxieties suddenly had a place to go. Like iron fillings jumping on to a magnet! But then, through several seasons, it became obvious that Brad Hill was extremely helpful, a new target had to come into being. I blame Brad for that too. If Brad slips in form even slightly, he will be pole-axed, and marmony will be restored. Then we can blame Brad Hill. In meantime, it is best just to blame Brad Hill. Inflation? Flat tyre? You know where to go.
xABvCsB.png

So because you don’t think he is as good as mentioned by others, you think it’s fair to attack the guys body/work ethic/contract etc?

That’s what the point of my post was. It’s an incredibly weird thing be it your don’t rate him or as others have said they believed he was the anointed one.

Like we had posts claiming he couldn’t even lift a weight and then the club releases a few images of him and he looks like he has arms and legs as thick as tree branches.

If we were during the season and he wasn’t performing. Fair game. But that’s not what is occurring.
where did he attack him ?

Just a different opinion is how it reads

Cmon mate you know thats not allowed

Do the right thing and just follow the rest of the sheep
Or follow the middle where it's not binary?

You're loved around these parts, Mowman, from a long history but to mosey back in after a long time mostly away and call those that stayed "sheep" is quite dissapointing.

Max has been a young, injured footballer. Any perception of overrated is not on him.

Training Saints preseason 2026