Religion Bondi shooting - 16 confirmed dead at Jewish event

• Thread starter Thread starter bzparkes

Mate, I literally said screaming at a group of mourners over a flag probably isn't the time and place for a 'debate' and you got all weird.
I took issue with a logical incompatibility that you then chose to try and defend, unsuccessfully. You then proceeded to ignore almost the entirety of the posting provided to you to regurgitate your complaint, which is what you do when you've ceased thinking and begun simply responding.

Calling that 'got all weird' doesn't disguise what actually occurred here, BZ.
Don't quote me anymore please.
Now, doesn't that place me in a bit of a pickle, BZ?

Legitimately all you would need to do to make me go away is to concede that the left can also declare they don't want to debate when it doesn't suit them. You're legitimately asserting that you are unable to win this particular debate by running away from it; the only thing is, you're attempting to frame it in such a way as to make yourself out as the victim.

Didn't you just tell me not to act like the victim, BZ?

Now, I'll leave you be, but this is a rather manipulative way to leave the conversation on your end. You need to realise what you're doing, and you need to own it.

We have two examples of Muslims. One man a hero and the other murderous hateful Islamists.

Time to put more resources into researching immigrates. It wouldn’t be too difficult to have train psychologists interviewing potential visa holders.

We couldn’t keep importing people who have an agenda of hatred.

Jews and Muslims dont eat pork. That there should be a coming together of religion and their respective believers.
Bacon sandwiches could united the middle east if only we could get them to embrace them. Nobody can feel angry after a good bacon butty.

We have two examples of Muslims. One man a hero and the other murderous hateful Islamists.

Time to put more resources into researching immigrates. It wouldn’t be too difficult to have train psychologists interviewing potential visa holders.

We couldn’t keep importing people who have an agenda of hatred.

The son was born in Australia.

Sorry I missed the part where our state religion was declared as Christianity. We're a secular nation that generally doesn't like any religion having too big an influence. If you don't agree, I'd say you're out of touch with modern Australia, especially the youth.
Our entire foundation was built on Christian values including our legal, social and political values. That's what happened when the British landed here and created a nation.

iNo, it's recognised as the flag of Israel, that has taken what should be non-political symbols and trier to make them political. This isn't a problem to some people, but it is to others, many of whom are Jewish, and they have the right to their opinion too.

The premise is wrong. Israel didn’t retroactively politicise a neutral symbol, it was founded as the nation state of the Jewish people and its symbols were explicitly chosen to reflect that.

The flag’s Jewish meaning isn’t accidental or imposed later, it was part of its foundation.

if a group of people is disproportionately more chance to commit acts of terror by certain individuals within their community, that needs to be addressed.

It's irrelevant what colour, race or religion they are.

What about gender?

I mean we are a country built on Christian values so I’m not sure why you’d find it surprising the majority of people favour it over Islam.
Strange, because I recall coveting and theft as explicit sins in Christianity. And from some types who are often most vocal about "judeo-christian values" there seems to be a lot of opposition to actual Christian values like sacrificial care for foreigners and those less fortunate, loving thy neighbour as yourself and even your enemy, not loving money/wealth etc.

I'd deport anyone who hates our values. Why live here if you want to change it to something else, especially through violence? Just go live somewhere that aligns with your ideals instead.

Plenty of immigrants come here and assimilate into our way of life just fine, after all.
You must be a serious advocate for aboriginal rights.

Strange, because I recall coveting and theft as explicit sins in Christianity. And from some types who are often most vocal about "judeo-christian values" there seems to be a lot of opposition to actual Christian values like sacrificial care for foreigners and those less fortunate, loving thy neighbour as yourself and even your enemy, not loving money/wealth etc.
The metamorphosis of Jesus Christ from a humble servant of the abject poor to a symbol that stands for gun rights, prosperity theology, anti-science, limited government (that neglects the destitute), and fierce nationalism is truly the strangest transformation in human history. -Rainn Wilson

I don’t really get what you mean when you say ‘our values”. No doubt heaps of Australians have different values about all sorts of things. I’d be surprised if I share many ‘values’ in common with Pauline Hanson or the neo nazis. And I’d be surprised if I don’t have values in common with plenty of immigrants. I don’t see that as by and large, about race or religion either, which seems to be what you are suggesting?
There are just extremists and nutters in all walks of life. That’s what it’s about.
Our values are those of a liberal democracy where we have individual rights, the rule of law, fair and free elections, freedom of opinion, equality of the sexes, a free press, freedom of religion, freedom of movement, the right to own property. You’d struggle to find most or even any of these in the countries groups of immigrants come from.

How will a further tightening of gun laws fix problems associated with radical Islam?
Proper restrictions on the number and type of guns able to be owned by individuals without a valid reason would most likely have stopped two men driven solely by hatred and ignorance having access to six quick fire long arms with ample ammunition.

And the gun club membership work around is clearly failing when it comes to suburban gun ownership.

It may well have stopped and/or limited the slaughter of innocent people.

Most of us would view this as justification enough to make a start.

Not as a cure to all the ills of the world, but as a chance to finally galvanise support around a much needed review of gun ownership legislation at both the Commonwealth and State level.

Because otherwise we are just inviting the same loopholes to be used again by individuals for more massacres - whatever their rationale.

So no multi symbolism?

There are millions that disagree with you.

So the flag of Nazi Germany is simply a symbol of a toppled German political party of the 1920-1940’s?

The Eureka flag is just an anti colonial authority flag from 1850’s miners from Ballarat?

It can equally be true that the Israeli flag is a symbol of Zionism and a widely recognised symbol of Judaism and Jewish survival.

Sorry … I am not saying that there is no other meaning behind the flag (as you have correctly pointed out)

My point was that when I see the Israeli flag, it symbolises the atrocities of the current regime … to me

News out now that Muslim gravesites in Sydney have been desecrated. Didn’t take long for the idiots to appear
There's always some prick who'll use this incident as an excuse to justify their actions in doing this. Probably been waiting for a chance to do so.

Bacon sandwiches could united the middle east if only we could get them to embrace them. Nobody can feel angry after a good bacon butty.
Yep,

Bacon should receive the Nobel peace prize in my opinion….

Honorary mention to the Bunnings sausage sizzle on weekends…..

Gun control really isn't the issue at play here. I'm glad that as a society we don't think it's normal to own an AK-47 or carry around a handgun, but I don't feel unsafe in the knowledge that there are hundreds of thousands of licensed firearms holders with multiple firearms. It's easy after the fact to say that any perpetrator of gun violence should not have been legally allowed to own a gun, but at the end of the day if you are motivated to shoot at hundreds of innocent people in a public space is being denied a permit for a .22 rifle really going to stop you?
You have to control what you can control. The shooter shouldn't have been able to own any weapons let alone 6. Of course there are always many issues at play but you can't make it easy for people to do this. Thankfully it looks like the laws will be changing.