Training Saints preseason 2026

25%?
That’s huge.
He’s not ready to push Howard out as a KPD just yet if Howard stays fit.
Maybe in the future, but I don’t see it now.

Yes, he’s got quite a few games under his belt now, but he’s been played both forward and back and pretty sure people on here have suggested Ross sees him in the forward line.

He's gone past 50 games now so should start to get some consistency in his game. He's been serviceable with a missing piece gone in Battle and Webster missing bulk games. In a settled back 6 he'd look a lot better too. At his age and level of experience he should start to rise quickly.

Wilkie and JSOS to spread the load will be massive for him.

His weakness seems to be his one on one stopping, which is probably Howard's strength. But he can really intercept and set up play. He reminds me a bit of Balta. If he can improve his one on one defending he can end up really good.

Caminiti's defensive 1v1 stats leave a lot to be desired over Howard.

If we want to win matches in 2026, a fit Howard at full back is our best chance at that.

That was skewed by missing Battle without a replacement. Our backline went from our best line even without Howard, to a liability in one season. A fit JSOS replaces Battle as a stable rebound by foot interceptor.

Caminiti and Howard both will be better supported with a stronger back 6. Webster needs replacing now too. That leaves a spot for Carroll, LOC or Tauru to step up.

His weakness seems to be his one on one stopping, which is probably Howard's strength. But he can really intercept and set up play. He reminds me a bit of Balta. If he can improve his one on one defending he can end up really good.

I think we are having nostalgia delusions with that. Howard was often beaten one on one. His best footy was as a come from behind spoiler or marking interceptor.

His closing speed is really good but he often chose to spoil when he could mark and pushed the ball back into play in dangerous spots. He also got himself into trouble trying to hold on to the ball too long.

My mental image of him is twisting and turning on the spot while getting tackled and holding the ball.

Caminiti sits at 38 in the league for total marks despite a large percentage of others having played considerably more games due to finals. 8th in the AFL for 1 percenters.

50 games yes - but not settled in one spot.
I hope you’re right, but I’d say he’s only played loosely half of that forward and half of that in defence.

50 games yes - but not settled in one spot.
I hope you’re right, but I’d say he’s only played loosely half of that forward and half of that in defence.

Pretty impressive to get to 50 games so quick, only turned 22 a couple weeks ago as well.

Exploded onto the scene but has been a bit under the radar if anything the last season or so.

Interested to see how he goes in 2026.

Pretty impressive to get to 50 games so quick, only turned 22 a couple weeks ago as well.

Exploded onto the scene but has been a bit under the radar if anything the last season or so.

Interested to see how he goes in 2026.
100%
And especially for a young guy not originally drafted. Hes done very well.

I was just stating that he’s been moved around a bit in that time and I’m not sure that he automatically replaces Howard if he’s fit.

( And WillHayward, feel free to take your 🤣 back to your own board. Who hangs around on another team’s board?)

I tend to agree. A year out of footy with soft tissues is a long time. Caminiti has been improving and should look better in a more stable backline with JSOS and an improving Tauru.

It's a good problem to have those two fighting it out for a spot.

Personally I reckon Hammer looks about ten times better as a back than a forward.
One of my favourites, his forward energy during those first 5 rounds of RtB's first year back was infectious, I'd be keen to see him make it as a forward, but I'll settle for AA fullback, either way I love him in our team.

Weirdly I seem to he more positive about 2026 than many.

Our midfield will be our best midfield group for many a year. And now it also has many very good ball users.

We have a lot more height ...in the ruck. In the backline and up forward. We have options if some of them are out any particular week. We have not had that for a while.

We have a lot of quality youth ready to play in the seniors, and also pushing to get in. This will make us better and better over the next few seasons.

We have talent all over the ground now.

Places in the 23 are going to be hotly contested. Some will get pushed out, others will force their way in.

Weirdly I seem to he more positive about 2026 than many.

Our midfield will he our best midfield group for many a year. And now it also has many very good ball users.

We have a lot more height ...in the ruck. In the backline amd up forward. We have options if some of them are out any particular week. We have not had that for a while.

We have a lot of quality youth ready to play in the seniors, and also pushing to get in. This will make us better and better over the next few seasons.

We have talent all over the ground now.

Places in the 23 are going to he hotly contested. Some will get pushed out, others will force their way in.

The list is the best it has been since Lyon left.

It's crazy how use we've all become to us being an average side.
Its so hard to believe St Kilda could be as strong as we were during that 2003-2011 period.
We've been fooled before, but this feels more substantial.

The list is good, but it’s still young and largely unproven. I think there’s still a lot of growth for individuals and the team before we really start hitting our straps.

And our injury list really needs to tilt more in our favor if we’re going to be serious about making finals.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m feeling positive. I’m looking forward to what should be a season of strong improvement. I just think we’re going to still see inconsistency and momentum swings when we come out of the blocks.

The list is good, but it’s still young and largely unproven. I think there’s still a lot of growth for individuals and the team before we really start hitting our straps.

And our injury list really needs to tilt more in our favor if we’re going to be serious about making finals.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m feeling positive. I’m looking forward to what should be a season of strong improvement. I just think we’re going to still see inconsistency and momentum swings when we come out of the blocks.

Good take. I'm feel like I'm incredibly positive, especially as it comes to the list.

That said I still have us finishing 6th to 10th.

We can exceed those expectations with a good run with injury and some form/belief but that would be delivering ahead of the curve.

It's crazy how use we've all become to us being an average side.
Its so hard to believe St Kilda could be as strong as we were during that 2003-2011 period.
We've been fooled before, but this feels more substantial.

People bag Richo for being shit but his lists were absolutely impoverished. Some was his own inability to develop and identify talent but still. Josh Bruce, Seb Ross and Stuv were our standout players in a lot of that era. Guys like Newnes and Gresh were significant contributors.

Look at 2019. Our 2 A graders were Hanners and Ross.

I'm always big on speculation based on evidence. I predicted the rise of Brisbane while they were still bottom four. I predicted Carlton improving when they were still shit.

You need to look at the core and the scope for drastic internal improvement and predict based off that and the pieces are there this time. Of course things can go catastrophically wrong but there are so many pieces in the right place now that we don't need to rely on 3 or 4 players carrying the hopes of the whole side.

There are genuinely enough players with scope for top shelf talent that even if some don't make it others will. 4 years ago if King didn't make it there wasn't much else you could see coming in behind him. Now King could fall over and we probably wouldn't lose any significant momentum.

We could have 5 or 6 players hit A grade level over the next couple of years. That puts you up with the premiership contenders.

I think McDonald arrives in June or July after finishing school, like Armstrong last year
Liam O'Connell is a strong chance for a lock down defender role...Eammon Armstrong has come along in leaps and bounds & would likely be a running half back.
Kobe McDonald won't get here until July and will be an excellent prospect for 2027!

So a few questions over the past 5 pages.
1. Paddy Dow. Completed all pre season. Not standing out, a bit vanilla, lets see his progress after Xmas
2. Isaac Keeler. An improver this pre season. Up against Marshall in the absence of TDK and Dodson has held his own and shone on occasions
3. Howard. Short memories from some on how much we needed a key back in 2025. Had Camminiti on a 15 cm taller Darcy.
Howard has looked good in the back six, seems to straighten it up more.
4. Carroll. Has looked extremely good off a hbf, could be a smokie.
4. The Irish. LOC doing everything expected of him, could be in the mix gor a small back position.
Armstrong looks terrific, but needs a bit more development and game time.

So a few questions over the past 5 pages.
1. Paddy Dow. Completed all pre season. Not standing out, a bit vanilla, lets see his progress after Xmas
2. Isaac Keeler. An improver this pre season. Up against Marshall in the absence of TDK and Dodson has held his own and shone on occasions
3. Howard. Short memories from some on how much we needed a key back in 2025. Had Camminiti on a 15 cm taller Darcy.
Howard has looked good in the back six, seems to straighten it up more.
4. Carroll. Has looked extremely good off a hbf, could be a smokie.
4. The Irish. LOC doing everything expected of him, could be in the mix gor a small back position.
Armstrong looks terrific, but needs a bit more development and game time.
Keeler is the player i am.most looking forward too see in 2026.

Bloke could become a ripper for us

All points that I agree with.

Yes we still need to improve. Personally I have no doubt that we will. How quickly we will is unknown.

But right here and now we are in much better shape that we were going into 2025.

Nas and Hall both emerged as very good players. Now with Hall he has only played 23 games, but it is HOW he plays the game that is so telling. He just makes things happen, and when he uses the ball he uses it to great team advantage.

Just on King, who seems to be many people's "Black Cloud". The way I see it with Max is that we can a good season without him. But with him it will be much easier to have a really good season.

Now to actually active be a Flag Contender in 2026 we would need many things to go right, and there are still quite a number of unknowns such as for example how good, or bad, will Pou be in 2026?

Will Garcia step up? Will Windy continue to track upwards? Will Ryan be good for us. Overall though we now have a lot more options for most positions, and this is one reason I think we will have a better year. If Ryan flops, we still have Higgins, Butler, Hall, Henry and the young Collard. No King, we have Marshall and Sharman, while Caminiti, Keeler, Tarau will all be stronger and more advanced too.

I think that we are very capable without Max of having a good enough season to play finals. Can we better than that to actually be a competitive finalist? Too early to say.

But I have seen enough to be of the view that as a fan I can go to games in 2026 and enjoy the day a lot more than I have in the main since we were last a flag contender.

So much to watch in 2026:
  • Can Flanders be the extra damaging mid that we crave
  • Will Pou arrive
  • Windy, can he be more than a great tagger?
  • Will Flying Ryan, actually Fly?
  • Is Howard back game fit?
  • Wilson looks amazing now, but will he be in games?
  • Will Nas keep improving?
  • How will Marshall handle a role where he is playing more forward, as well as being a Follower around the ground.
  • How will TDK go with the new ruck rule with Nas, Flanders, Hall, Macrae and others like Pou and Garcia all ready to be fed.

I am chomping at the bit for the 2026 Season.

Training Saints preseason 2026