I can't figure out any that he would have known looking at their listI think its more relationships with current players
Nah they have heaps of cash. They have to heavily front load everything to hit the cap floorIf the Saints keep dropping games they're expected to win then they'll be no more appealing than Port. If the contract figures on Nas, TDK, Silvagni, Wilkie, Sinclair and Flanders are to be believed, then I think the Saints will be hard pressed to keep players at the end of the year, let alone retain those asking the sort of dollars Butters would be entitled to.
If they lose to GWS up in Sydney on the weekend, then lose to Brisbane at Marvel, they'll be 0-4. Long suffering Saints fans will start to burn the joint down.
If the Saints keep dropping games they're expected to win then they'll be no more appealing than Port. If the contract figures on Nas, TDK, Silvagni, Wilkie, Sinclair and Flanders are to be believed, then I think the Saints will be hard pressed to keep players at the end of the year, let alone retain those asking the sort of dollars Butters would be entitled to.
If they lose to GWS up in Sydney on the weekend, then lose to Brisbane at Marvel, they'll be 0-4. Long suffering Saints fans will start to burn the joint down.
Well it’s just been announced Philipou is also set to earn 1millNah they have heaps of cash. They have to heavily front load everything to hit the cap floor
Do you actually know this for sure?
For what it's worth, given the commitments they have to Bont, English, Darcy, Naughton, Richards et al, I'd be surprised if the Dogs actually have that kind of cash to throw around.
Great detail and thought. Thank you.The numbers may change in the so-called 'new environment' with a rising cap, but our approach doesn't have to in order to remain competitive.
It really depends on whether any stars you are trying to attract want to have some help in order to win premierships, or whether they just want the payday. A sustainable top end with the current cap is about $1.4-1.5m a year.
Managing a cap is simply about choosing how you distribute across your playing group - timing, quality of list, age distribution, all come into play. Using the current salary cap of $18.3m a year, a distribution could look something like:
Top 10 players, split into two groups:
Where a team didn't have as many high quality stars - you could stretch your top players higher, and the rest of the top 7 paid lower - but you wouldn't want to pay that on long-term deals - pointing to St K and WCE who both paid up to retain 'stars', but kept the extensions to only 2 years.
- top 3 marquee players - 20% of cap - averaging $1.22m (which could look more like #1 on $1.45m and the other 2 on $1.10m each)
- next 7 players taking 30% of cap - averaging $785k
- this gives an overall top 10 average of $915k - pretty competitive for a club's structurally important players
Next tier of players 10-20: around 33% of the cap - average $604k. Typical starters in the team, high quality, definitely don't want to lose, but are more role-players than structural match-winners. Otherwise, they are the rising kids who may have had an initial contract extension, and are now in best 18 players, but not yet had their big contract payday. Given the balance of our list, and the way pay bands have been run over many years, my guess is that we would have a bigger cohort blending the bottom end of the 'top 10' right through players 16-18 ish.
Then you probably have about 8 players on the edge of senior selection or on newer contracts (players 21-28): 9% of cap - averaging just over $205k each. Might be kids with first extensions beyond the initial 3 years of fixed payments, but still not justifying a material uplift. Also some 'bargain buys' potentially in here (DFAs, etc).
Bottom 10 players on the primary list - players in first 3 years of contract (fixed amounts by AFL), or those that haven't shown enough to get an uplift on $ despite perhaps a short contract extension, etc. This combined group of players to take about 8% of the cap, averaging ~$145k.
Rookie minimum base salary is not included in cap, and CAT B not included in cap at all (regardless of what they are paid).
If the cap were to rise to say $20m a year under next CBA, and you kept same % distributions - looking at the top 3 players in particular - you could pay your #1 player $1.5m a year, and the next 2 players $1.25m a year.
Under that scenario, you could chase Butters on $1.5m, pay up for Holmes, and we'd still have room for one more (given age of Jez, Danger, Blicavs, etc). Note also that Smith is already locked away on a 6 year deal, and with a rising cap, his contract might then 'straddle' the top 3-5 players.
This lines up with Steven Hocking's remarks that we could still afford "another two stars" under our cap - but it also requires the #1 player to want premierships ahead of an individual payday.
I mean let’s get real..If the Saints keep dropping games they're expected to win then they'll be no more appealing than Port. If the contract figures on Nas, TDK, Silvagni, Wilkie, Sinclair and Flanders are to be believed, then I think the Saints will be hard pressed to keep players at the end of the year, let alone retain those asking the sort of dollars Butters would be entitled to.
YesI mean let’s get real..
What the hell did they think recruiting TDK Flanders and Liam Ryan was going to do??
Did they seriously think those 3 would take you from bottom 8 to top four??
They thought it would make them better. Not brilliant, but better.I mean let’s get real..
What the hell did they think recruiting TDK Flanders and Liam Ryan was going to do??
Did they seriously think those 3 would take you from bottom 8 to top four??
Phillipou has potential but the fact he's getting a million this year as an inconsistent 21 year old tells you their capbis emptyWell it’s just been announced Philipou is also set to earn 1mill
No way all these players are that heavily front ended, it’s just not possible with the TPP
St Kilda midfielder Mattaes Phillipou is set to earn an eyebrow-raising figure throughout his new deal.
Phillipou, who signed a two-year contract extension last season, is set to make seven figures in each of those two seasons, per Tom Morris.
The 21-year-old played just 44 games across his first three years in the league since arriving at Moorabbin as the No.10 pick in 2022.
“Mattaes Phillipou re-signed halfway through last year, extended two years - 2027 and 2028 - my understanding is that extension is around $1 million a year,” Morris told SEN Breakfast on Monday.
He's likely to get squeezed out once Cadman is back and he's out of contract at the end of the year.
I think he can play at the level but we've already got Henry and Polkinghorne as speculative, somewhat undersized key forwards. It's just whether we think he's an obvious upgrade on those 2.
At the end of the day though, if they draft well those results will come no matter what. Using top 10 picks on Clark, Coffield, Phillipou, Travaglia etc is the main problem for mine.They thought it would make them better. Not brilliant, but better.
I mean, look, I respect it tbh. They kept going for the really big fish and missing. Gotta do something.
Jesus! 1m a year for phillipo!! Where are saints getting this money from!! Their cap must be about to erupt like a volcanoWell it’s just been announced Philipou is also set to earn 1mill
No way all these players are that heavily front ended, it’s just not possible with the TPP
St Kilda midfielder Mattaes Phillipou is set to earn an eyebrow-raising figure throughout his new deal.
Phillipou, who signed a two-year contract extension last season, is set to make seven figures in each of those two seasons, per Tom Morris.
The 21-year-old played just 44 games across his first three years in the league since arriving at Moorabbin as the No.10 pick in 2022.
“Mattaes Phillipou re-signed halfway through last year, extended two years - 2027 and 2028 - my understanding is that extension is around $1 million a year,” Morris told SEN Breakfast on Monday.
Would be odd for King in particular to leave now - did all the hard yards slogging it out in a weak team, only to pull the pin just as they're coming good.Reckon Pies will be prioritising a KPF. If it’s not King then Walter.
Around 3.5m dollars for 3 B grade players who won’t budge the needle??They thought it would make them better. Not brilliant, but better.
I mean, look, I respect it tbh. They kept going for the really big fish and missing. Gotta do something.
That is genuinely horrendous list management.Jesus! 1m a year for phillipo!! Where are saints getting this money from!! Their cap must be about to erupt like a volcano
I reckon a lot of it has come from Ross.That is genuinely horrendous list management.
If that's what it takes to keep him, then you let him go. He's not worth half that.
It's the same practice that screwed the Suns when they were paying Bowes, Luko etc 800k-1m+ for middling performance.
Kind of proves my point. They struggled to make the capWell it’s just been announced Philipou is also set to earn 1mill
Did I hear Humphrey was drafted after Clark?Reckon the three most pressing positional needs are -
1. Big bodied ruckman - one that can take the load whilst Edwards and hopefully Conway are developing.
2. Small defender - a tough, uncompromising lockdown defender to play on small forwards. Don't apply if you can't kick.
3. Explosive, goal kicking medium forward - with Danger on his last legs we need to have someone of the Bailey Humphrey/Christian Petracca (can't believe GC have 2 of them!) type.
I think there's also a wider point that there are too many clubs for the talent base we have. What does it look like after tassie comes in?Kind of proves my point. They struggled to make the cap
I think there's also a wider point that there are too many clubs for the talent base we have. What does it look like after tassie comes in?
Last pick in the draft territory was our friend Lawson.Did I hear Humphrey was drafted after Clark?
No I mean GC Bailey HumphreyLast pick in the draft territory was our friend Lawson.
Their drafts were a year apart though. I don't think Lawson nominated for the 2022 draft