BuffDog

In light of the most shocking/mysterious game threads, it got me wondering what specific games do you tend to replay or watch the highlights regularly?

It might be due a thrilling finish, a particular moment, high scores, a memorable team performance or the dominance of an individual player in the game.

Be good to hear some more obscure home and away games.

As a Bombers fan a few I watch over and over are:

Essendon d West Coast, Round 11 2007

Favourite home and away game of all time. We were 6 goals down before producing an unlikely comeback to win by a point 95-94.
Scott Lucas kicked some huge goals and the final few minutes were intense with the ball 10m out from the West Coast goal when the siren rings.
There's an excellent video on youtube with Clinton Grybas Commentating.

ANZAC Day 2009

You're not a Dons fan if you don't watch this every chance you get. Usually pick it up from when Jetta goals to get the margin back to 8 points. Dyson then kicks a ripper from the boundary line, then the Jetta fumble before ZAHARAKISSSS!

Essendon v Carlton, Round 11 2013

2013 were dark times but thankfully we had some highlights on the field. We came back from 31 points down deep in the 3rd. Melksham goaled to put us up with a few minutes to go and we hung on thanks to a huge Carlisle mark. IIRC Simon White(?) had a chance to put the Blues back in front immediately after Melks' goal but missed.

Essendon v Melbourne, Round 2 2016

An unlikely but memorable win by the 'top ups' which gave the bomber faithful hope we wouldn't be too awful that year (although still got the spoon). Daniher played well and a young Parish kicked the sealer.

ANZAC Day 2017

Memorable for the domination of Joe Daniher, he kicked three including some huge goals from outside 50 on his way to collecting the medal. A good game all day where Collingwood eventually nabbed the lead after we got off to a strong start, we steadied to win 100-82.

Essendon v Carlton, Round 20 2017

This was an absolutely dreadful game but had a close finish, we deserved to lose it though. Tippa kicked the sealer running into the open goal after Stewart set him up with a kick that cut through Carlton. Memorable for the massive roar when Tippa kicked the goal - after the pain of 2016 we were going back to the finals.

There's plenty others, but these seem to stand out to me.
Unfortunately we don't have recent finals success to reminisce, though we've had our fair share of classic home and away wins.

2016 prelim. Great game
The highlights, definitely. Especially JJ's run that led to Bont's goal (that roar) and the chain goal that led to the Clay Smith contest against Griffen in the F50, with Daniel snapping up the crumbs as BT screams 'play of the year'!

1. 2016 Round 20 Suns v Giants

Much underrated game in my view. It was a great exhibition of footy. The Suns jumped us and threatened to blow us out of the water early. It was a tough contest from QTR time and we got home by 8 points. To be fair we had a fit bench ( those were the days, may they come again) and the Suns were down 2 rotations at the end.

2. 2017 Round 9 at Spotless Giants v Tigers

Delighted we won that game, but still cant figure out how the **** it happened. I have to watch replays constantly cos I cant believe it did.

I credit our players for the belief and the dogged stubborness to keep pushing when all looked lost, but even Leon said post match there's no way we should have won that game.

sydney vs essendon 1996
carlton vs essendon 1999
brisbane vs essendon 2001
adelaide vs essendon 2006
adelaide vs essendon 2009
carlton vs essendon 2011
collingwood vs essendon 2014
north vs essendon 2014
st kilda vs essendon 2015
sydney vs essendon 2017
sydney vs essendon 2017 (ef)
carlton vs essendon 2018

sydney vs essendon 1996
carlton vs essendon 1999
carlton vs essendon 2011
north vs essendon 2014
sydney vs essendon 2017
carlton vs essendon 2018
:D

sydney vs essendon 1996
carlton vs essendon 1999
carlton vs essendon 2011
north vs essendon 2014
sydney vs essendon 2017
carlton vs essendon 2018

Classics!

I'd also throw in our 121 point loss to Adelaide in 2015 ;)

I have watched the 1989 GF about 20 times.

Others...

1989 Round 6. Geelong v Hawthorn... over 50 goals kicked that day.

Last Round 1996.. Melbourne v Hawthorn... the merger match

2013 Preliminary final. Geelong v Hawthorn..... Burgoyne becomes Superman.

2015 Preliminary final.... Freo v Hawthorn.... great game.

I also particularly enjoy watching the 2002 Grand Final, 2008 GF and 2014 GF.

From last year...

Hawks v Essendon, Hawks v Geelong, Hawks v Sydney....

The Darren Jarman show on Jamie Shanahan l. I watched that game 40 times over and I can’t stand either team in that game

2016 prelim. Great game
The highlights, definitely. Especially JJ's run that led to Bont's goal (that roar) and the chain goal that led to the Clay Smith contest against Griffen in the F50, with Daniel snapping up the crumbs as BT screams 'play of the year'!
I am meant to hate that game, but somewhat sadly- I agree with you! That was a coming of age game for both sides, who played absolutely out of their skin. The Bulldogs were on an unstoppable run, and while we played one of our best ever matches, and had absolutely every reason to win that game with Patton and Lobb probably playing the best game's of their career- I never thought we would win it. The Bulldogs were just absolutely brilliant, and thoroughly deserved to win an awesome game of football.

Is this a means to an end? In other words, do people nominate games and then they become important?
Because if these people nominate games and then these games become special then what happens to the other games//

I used to do this until I lost a video player and the tapes with it.. so all I do now is yu tube it and even then it doesn't replace
the tapes I used to play again and again.. Glad to know I am not alone in the soporific manifestation of repeating the things that in
the end don't mean much at all.. Better let it go... At least I am wandering around being cogniscent of the damage I am doing to my
brain and how I am sending my self into oblivion.. .. this happens..

Never believe a word ss ddd I say... only if you dare...

2017 2nd qualifying final.

Yeah, the GF is great and all, but this was the game where we won our first final in yonks, and broke the Geelong hoodoo as well. You can almost see the belief grow in the players as the game went on (and in the fans, truth be told), and in many ways this game provided the impetus that ended in the flag win.

NMFC v EFC Rd 15 1993.
NMFC’s fourth quarter is the best quarter of football I’ve ever seen, Essendon looked totally out of their depth.

1. 2016 Round 20 Suns v Giants

Much underrated game in my view. It was a great exhibition of footy. The Suns jumped us and threatened to blow us out of the water early. It was a tough contest from QTR time and we got home by 8 points. To be fair we had a fit bench ( those were the days, may they come again) and the Suns were down 2 rotations at the end.

2. 2017 Round 9 at Spotless Giants v Tigers

Delighted we won that game, but still cant figure out how the **** it happened. I have to watch replays constantly cos I cant believe it did.

I credit our players for the belief and the dogged stubborness to keep pushing when all looked lost, but even Leon said post match there's no way we should have won that game.
I was convinced after that game that we’d never win a flag. Was the 3rd in our streak of losses by under a goal, and it was probably the most gutting. Seeming to be in control of the whole game but not taking our opportunities to properly put you away, feeling like a sitting duck in the last quarter and then Bolton kicking what looked like the sealer, only to have it overturned on review, which was the right call, but jjjeeeezzzzuuuusssss it was such a faint touch. Then of course the inevitable C2C that was won you the game.

I believe Perryman is still called "the finger" around the club. It might be that game helped drive determination inyour grou later in the year though. When you know what will happen if you dont sieze the moment.

Yeah I do recall at least Rance being interviewed immediately after the GF and talking about how he never really relaxed all game, even though it seemed done, referencing the close losses earlier in the year.

5. Collingwood 20.15 135 def Adelaide 14.8 92 Etihad Round 9 2011
This game had almost everything, A decent comeback. Mark of the year and a demolition in the final 10 minutes when Collingwood booted 11 in a row. Chris Tarrant kicks his only two goals of the year.

4. Collingwood 18.10 118 def West Coast 15.5 95 MCG Round 9 2005 This game was displayed as David Vs Goliath, West Coast came into the game undefeated while Collingwood were a young side who were getting thrashed every week, Collingwood came into the games as Underdogs and a team contribution got the almighty pies over the line.

3. Collingwood 18.12 120 def Geelong 11.13 79 MCG Prem 2010 This match was one of the best I’ve seen from the pies, The crowd was loud and Geelong looked second rate all night until We went into cruise mode. That Leigh brown goal should’ve been goal of the year and Cameron ling had a sook which made the night even better, Still watch this regularly to this day.

2. Collingwood 11.14 80 def Essendom 11.13 79 MCG Round 5 2012
Jeez sweet revenge, everyone brags about the 2009 Anzac Day match, but this is very underrated as well. It was a close match all game which involved multiple lead changes and raining was tapping on and off. Best quote to describe this match is “BLAIR COLLINGWOOD ARE BACK IN FRONT”

1. Collingwood 17.12 114 def Brisbane 16.15 111 Round 8 2002 Man this game has everything, Brillant ball work, tackles and an underdog team rising to the top, Brisbane had a star studded lineup that everyone thought they were underdefeatable, Collingwood lead all game until a Brisbane rampage in the last quarter cut it to under a goal and Collingwood managed to held on till the last second, which the crowd loudly popped and Mick Malthouse was pumped.

Those are the games I’ve watch over and over again
Honorable mentions
2010 Afl grand final
1990 VFL grand final