Game Day Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

You guys realise that GC beat the Bulldogs in JLT, and the Bullies upset the Swans last night?
Just saying.
No easy games in the AFL anymore - especially in round 1.

It's actually good being last when it's a round of upset results, It should make us conscious of not taking any side easy.

Really looking forward to todays game. I'm excited to see the changes to the game plan we have made during preseason and our new, quick forward line.

Saints by 24. Newnes to be best on and Kent to kick 3. Biggest roar of the day after Stuv kicks his standard goal on the run.
Hoping Newnes has a huge year, we need him back to his best

He was 1st to Robbo at that geelong wondering how that effected him

Alright, game day, time to put selection aside and see the boys get up for a While.

Looking for solid debut from Madman Parker, Big Leey to break even with Witts, Newnes to show us some pre2018 form, Billings to kill it with goal assists as usual and gresh to just be gresh!

Let's go sainters!

Most of Maxs goals looked like snaps or roving pick ups, he seemed to be a bit ordinary at the set shots. He looked like a 7 foot Milney.

For some reason this made me think of Twins. Winx is a Greek god like Arnie & poor Milney is like Danny Devito & copped all the shit genes.

It depends where the train line is being worked on. They try not to run busses into the city unless it's that far in. Try metro trains website and see if you can find some info. I'm tempted to drive in. Parking at the station up the remand centre end is $20 on game day and you can walk up a set of stairs and be on the overpass to the stadium. Other options are park on Canterbury road between st Kilda and Middle park and catch a light rail down to DFO and walk up to Marvel.
Cheers mate

Three years ago King was a midfielder & a very good one at that so I think he should be pretty decent below his knees.

Max had a growth spurt & turned into a freak show tall forward.

There’s a photo of Max & Jack Silvagni together & he’s about an inch shorter than Jack. Fast forward four years & Max is over four inches taller than Jack.

So the 14 year old was shorter than the 18 year old. Amazing!

Brownlow votes last year suggests Steven must be in the best 3 on the ground for us to win. He is our most vital player. Lets hope his fitness and touch are there.
Agree, he seems the type that doesn’t need to be 100% to still influence games. Maybe a little longer breaks on the bench to manage his bursts of speed that he provides

I hope you are right because I think the new rule does no favours to marking forwards. It does favour ball winners with pace. If I was the saints I be giving the ball to Steven at every opportunity. Bomb it in there if no clear options and let our small forward line do their thing.

They'll change it further, 6-6-6 was only ever step one.

The negativity about the Saints in the past month is like a cloak of ashes, it has vanished in a cloud of dust. Today is game day and we can win today! Lots of opportunities for those inexperienced blokes out there to stake a claim to be part of something special today and in the next 3-4 years. Hard to sell a longer term plan so the focus today should be only about today.

I'm very excited and love the anxiety of anticipation of a new season!! Saints by enough, no, lots!! Go Sainters!!!

It depends where the train line is being worked on. They try not to run busses into the city unless it's that far in. Try metro trains website and see if you can find some info. I'm tempted to drive in. Parking at the station up the remand centre end is $20 on game day and you can walk up a set of stairs and be on the overpass to the stadium. Other options are park on Canterbury road between st Kilda and Middle park and catch a light rail down to DFO and walk up to Marvel.
Looks like all lines stop at caulfield and then bus from there.

Best option is to either drive on, park in Rhoden St and walk.

Or is you suggest, drive part way and catch the light rail.

Even the light rail from Beacon Cove will work as there is a decent car parks.

PSA: If you aren't already aware pretty much all our supporter areas train lines are rooted today.

Sandy line is buses the whole way and Frankston, Cranbourne and Pakenham are buses between Caulfield and Flinders.

Plan for the delays.

Think I'll be getting a tram for the first time in a while.

Huuuge game for Lewey today. ROMA breathing down his neck and Longer working back from injury.
Witts is no easy task in the ruck or around the ground. Big for us and him if he can hold his own.

I don't think I can deal with the melts if we drop this game haha

It's game day beatches!! Footy is back!!

We'll win by 38 points with the goals shared around by 7 or 8 different players. We'll see some slick ball movement with Gresh coming good after an ordinary last JLT match!

Go Saints!

PSA: If you aren't already aware pretty much all our supporter areas train lines are rooted today.

Sandy line is buses the whole way and Frankston, Cranbourne and Pakenham are buses between Caulfield and Flinders.

Plan for the delays.

Think I'll be getting a tram for the first time in a while.
I'm not from Melbourne , but how long will the transport problem last for.
Will nit only before a couple weeks.

I'm not from Melbourne , but how long will the transport problem last for.
Will nit only before a couple weeks.
Round 6.
Theres still a massive shutdown between FSS-CFD-WTL over easter.

Even today everyones alternative the Glen Waverley line is completely shut.