Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

I'm going to buck the trend here. I thought Gold Coast were great - and I think they will challenge a number of clubs this year. I also thought we were great, although our best footy was only really on display in that second quarter. We will learn a lot from this match, including that we still have a way to go to reach our full fitness level. We have a weakness in the ruck and we need to address that. Our makeshift defence was quite good. Our forward line is good. I reckon Steele was our best player, Parker was best in the first half, Long was also good early. McKenzie, Battle, Wilkie and Joyce were great. Newnes and Bruce impressed me

Not really. And I laugh at "experts" opinions on where teams will finish. Nobody can accurately predict that. If the Suns win 10 games will this be considered a good win? Impossible to know. Just enjoy the win. I'd happily win by 1 point every single week, I don't care.
And if the suns don't win a game for the year and get belted by the opposition week on week, will it still be considered a good win? Predicting the future is hard, but I daresay that a bottom 2 placing for them is more likely than them winning 10.

Predicting the future is definitely hard. So why be negative now. Enjoy the win mate! It's good to be on the right end of things once in a while!

OK I get it that there was no " WOW we looked awesome" moments. And we have A LOT TO IMPROVE.
But we are a 'meh' range club at the moment and we beat another " meh" club.
Surely there has to be SOME enjoyment out of a win.
???

OK I get it that there was no " WOW we looked awesome" moments. And we have A LOT TO IMPROVE.
???
You don't think the win has tempered the reaction somewhat?

Predicting the future is definitely hard. So why be negative now. Enjoy the win mate! It's good to be on the right end of things once in a while!
Because we won't be winning games of footy against other opposition playing like that. We can enjoy this week, and the 4 points are great, but it is imperative to have a wider focus.

Me thinks there's a few people fishing for free shit from the club.

I wouldn't mind a free win from them.

Rather than consistently having to clench buttocks and pray to deities.

Because we won't be winning games of footy against other opposition playing like that. We can enjoy this week, and the 4 points are great, but it is imperative to have a wider focus.
It's Round 1. Look at how WCE played against Brisbane or Collingwood vs Geelong. Round 1 is a toss up, anyone can win. I am more interested in how we are going mid season.

I'm going to buck the trend here. I thought Gold Coast were great - and I think they will challenge a number of clubs this year. I also thought we were great, although our best footy was only really on display in that second quarter. We will learn a lot from this match, including that we still have a way to go to reach our full fitness level. We have a weakness in the ruck and we need to address that. Our makeshift defence was quite good. Our forward line is good. I reckon Steele was our best player, Parker was best in the first half, Long was also good early. McKenzie, Battle, Wilkie and Joyce were great. Newnes and Bruce impressed me

Steele’s game was a bit weird. It seems like he didn’t really have the hunger/wasn’t working very hard but still managed to bob up with heaps of tackles, respectable CPs and an important goal. Still lacked the impact Ross and Steven. Dunstan won the ball in more dangerous positions but he just can’t kick the football. At this point needs to just throw himself around because that’s when he has big moments.

I think the first half showed how we want to play. If we can do that for four quarters, we'll do well.

(Ignoring GC's burst of goals in the first quarter. I thought that was partly luck, partly due to our defence being disorganised, which wasn't surprising due to the guys down there.)

The problem being, of course, that in the second half we reverted right back to where we were last year. Whether that's because of a lack of on-field leadership, or poor coaching, or players without composure - not sure. But it needs to be fixed fast.

I understand what you are saying George but its about time WE as Collective started expecting more from our team/club. But for that accepting mediocrity, something that has cruelled us for our entire history.

If the club wants to set any reasonable standards and improve on field. There is no way anyone involved with the club should be satisfied with that win at this time of year. I know the players have had a bit to deal with, but if I was the coach I would give the team an absolute pasting after a half hearted effort like that.

Again it was left to same players to step up and lead the way - not good enough.

Remind them that a first gamer showed them up for their efforts and how they were extremely lucky to win. It should be a real line in the sand moment.

I reckon if we looked at the archive from 2018 we'd see exactly the same comment.
It's better to win than lose. Some people want us to win and win well. Well the fact of the matter is that we are an average side, any any win is a good win for us. Just can't please some people I guess.

I understand what you are saying George but its about time WE as Collective started expecting more from our team/club. But for that accepting mediocrity, something that has cruelled us for our entire history.

If the club wants to set any reasonable standards and improve on field. There is no way anyone involved with the club should be satisfied with that win at this time of year. I know the players have had a bit to deal with, but if I was the coach I would give the team an absolute pasting after a half hearted effort like that.

Again it was left to same players to step up and lead the way - not good enough.

Remind them that a first gamer showed them up for their efforts and how they were extremely lucky to win. It should be a real line in the sand moment.
We won right?

???

i think we had some wow moments, i think we saw better ball use and structure. but we had have some pretty poor moments and looked pretty tired by the end

I think we got a few things very wrong today.

Selection was terrible. Acres Marshall both in next week for me. But Marshall comes in and works in tandem with Pierce.

I thought after half time we got the mix wrong of slow and quick ball movement. This should iron out in the next few weeks
I reckon there a disconnect with some older heads reverting to old habits.

As you say it will get ironed out.

I'm just happy to get a win to fair. Doesn't happen very often.

Parker was great. So refreshing to see a player play for us with such instinct and flair.
Steele Billings Newnes were all good through the middle. Even though Pierce didn't mark a ball I thought that he competed well at stoppages and really helped us wrestle back the clearance difference over the day.
Joyce battled hard down back when completed undermanned against 2mtr Peter.

Dunstan Wilkie Savage all to go and replace them with Clark Acres and Brown. Gives us a much more balanced side both down back and in the middle.

Yep good to win, but might be the least excited I've ever been to win a game by 1 point.

Got to wonder where we're going and how bloody long it's going to take to get there.

But then again who knows, maybe Gold Coast are better than we think, like North last year. Probably not, but maybe this was their GF.

We'll know soon enough.

I'm very unimpressed. It was pretty shit. I'm not sure I can take another year of crap and I think we're on track to do just that unfortunately