Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Lonie was bloody good. I think some people get a player in the gun so look for so called weaknesses. Dunstan could be in trouble. The only changes that could happen are brown for Joyce or Wilkie. Rather keep them but I think brown plays. Clark for dunstan. Happy with that one. Acres for Kent or maybe Mckenzie and change the backline a bit. Not sure about that one. Marshall for pierce. Would do that in a heartbeat
I like the cut of your jib

I really liked his game. (Taking into account at the ground I was sometimes confusing him and Battle for each other.)

I thought in an undermanned backline he showed great composure, didn't get beaten one on one much at all, and was good with the footy.
Think we'll just have to agree to disagree on this one.

He clearly got beaten on a few important one on one's that resulted in goals. His direct opponent kicked 3 goals on one leg and then he gave another away in a one on one dual late in the game (possibly Powell?)

Think we'll just have to agree to disagree on this one.

He clearly got beaten on a few important one on one's that resulted in goals. His direct opponent kicked 3 goals on one leg and then he gave another away in a one on one dual late in the game (possibly Powell?)
And 3 of those goals came in the last quarter. Up until then DMac was very solid.

I think Marshall for Pierce will happen. Richo admitted in his presser that Pierce got the nod due to Witts's size and ruck dominance in the pre season.

One of Wilkie or Mckenzie should come out for Brown. Play Joyce at centre half back. Use Battle as the third tall. If we keep Wilkie in we have the option of using him as the third tall and pushing Battle forward when Bruce rucks.

Acres to come straight back in possibly for Dunstan.

I'd also like Clark in which may mean we need drop a small forward. Lonie and Parker are safe after yesterday. Kent was average but did some good things in Big moments. Long was really good early but didn't do a lot after that and made some bad decisions.

Some selection head aches for sure.

I'm stunned how well Joyce did. I watched him a lot at Sandy and he has improved so much I tip my hat to ratten? Development coach.

If billings ever finds out he has two legs he will be elite imo.
Richo has developed him. Pet project. Great developer of talent is Richo. Get Parish over and he will develop him into a gun Hanners type inside mid.

Still reckon the only alternative for Dunstan is Armo. We don't have any other mids who can do his job.
Clark is young and learning outside, Coff is a HBF'er, Acres is a space cadet who couldnt do the clearance work.

He was frustrated and bounced the ball into the crowd. Time wasting I feel.

The umpires like the players this time of year are all keen to start the season/ year...they too make errors of judgement....too whistle happy....too technical.
Hated the way they did it but the umpiring will settle down like our disposal. .which at times was horrendous.

On Pixel 2 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

I agree but why in 2 games have we had half the free kicks of our opposition despite controlling a lot of he play and not being overly rough or zealous?

Lonie was bloody good. I think some people get a player in the gun so look for so called weaknesses. Dunstan could be in trouble. The only changes that could happen are brown for Joyce or Wilkie. Rather keep them but I think brown plays. Clark for dunstan. Happy with that one. Acres for Kent or maybe Mckenzie and change the backline a bit. Not sure about that one. Marshall for pierce. Would do that in a heartbeat

First half Lonie was nearly our best player...well besides Parker, he was playing further from goal and was a real link up player.

Can somebody explain our midfield? Ross’s contested to uncontested is not good enough aswell as having people like Sinclair Billings even Parker in there? Gresham had a stinker in there and am still bewildered how Clark couldn’t get a gig in our midfield. Need some pure contested beasts and ours aren’t great Steele an exception
Yep, it was all about midfield yesterday for me (incl ruck). We look very poor there on contested and spread.

Lonie actually looked like he belonged
Parker obviously
Long looked great. Was pretty unlucky with that reversal.
4 points
Should be a better team next week with Hunter, Acres, Marshall and Brown returning.
The gameplan is pretty exciting
Gresh spending more time in the middle
Billings starting to play footy like a man
Newnes is back
No Gilbert
Wilke
We get to beat Ess next week

Agree mate enough is enough .

Umpire 14 should be made to sit thru video at Clubs invitation explaining his 18 decisions to Gold Coast.

Bet he won’t embarrassing display.

Umpire 14’s bank account & phone records should be checked too.

Reckon he might have a few colourful racing identities to face last night.

Can somebody explain our midfield? Ross’s contested to uncontested is not good enough aswell as having people like Sinclair Billings even Parker in there? Gresham had a stinker in there and am still bewildered how Clark couldn’t get a gig in our midfield. Need some pure contested beasts and ours aren’t great Steele an exception

Gresh wasn't great but he played a great 3rd quarter. Won some fantastic contested balls in close firing out handballs and setting up shots at goal.
That quarter was the best I've yet seen him as a mid- if he can maintain that level across a game he could be the dynamic contested pig we need

It would be more of a positive if we beat GWS by a point in line with the thread title.
Is this thread a 2nd autopsy thread? Needed?

The second quarter was electric. Whatever was said pre-match and half-time didn't work. Yeah Dunstan has to make way. I've rated Pierce over Longer for a while, but I think we should just go with Marshall. Pierce really didn't have the tank today. I like McKenzie and he's getting better, but beaten a few times today so probably makes way too.

Marshall, Clark and Acres in. I don't think Brown is entitled to a spot unless he played well at Sandy? All our big backs did enough to stay in. I don't give a flying F how they train on the track during the week when it always seems the selection committee forget how they've played the previous week.

A few of us commented yesterday that the amount the Pierce was giving is around the ground was on a par with Billy’s worst game ever.

Got pasted in the middle & was a non entity elsewhere. Marshall has to come in.