Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

First half Lonie was nearly our best player...well besides Parker, he was playing further from goal and was a real link up player.

Agree Lonie was solid, but he does have an annoying tendency to bite off more than he can chew in leading up to the ball carrier and demanding a mark. Unless the kick is absolutely pinpoint, he almost always spills it and causes a turnover.

4 points. Huge positive. Essendon struggling and we can probably play a better team next week with a couple of changes

Indeed. Win a game by one point or by a hundred and it's the same four points on the ladder. We'd all take a one point win every week - it would make for great viewing anyway!

Fittest team in the comp? Ouch
The only good thing for the Saints in their game against the Suns on Sunday was the final siren. When it sounded, they happened to be one point up.

St Kilda football operations boss Simon Lethlean said recently: "I don't think any club will know what they will get against Saints at Marvel. We're the fittest team in the comp, in our view and we will run teams off their legs."

If that's the best the "fittest team in the comp" can do against the battling Suns, then it's going to be an even longer season than we already know it will be.

Damien Barrett is the biggest flog I’ve ever witnessed.

St Kilda and proud.

I take a lot of positivity from a one point win. I was a bit worried our young and inexperienced team would panic and fold but they showed a lot to hold on.
Yes there’s plenty of tweaking to be done, the feed into the fwd line at times was too easily intercepted.
I think the Goldie was way better than expected and we’ll take a lot out of that win.

**** the umps.
AFL conspiracy trying to help their plastic team to a win against us battlers.

Also **** the medallion club!
Got free tickets to sit in the cushy seats with the best view in the house, pompous caviar eating, pen pushing bastards wouldn't let me and my brother in with thongs on.
This is Australia mate and it was at least 23°, that's bloody thong weather.
I was glad to go sit with the regular salt of the earth people instead.
**** off corporate scum!

His first half was good. His second half was shocking.

Was out muscled by a guy on one leg kicked 3 goals in him, them gave away a poor free kick in the dying stages to give up another goal. Finally did something good with a terrific tackle only to turn the ball over in our back half.

I'm not sure how anyone could think he was good.
So fragile under pressure. Cant handle the heat. Wilkie much more composed under pressure.

Just like to point out ( if it hasn't already ) Matty Parker had 20 pressure acts, the highest of any Saints player and only second to Miller, who was outstanding for them all day. The complete standout for mine. Showed a lot of senior players how its done and what it takes.
Young offers the same output. Hes a menace.

A few of us commented yesterday that the amount the Pierce was giving is around the ground was on a par with Billy’s worst game ever.

Got pasted in the middle & was a non entity elsewhere. Marshall has to come in.

Comes back to selection , Pierce got thrown under bus had to have Marshall in team , with Lewis coming
off bench shifting Marshall forward for a rest .
As MG alluded to post selection , where’s the midfield Clark had to play , Marshall had to play , whilst
Gresham got a few clearances , prefer him forward .
Can’t play Lonie , Long , Kent , Parker , Gresham, Membrey with no tall support to bring the ball to ground.
in the same team totally unbalanced
Happy we won only because the negative would have killed us financially this year.

**** the umps.
AFL conspiracy trying to help their plastic team to a win against us battlers.

Also **** the medallion club!
Got free tickets to sit in the cushy seats with the best view in the house, pompous caviar eating, pen pushing bastards wouldn't let me and my brother in with thongs on.
This is Australia mate and it was at least 23°, that's bloody thong weather.
I was glad to go sit with the regular salt of the earth people instead.
**** off corporate scum!
I got tickets as well. I looked up the dress code. Nothing wrong with a little standard.

Can you do that at the ground live?

Yeah we did that live yesterday at the ground, was even able to watch it through the Marvel Stadium wi-fi which was a surprise (maybe they have upgraded it ) but to be honest we were on at least a network delay, seemed 30 secs I reckon, and thus pretty disjointed.

Thank gawd we got over the line. Noticeable things for me were: lack of strong contested marking options around the half forward area and around the ground- Marshall needs to be in the team, and I think Battle will need to play CHF. Midfield slow and no break away runners except for Steven, but he might be used in the forward half more often- again, the midfield will be our weak point against better teams. Gresh hasn't got the tank for midfield, but can be rotated in and out. Bit disappointed generally with the lack of run and spread, and average stoppage work. Lonie did some good things, but he hasn't got the speed to break tackles and should just move the ball on quicker.

Nice debut for Parker, and I think Kent will be a good contributor with his smarts around goals. Joyce and Wilke were impressive.

I'm not as keen to throw Battle forward as others. I thought he was fairly impressive yesterday and will only get better with Brown coming in so he can pick off a few more balls coming in.

I don't mind the idea of throwing him forward every now and then, when Bruce rucks, but I'd like to see how he goes down back for a while.

Even if Paddy is done we do have big Macy waiting in the wings so it's be nice to see if Battle can make an impact as the third tall defender.

Comes back to selection , Pierce got thrown under bus had to have Marshall in team , with Lewis coming
off bench shifting Marshall forward for a rest .
As MG alluded to post selection , where’s the midfield Clark had to play , Marshall had to play , whilst
Gresham got a few clearances , prefer him forward .
Can’t play Lonie , Long , Kent , Parker , Gresham Membrey with no tall support to bring the ball to ground.
in the same team totally unbalanced
Happy we won only because the negative would have killed us financially this year.
The point you can play with tall support. Just out of interest who shouldn’t have played out of all them? And I bet you and others called for gresh to be put in the middle more. Now it’s not on. Marshall had to platt but as the ruckman. No idea his pierce is effected to the positive having Marshall play. Didn’t witts also ruck on his own. We will make a couple of changes this week but they will be the wrong ones after the game next week because hindsight is easy

"Bruce galloping into open goal before noticeably composing himself and carefully placing his kick between the posts (hilarious!)"
Fittest team in the comp? Ouch
The only good thing for the Saints in their game against the Suns on Sunday was the final siren. When it sounded, they happened to be one point up.

St Kilda football operations boss Simon Lethlean said recently: "I don't think any club will know what they will get against Saints at Marvel. We're the fittest team in the comp, in our view and we will run teams off their legs."

If that's the best the "fittest team in the comp" can do against the battling Suns, then it's going to be an even longer season than we already know it will be.

Damien Barrett is the biggest flog I’ve ever witnessed.

St Kilda and proud.
Yep especially as he gave Naughton (19 games) the biggest rap ever but failed to notice an electrifying first gamer spark up our game.

Just on Parker - In a way I'm pleased that his attempted checkside goal attempt on the run missed by a large margin - good lesson about taking chances - but jeez its great to see someone play with such exuberance.

Seriously think he would have done a Sam Kerr backflip if it had went through.

I am not even sure Joyce is playing in the right position, he is a great kick, could be far more versatile with time
Yep.
Big call, but I can see a bit of Rance about him.
DID NOT THINK THAT last year.
I thought he was pretty much a waste of space.
But his improvement can only be described as remarkable, and I can now understand why he got the nod ahead of Goddard.