Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Yeh I think he gets a game next week, just hope we have someone come through who forces him out of the side, as Ive said a couple times in last couples days on here, we are a bottom 4 side, so you can back a player like lonie or whatever all you like, but simple fact is he shouldn't be in the side if we want to be playing finals anytime soon, along with a few others I know.
I know people are getting a bit over the negative comments on here etc but its just simple fact, we aint good enough so that is why people are getting frustrated. Boy did Richo's smirk on coverage at end of game irk me, congrats, you just beat a glorified VFL side by a point on your home deck!
Maybe Richo was thinking about the 3 debutants getting a win first up. Maybe he was thinking about Battle/Joyce getting through their key position duties pretty well despite a whole lot of doubt about how they'd go. Maybe he was thinking about how a first up win will benefit Jack Steven coming back from his issues.
Hypothetically, if he was thinking about those things - would it still irk you that he cracked a smile?

winning ugly is better than losing pretty.
Positives for me:
Parker - got me excited every time he went near it. He just has something and if he can put it all together in a game he is going to be a serious player. His best moment was the 3-4 efforts he put in deep in our forward line that resulted in the ball spilling over the line. Richo needs to put this on replay this week for the whole team.
Newnes - thought he was pretty good all day
Bruce - really happy with his game and the mark at end....impressive
Dunstan - although I’d drop him for acres this week that last contest was huge.
lonie - he try’s so hard. If he could improve his body strength or add something to his game such as Poppy’s hanger ability then we’d have a great little player.
Wilkie - thought he was pretty impressive on debut. Took some nice intercepts and uses the ball so well. Will be a nice player once he gets to 50 games
Webster - strong in the contest. Love him

Negatives - our backline battled hard all day but given we had 3 of them with about 12 games between them we were always going to be up against it.
Telecast - gave me a headache watching it and half the time couldn’t even see. Just shut the roof
Umpires - shocking. That Long reversal was an embarrassment. But for f*** sake if we have a shot on goal walk away. The look on stuvs face when he lost it
4 shots on goal went on the full. Very nearly could’ve cost us the game

Few things to work on:
We need a permanent player inside 50. We looked good going forward when we had a player leading up at the footy. But too often we pushed numbers up the ground, then on the counter had to run back and they just picked us off.
The long bomb doesn’t work. I’d rather see them trying to hit a player on a lead than take the “safe” long option. We do this because we’re scared on the counter attack
Need to devise a strategy when we are defending a kick in. They ran it out far too easily and even went coast to coast.
I think we really got the team selection wrong. We’ll be better for the run and need time for the new guys to gel

Changes:
Acres for Dunstan.
Clark for savage.
Brown for Joyce. Thought he was ok for a bloke with only 3 games but 6 frees against
I think Marshall offers more than pierce but give him 2-3 games and let him develop
I've got a feeling, and I could be proven wrong as early as this week, but I've got a feeling that people who are waiting for Savage to get dropped could be in for a long season. I think he might be a bit of a key figure in our ball movement plans for the year - especially with the new kick-in rules.

Parkers second and third efforts all day were outstanding, he hunts players down, he's predatorily. He's my new favourite player already. The pressure he was under to perform was huge yesterday and to recover fro his first snap at goal and just focus on the task was excellent.
He's pretty much a more quicker, more versatile and naturally gifted footballer version of Cyril.

I'm enjoying this thread. I want to enjoy the win. The lack of concentration in the last quarter is understandable. It was very hot at the ground, even in the shade.
Newnes played really well. A couple of Ross's centre clearances were great. Ben Long was good. I like his aggression and hope he keeps it up. We need to be more unsociable and he is good at it.
Go Saints.
Reported.

A picture is worth a thousand words

55487978_1521701394631300_9010369932742885376_o.jpg
Don't think I'd be messing with Parker. Especially wouldn't be messing with him with Ben Long lurking nearby.
How lean is Matty P? He's gotta be part greyhound or something.

Good to get the chocolates.

Brown will be straight in to shore up the defense, we were far too easy to score against.

Happy with JB's game, a particular moment in the 2nd quarter (I think) HF scuffle involving Parker, which JB got involved in with a little jumper grabbing, pushing etc. Not normally his go, but shows he wants to look after his teammates and he is getting a (ever so slight) bit of mongrel. Thumbs up.

Injectors this week - ****ing hate those pricks, would love nothing more than the 4 points to add more fuel on the fire.

Good to get the chocolates.

Brown will be straight in to shore up the defense, we were far too easy to score against.

Happy with JB's game, a particular moment in the 2nd quarter (I think) HF scuffle involving Parker, which JB got involved in with a little jumper grabbing, pushing etc. Not normally his go, but shows he wants to look after his teammates and he is getting a (ever so slight) bit of mongrel. Thumbs up.

Injectors this week - ******* hate those pricks, would love nothing more than the 4 points to add more fuel on the fire.
I'd settle for a draw and hope they miss the finals by 2 points. Even better if an umpiring howler gifted Benny Long the equalising goal in the final minute.

Radio commentators kept going on about GC being a young team.
Don't see much difference quite frankly.

To be fair, Andy Maher was pretty scathing about some of the umpiring decisions.

It would be more of a positive if we beat GWS by a point in line with the thread title.
Is this thread a 2nd autopsy thread? Needed?
yes its needed,m beucase all i can see in the autopsy thread is is problems, issues and negatives , and i would like to see some positives each round.

Maybe Richo was thinking about the 3 debutants getting a win first up. Maybe he was thinking about Battle/Joyce getting through their key position duties pretty well despite a whole lot of doubt about how they'd go. Maybe he was thinking about how a first up win will benefit Jack Steven coming back from his issues.
Hypothetically, if he was thinking about those things - would it still irk you that he cracked a smile?

He very well could have been, although I think those types of thoughts would have come after some time to reflect on the game, for example in his press conference Richo himself said he was surprised with the gusto the song was sung by the boys after the game.
I feel the smirk was a response to us pulling a Homer and falling over the line for the W and giving him another week in the head coach role TBH. again just my opinion, and a probably wrong one at that!

By the way, turning to positives (as even I know I have posted pretty much nothing but negatives in the last couple days!) Stuv's game was absolutely inspiring for a bloke who has been away from the club with mental health issues, he was in everything that he could be in in that last quarter and was a big part of us getting over the line in the end.

Also battle/joyce were good I thought, they both made mistakes and got beat at times but for a couple of basically first gamers in those positions I think they were bettera than expected to be. I hope we persist with them

He's pretty much a more quicker, more versatile and naturally gifted footballer version of Cyril.

I don't like to go early but he might be the second coming of Jesus.

I think some context needs to go with the criticism of Joyce’s Frees Against count. He was giving away 10cm and 15kg on Wright, in his 3rd game, and only 2 years after picking up this sport.

Whenever he had the ball in hand, he did a very good job with many pinpoint passes, and would have had a much better looking game, overall, if he were more evenly matched on a physical basis.

Don't think I'd be messing with Parker. Especially wouldn't be messing with him with Ben Long lurking nearby.
How lean is Matty P? He's gotta be part greyhound or something.

Long was going in to protect Parker when the GC came at him, they thought they could rough him up a bit but then realised there was two of them very happy to go on with it. Pretty sure they called the reversed free kick because there were a few spot fires those two were in the middle of. Funny the ones who started the trouble got rewarded. Long looks like some little Bon Scott era punchy bloke with his mullet, we have the predator and the street fighter. They'll scare some defenders.

On a positive note, how long has it been since we've had a debutant have as much impact on a game as Parker?

Been a while I reckon.

Paint.png

Long was going in to protect Parker when the GC came at him, they thought they could rough him up a bit but then realised there was two of them very happy to go on with it. Pretty sure they called the reversed free kick because there were a few spot fires those two were in the middle of. Funny the ones who started the trouble got rewarded. Long looks like some little Bon Scott era punchy bloke with his mullet, we have the predator and the street fighter. They'll scare some defenders.
Yeah, they're not big but those guys will Andrew Gaff you. And mean it.

I'm good as gold today "Pardon me".

That flat feeling was a combo of:

1-Our long and chaotic trip to the ground......all plans went out of the window due to the as it turned out,Greek Festival near the shrine....traffic was horrendous....thousands and thousands of people in the park near the Shrine.....meaning no parking avail in the back streets off St.Kilda road.

We normally walk to Marvel from some of the groups place in Southbank.....I parked under their place and we went in the car of one of the others...….the clock was ticking.....took ages to get to our old parking spot next to the Holden dealership next to the Westgate Freeway.

The traffic was semi gridlock everywhere.

Got to the game 5 mins in...

2-The heat was a little energy sapping.....the east side terraces get quite warm in the afternoon.

3-That nail biting last 1/4 was the "nail in the coffin"........I was absolutely spent.....as was most of our group.

A good nights sleep and I'm "back in town"
Yeah the traffic issue was insane yesterday. Bloody good to hear you’re ok mate

Yeah, they're not big but those guys will Andrew Gaff you. And mean it.

Long was still unable to play when we drafted him because he got a bit excited in the VFL finals I think. He's definitely not someone to take a backward step.

Yeah the traffic issue was insane yesterday. Bloody good to hear you’re ok mate

We drove down Kings way into the carpark that is just in that corner of Flinders and Spencer on the stadium side of the river. No traffic and heaps of parking. $15 all day. You literally drive down kings way left at flinders and left again into the car park, we must have lucked it. I was going to go to the Spencer street car park but Spencer street looked busy.

I've got a feeling, and I could be proven wrong as early as this week, but I've got a feeling that people who are waiting for Savage to get dropped could be in for a long season. I think he might be a bit of a key figure in our ball movement plans for the year - especially with the new kick-in rules.
Christ, I hope not. Every time he kicked long & every time it came back out (unless I missed one). He's either operating under instructions to just kick long regardless of the contest or he doesn't know how to do anything else.

Long was still unable to play when we drafted him because he got a bit excited in the VFL finals I think. He's definitely not someone to take a backward step.

At least one of those frees against Long was ridiculous. Umpire pulled it straight out of his hat.

aPaint.png

Darragh Joyce played really well. 12 Intercept possessions (equal highest in the ground along with Ballard from GC). Was composed and won a couple of crucial 1 on 1’s. Gave away a couple of free kicks, but he’ll iron those out as he plays more.

Matty Parker is the spark and energy we’ve desperately needed for a few years now. Hunts the opposition too which is great for our forward pressure.

Josh Bruce was sorely missed last year. Provides a great target and straightens is up a bit. Need Marshall in the team so he doesn’t have to Ruck. We’d benefit a lot more if we keep him deeper in the forward line for longer.

I thought D-MAC played well. Defended well and provided some good rebound. Only negative was his last 10min where he defended poorly against Swallow and Powell.

Wilkie was really composed and took a couple of crucial intercept marks late! Could be a good replacement for Robbo.

Lastly I thought our style of play was much better than last year, even tho at times we went back into old habits I think we’ll get better as the year goes on. And if we didn’t get slaughtered in centre clearances and Free kicks we would’ve won by at least another 3 or 4 goals.

Looking forward to next week.