TAS Tassie... happening?

Sorry, you lost me with nothing about Launceston or Hobart. What you meant got no idea.

Initiall split the games between two grounds. Tell the folks the best supported stadium gets an upgrade to 35plus k

Use the competition to get bums on seats (not that you need to)

^
Yeh nah. Suns not going anywhere

If the team continues to struggle and crowds stay the same for the next 5 years (which I gave as my condition for the Suns to be disbanded) how much longer do you think the AFL would persist with it? They would be coming up to 15 years of their existence.
I was one of those that supported the expansion (though had thought it should've been relocation, rather than 2 brand new teams) - but there has to be a point where it gets seriously reviewed. (GWS has at least doubled it's membership numbers, though the crowds have yet to increase - but I reckon they have a better chance because of the demographics of their area). I wish GC do become a success, because the more succesful non-victorian teams the better - but they don't have a great track record in national comps. (Mind you, Tassie are not much better, but they have a strong AFL base in the state, and if their cricket team has been pretty good, I don't see why footy won't have a similar chance)

If the team continues to struggle and crowds stay the same for the next 5 years (which I gave as my condition for the Suns to be disbanded) how much longer do you think the AFL would persist with it? They would be coming up to 15 years of their existence.
I was one of those that supported the expansion (though had thought it should've been relocation, rather than 2 brand new teams) - but there has to be a point where it gets seriously reviewed. (GWS has at least doubled it's membership numbers, though the crowds have yet to increase - but I reckon they have a better chance because of the demographics of their area). I wish GC do become a success, because the more succesful non-victorian teams the better - but they don't have a great track record in national comps. (Mind you, Tassie are not much better, but they have a strong AFL base in the state, and if their cricket team has been pretty good, I don't see why footy won't have a similar chance)

The AFL don't abandon teams. Ever.

In the 123 year history of the AFL, there has been one team fold, one team absorbed, and one team relocated. All from Melbourne.

So the answer to your question is that they will persist forever. Give it up. It's never gonna happen.

Lol, hate to break it to you but "hunting and fishing" is about at the bottom of the to do list for 99.9% of 18 year old draftees.
Depends what they are hunting or fishing

I would rather watch my team play a contender (preferably top 4) over freo ANY DAY of the week.
I'm honestly sick of playing the Swans and I think it's mutual. A practice match, JLT and then two H/A games. Then we keep getting them in finals, even the inevitability if the game being in Sydney doesn't really compensate.

Seriously can people stop suggesting Gold Coast and North for relocation... it’s not going to happen.

I’ve been watching Hawthorn play games in Launceston for years and will continue to go and watch them play against a Tasmania team in the future. People are kidding themselves if they think Vic supporters won’t travel to watch there club play down in Tas, it’s a quick cheap flight and a great place to watch the footy and have a weekend getaway.

You also need to consider how well GCS AFL women team perform in 2020 . Big if the women perform better than the male team are you going to tell the women team that they change from GCS to Tasmania .

Seriously can people stop suggesting Gold Coast and North for relocation... it’s not going to happen.

Or in other words

2wye46.jpg

The question then becomes who gets team 20?
A WA team is most likely, SA is unlikely to get a third licence, only team that could possibly transition would be norwood, with the added bonus of taking a few slog of crows supporters

On SM-G900I using BigFooty.com mobile app

If thr AFL made a choice to no longer financially support the GC it would mean it would be insolvent rather quickly. So if they choose to relocate/fold GC it could happen .
This article is from the start of last year where they kicked in a lazy 25M.

The AFL could spin it to make it look like the club just failed and not them pulling the pin on them.

https://www.afr.com/business/sport/...th-25m-after-sponsorship-woes-20180201-h0s15t

If thr AFL made a choice to no longer financially support the GC it would mean it would be insolvent rather quickly. So if they choose to relocate/fold GC it could happen .
This article is from the start of last year where they kicked in a lazy 25M.

The AFL could spin it to make it look like the club just failed and not them pulling the pin on them.

https://www.afr.com/business/sport/...th-25m-after-sponsorship-woes-20180201-h0s15t

You could say the same about a number of Melbourne based clubs....

Imagine how bad St Kilda, North Melbourne's, Western Bulldogs or even Melbourne's crowds would be if they were as bad as Gold Coast for as long as Gold Coast, especially if they did not have the benefit of having a lot of opposition fans turn up like struggling Melbourne clubs get, which Gold Coast wouldn't.

Melbourne were pretty woeful for a long stretch, much worse then the Gold Coast to be fair...

They were bad, but they were always propped up by other Melbourne based clubs. In their bad years when they were playing non-Victorian clubs in Victoria they were getting crowds in the low to mid teens.

A couple of points from a born and bred Tasmanian:

1. We would need a major stadium upgrade for capacity. Hobart makes the most sense being the capital and where the team would be based. Still play games in Launceston.
2. There are plenty of people here who are not members of any team but love footy. I'd buy a Tassie membership on day one and support both the Dees (non member) and Tassie. There is no rule that you have to change support for your traditional team.
3. North / South divide is a load of crap. It's mainly the basis for harmless ribbing and we are mature enough to share games whilst acknowledging it makes the most sense to be based in Hobart where the population and infrastructure is.
4. I will not support a relocated team. Tasmania Kangaroos yuck! I think a lot of people here would think the same.
5. Player retention won't be an issue any more than it is for Victorians living in other states. Yes it is cold here but players can go wherever they want to during the off-season.

The Tassie cricket side plays out of Hobart. I presume cricket folks from Launceston still support Tasmania in the Shield.

So I don't reckon the location of the footy team's main base will be a major stumbling block.
You obviously don't know the extent of this issue .....ok the population of Tasmania is split pretty evenly Half in the North and half in the south...people in the north including the NW coast will not travel to hobart to watch footy ....and those in the south won't travel north ....Tassie once had a VFL side called the Devils ..which fell into decline because it was based solely in Hobart. As it stands now Tassie doesn't have the population, the money of the facilities to sustain an AFL stand alone side.

A couple of points from a born and bred Tasmanian:

1. We would need a major stadium upgrade for capacity. Hobart makes the most sense being the capital and where the team would be based. Still play games in Launceston.
2. There are plenty of people here who are not members of any team but love footy. I'd buy a Tassie membership on day one and support both the Dees (non member) and Tassie. There is no rule that you have to change support for your traditional team.
3. North / South divide is a load of crap. It's mainly the basis for harmless ribbing and we are mature enough to share games whilst acknowledging it makes the most sense to be based in Hobart where the population and infrastructure is.
4. I will not support a relocated team. Tasmania Kangaroos yuck! I think a lot of people here would think the same.
5. Player retention won't be an issue any more than it is for Victorians living in other states. Yes it is cold here but players can go wherever they want to during the off-season.
See this is one of the main reasons it can't work ...you decide the team must be based in Hobart ...such arrogance has been the downfall of many a statewide debate...one should note that a Northern side has won the state league competion 4 of the last 5 years.[/QUOTE]