Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 10

• Thread starter Thread starter MrMeaner

A Richmond Tigers fan has been whacked with a two-year ban for making racist comments online that targeted West Coast star Liam Ryan.
The Richmond member responsible for the abuse will be required to undergo an indigenous cultural awareness and education program before their membership is reinstated in March 2021.
Hosch said that where the AFL could take action over such abuse, it would while also taking a swipe at cowardly keyboard warriors.
“However, we also know that social media platforms invite commentary and feedback, and the anonymous nature of the commentary allows for the worst aspects of the community to get a voice.
https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/r...m/news-story/ef7ac05851364ccfeff013df578eb7e5

The trouble is, some of these idiots don't realize they can be tracked and identified.

Rozee butters Duursma drew Farrell and Marshall are all eligible for us.

I’m thinking we could have 4/5 noms this year.

Anyone know what the record is for team rising star noms in 1 season?
I recall us having 4 IIRC in the late 90's. Waa exciting at the time. But rising star noms are there for fans of shite teams to cling on to...'look, 'we're building!'

Only Adam Cooney's view rather than stats based, but 3 out of 3 for our first year players:

D2jJDnPU8AEnIoE.jpg:large

Grave Danger Ishikawa and others if you didn't watch the 2nd episode of Nyoongar Footy Magic on Sunday night on NITV - yeah I forgot - it's available on SBS on Demand below.

Have to remember to watch NITV on Sunday at 7.30pm as its the Krakouer Brothers episode.

https://www.sbs.com.au/ondemand/video/1240285763807/nyoongar-footy-magic-barry-cable

Couple of things from the program. First the accident with the tractor, I knew it was bad and it took several years to recover from, but the picture of a black bone with all the calf muscle and skin worn away was gruesome and after all these years tells me how tough it really was for him that i didnt understand at the time. The doctors wanted to cut his leg off.

The other was Ernie Dingo said he had won 23 individual awards. If it includes premiership medals than these are the 23 thanks to his wiki page. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barry_Cable

Club
Representative

GremioPower he was the 2nd player I mentioned in that list of great WA Aboriginal players in that Gavin Wanganeen thread.

One of the things that amazed me about Cable was how long a kick he was for such a small player. Sure you admire the speed and the skills but a 168cm player who had no problems kicking the ball 50m and usually it was a great long drop kick and other times it was spear like 30m stab pass.

I saw this video a few years ago Barry showing how to kick a drop kick and he was about 70 and struck them beautifully. Plus his handball trick that the players of today aren't smart enough to try.

Just add a bit more to that Russell,1978 at East Perth was also Captain \Coach

lol the bombers culture must be something else.

Sense of entitlement because they are a 'Big 4' club, filled with a whole bunch of soft types that can only ever turn it on against teams that they perceive are softer than they are (hence why we've struggled with them in the past). Biggest bunch of flat trackers in the league bar none.

From an Essendon supporter: "I'm fully convinced we have the dumbest and most unjustifiably arrogant group of players in the entire league."

I'm expecting to flog the shit out of them this year if the Melbourne game is any indication of how tight our playing group is.

Their club culture has been rooted from top to bottom by the supplements saga. Someone like Merrett is a great example. Drafted in 2013, debuted 2014. The club was in utter turmoil for the first three years of his career, everyone would've been focused on everything but football. Resources would've been scarce, people would've been totally on edge and suspicious of anyone who wasn't part of the Hird cult. Eventually all of that collapsed and now there's nothing left except a bunch of damaged souls and people who don't even know how a proper football club runs. They'll take decades to recover from the supplements saga.

Sense of entitlement because they are a 'Big 4' club, filled with a whole bunch of soft types that can only ever turn it on against teams that they perceive are softer than they are (hence why we've struggled with them in the past). Biggest bunch of flat trackers in the league bar none.

From an Essendon supporter: "I'm fully convinced we have the dumbest and most unjustifiably arrogant group of players in the entire league."

I'm expecting to flog the shit out of them this year if the Melbourne game is any indication of how tight our playing group is.
I'd say the same about their supporters.

This was going on last year, too. My mail is there is one coach, in particular, causing significant problems but he is in Team Burton so untouchable.
At least give us a hint. I'm loving this.

It gives me hope that the Crows 2018 wasn't a one off.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

This was going on last year, too. My mail is there is one coach, in particular, causing significant problems but he is in Team Burton so untouchable.

Looking at their coaching list it could only be Camporeale or Ben Hart. My guess would be Camporeale, although Hart played a lot with Birdbrain.