Analysis Pies tame the Tigers by 44 pts - Rd 2, 2019

Just spoke to my sister, a Pies fan but not a footy fan (it happens). Last game she attended Rene Kink was still playing!

Says sister, showing unusual insight: ‘Watched five minutes of the game last night. We looked to be running freely and all over them. Was the whole game like that?’

Answer: most of it!

I'm not going to read this thread much past this post but I can't fathom anyone saying the umpires worked in our favour. I find the umpiring more and more mind-boggling each week and it's generally not the number of frees but where. I reckon we lost at least 3-4 goals in the first half thanks to key shocker decisions that kept Richmond in the game (when it mattered) and the umps cost the Tiges 2-3 at the end when it really didn't matter.

When you take into account our still iffy kicking and decision making during large parts of the game , our potential (if we improve those areas) is serious.

Great to see Pendles and Beamer all over the place (even though they look a bit slow at times) - that's Pendles' best game I have seen in quite some time.

A nice even performance across the ground. Adams, Sier and WHE to come back in , presumably for Aish ?? and ??

Good luck holding our forward line when we have WHE, Billy, Coxy, Jordy, Stevo rotating through.

Hope the Tiges recover from their few injuries (and gastro) soon.
JT goes alright with a snap too, not to forget checkers - great depth this year.

I've been saying this for years, it's not about the free kick count in isolation. It never tells the full story. Keep in mind, when you posess the ball as much as we did, what free kicks were Richmond expecting to get?

The funny thing is, Richmond STILL got absolutely crucial decisions go their way that kept them in the game:

1) Deplorable free against Mason for what people still don't know for, preventing a goal to Elliott
2) Soft free against Langdon on Lynch for the EXACT same thing Reiwoldt did to Mason only minutes earlier with no penalty, gifting them a goal
3) Giving Edwards the kick for literally no reason when it was Macintosh who tackled Sidebottom. Macinstosh 100% would have missed that
4) Edwards kicking the ball off the ground which should have been in danger to Pendles, Lynch marks and goal

There is literally 3 goals Richmond got that they should never have had and 1 taken away from us that were a direct result of poor umpiring

44 points becomes 68 just like that.

The free kick count alone doesn't tell the full story. The only howler the other way that really stood out was Sidebottoms SUPER obvious scoop/throw that was let go for whatever reason right in front of goal. So I guess that cancels out one of the others.

edit:

The Age sadi the same thing lol

Spot on. We got more Frees but still was Crucfied by the Scumps

Spare a thought for the tiggies who took a pay cut to get Lynch on board because they were in a premiership window.

And the ones they salary sacrifice and got ride of. Now with no depth. Testing times ahead

The soccer kick I50 was about poor positioning. Roughead didn’t take the right shoulder forcing Lynch boundary side. Defensive fundamentals. He lost body contact at ground level for Lynch’s point from 15 out directly in front 5 minutes into the match and there was also one Lynch dished off to Higgins after he lost Roughead in transition. He was definitely stiff with the free kick. A fully fit Lynch is a different story again.

I have concerns over his ability to curtail Kennedy or Darling and Goldsack to Darling with Moore to Kennedy feels a better fit, IMO, due to the added mobility. It won’t happen and I’m not really calling for it, but he’s conceded 6 goals in two weeks and both his opponents had opportunities to kick 5-6. That’s shaky.

FWIW his numbers mean nothing to me because his role is to nullify a KPF and 90% were as a link man on the switch which you or I could do.

Roughead be no worse then who we had at FB and CHB in the GF

I can’t agree with that at all. Given the absolute volume of possession we had last night v the GF there is no way WC gets within 8 goals of us under the same circumstances. We were soundly beaten in the midfield on GF day which allowed WC enough opportunities to just get on top. Despite Richmond’s midfield getting touched up Lynch still had opportunities to kick 5 that I can remember. That’s all I’m getting at here.

In no way am I saying either that Goldsack would have done a better job on Lynch, but what I am saying is that he could be a better fit v Allen/ Waterman/ Kennedy/ Darling than Roughead who was beaten on the lead by both Hawkins and Lynch who aren’t as mobile as those 4. It’s a watch area for me not a clip.

Haha glad they got the win. Still thought it was 3/4 qtrs of so so football and overuse of the ball. Richmond bombed at least 7 shots at goal from turnovers which a more classy side may have made us pay for. Richmond do have about 5 or 6 jarrod Blair types running around. Hardly the quality or depth of mids we have. Was anyone seriously expecting anything less than a 7 goal win? Great 4th qtr though.

I don’t like the gamestyle. I don’t like the coaches philosophy at all. Still give up red time goals consistently. And until that changes, this “take unnecessary risks at all costs” mentality, will continue to be the achilles heal in close games where teams lock us down.

You can yap at me all ya like, end of the day if we ain’t holding the cup at the end of the year, with this playing group, responsibility lies with the coach. He’s already bombed the unlosable GF in 2018 with a nonexistent ability to drill the playing group to stop red time goals. 29 points up in the first qtr and they conceded goals in red time each and every qtr. They leaked red time goals vs Cats and again last night.

Now with Beams added to the 2019 playing group, honestly, anything less than a minor premiership (18-4) and winning the GF by 10 goals is basically under achieving. This playing group is basically Geelong of 2007.

Pure domination of the league in 2019 is the only acceptable outcome to me. Otherwise it’s a “weeeelll it’s a stacked list he’s got to work with, more player talent than actual game plan and strategy that eeked out a 16 point win in the GF”. I mean, seriously, could you imagine what Clarkson could do with this list? Your taking about an undefeated season...
Really. Unfortunately for or any other person there is no games that you cannot lose. Your anti everything Buckley is getting boring and just plain silly now. Last year our list wasn’t good enough, now we are stack with riches, you make me laugh little man

Roughy was good again last night, we've snagged an absolute bargain there. Very similar to the Dunn recruitment funnily enough.

Our backline is our biggest strength now I think and it'll only get better the more time they play together. Outsiders think we get by just on our midfield, but our back 6 are incredibly versatile

Last year it was gastro this year it was the umpiring...….......RFC the gift that keeps on giving.

R.I.P Richmond

Just make it even to read and watch those Ferals have a Fool on Sook over it

Haha glad they got the win. Still thought it was 3/4 qtrs of so so football and overuse of the ball. Richmond bombed at least 7 shots at goal from turnovers which a more classy side may have made us pay for. Richmond do have about 5 or 6 jarrod Blair types running around. Hardly the quality or depth of mids we have. Was anyone seriously expecting anything less than a 7 goal win? Great 4th qtr though.

I don’t like the gamestyle. I don’t like the coaches philosophy at all. Still give up red time goals consistently. And until that changes, this “take unnecessary risks at all costs” mentality, will continue to be the achilles heal in close games where teams lock us down.

You can yap at me all ya like, end of the day if we ain’t holding the cup at the end of the year, with this playing group, responsibility lies with the coach. He’s already bombed the unlosable GF in 2018 with a nonexistent ability to drill the playing group to stop red time goals. 29 points up in the first qtr and they conceded goals in red time each and every qtr. They leaked red time goals vs Cats and again last night.

Now with Beams added to the 2019 playing group, honestly, anything less than a minor premiership (18-4) and winning the GF by 10 goals is basically under achieving. This playing group is basically Geelong of 2007.

Pure domination of the league in 2019 is the only acceptable outcome to me. Otherwise it’s a “weeeelll it’s a stacked list he’s got to work with, more player talent than actual game plan and strategy that eeked out a 16 point win in the GF”. I mean, seriously, could you imagine what Clarkson could do with this list? Your taking about an undefeated season...

Is that really you Mick ? I’m not sure how playing keepings off in the backline is ‘take unnecessary risks at all time’...

You sound like the dad of one of my mates from school who told my mate anything less that 99.9 in his VCE and he was a failure and a disgrace.

My mate now lives in an ashram somewhere in India smoking as much hash as he can get his hands on.

It’s a valid lifestyle choice...

Bad news Trav. After the mods looked at this for an early contender for “nonsensical post of the season” I have come over the top with a big kybosh

Look you have potential here but it was a little bland.

Suggestions

1 Capture us early. “Ha ha they got the win” didn’t cut it for me. Be controversial from the get go. The “they” was a nice touch notwithstanding.

2 Summon a bit of inner real estate agent. “Extravagant, extravagant, extravagant” should be your catch cry if you want real attention. “I don’t like the game style” could become “Figjam has f.......ed our style bacause he is spending too much time between the sheets wooing Tanya as she calls ball each time he tackles the Rhinestone”. As a guide think what will get JMac up and about

3. Think about declaring yourself occasionally , drop a little motive every now and then. That’s the stuff posters lap up. They will clamour with the “l picked this”. You then come over the top with a big denial and expressions of Pie love. They will go apolectic.

4 Do no analysis, just claim a greater knowledge and a higher guiding force. Drop a term like a “Magical Man” when referencing the higher being.

You have talent for mine but you rested on your laurels here. Do better man.

I give you a C-

I'm surprised we only won the center clearances by 2, at times it felt like we were walking the ball out

Hhhhmmm walking being the operative word... good win aside, I’m a little concerned about our lack of pace in the center square. Treloar aside all the others are extractors..

If he keeps playing like he did last night I’ll take back everything I’ve ever said about him.
I could go with the line you weren’t watching hard enough so you could volley back with wellyou had an airy with Shaz

On a serious note the two of them were forming a real synergy last year and I think work well together. Reckon Shaz will bide his time in 2019 given his knee was late July and seeing Dunn last night. If they can get that back and develop as inercept kings we could be singing their praises for a long long time.

Hhhhmmm walking being the operative word... good win aside, I’m a little concerned about our lack of pace in the center square. Treloar aside all the others are extractors..
Pace is an asset OUTSIDE of the melee - inside it's courage, physical power and vision for the outlet.

All aboard the Langdon express. He's becoming a gun.
Save me a seat, I have been a fan of his for a long time.

I don't get the dislike from some posters, maybe he is not the flamboyant type, just gets the job done.

Liar.

Mate we are way ahead of your predictions and expectations last year that was fueled by anti Buckley pessimism.

So you have no credibility coming on here with more inane negativity and vacuous anti Buckley statements.

You have egg on your face after your comments last year - and trying to now attempt to set targets in order to say " I told you so" at the end of the year is transparent.

The virtually all the magpie supporter base on BF said "I TOLD YOU SO" that Buck is a far better coach after our great 2018, than you had so vehemently insisted at the start of that year.
And this vocal condemnation combined with our achievements in 2018 is not enough for you to take a step back and reflect.

Seriously you are a very weird, bitter and deluded cat.

Well have just watched the first half (going to savour the second half) and was watching Varcoe carefully in light of some of the comments. Not only is his running and tackle valuable, but also the little blocks and nudges he makes. I think when we judge a player, need to also take into account what if anything his opponent has done. He seemed to be everywhere in the first quarter and I still don't know who he was against.

He was picking up their loose players all the time.

One thing I watched at the game, he is very good at marshaling players, shows real leadership

I don't think he will be the first to go when WHE, Adams and Sier are available.