Game Day Round 2, 2019: Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs, 3.20pm @ MCG

Know it’s half time in the 2nd game of the season but I think we will find a bit out about the team in the next 2 quarters

Totally outworked by the Dogs in every aspect
Yet we are only 4 points down

Cousins, Morrison ,shiels all under 9 touches, time to step it up boys must help out worpel and omerea.
Some gut running required

The rule is when the umpire "signals"
What constitutes a signal?
Is it waving their arms? Is it the whistle? Is it when they light a bloody flare?

Like everything else in this sport, it's all grey area so the AFL can do as much as possible to manipulate the result for ratings

Agreed. The umpire blows the whistle and Scully preempts the play on call but because the umpire doesn’t get to verbalise it before he encroached it’s then ia fifty? But when a player lines up to kick around the corner on a set shot and the opposition player is on the line set by the umpire they are allowed to charge in when the whistle is blown before the umpire has even started to say play on.

Has the team practiced guarding space and setting up the zone against no opposition this off season? The boys are looking to get where they should be but will literally not have the awareness or lack the urgency to cover their opponents. A lot of jogging to space and hoping their team mate covers their opponent when they pick through our zone.

Also we’re winning the hitouts but getting smacked in the clearances around the field. They are pushing us Around off the ball and sharking our taps or hitting us on first possession. There needs to be some selfless footy in the around the field stoppages. Set some screens off the ball to give someone a clear run at it.

If we force a turn over deep in our defence the boys need to spread forthe cheap easy outlet kick wide. The dogs are quick and pressuring hard.

Our lack of midfield depth is gonna kill us by the end of the game. Worps and Jaeger are slogging it out but they can’t do it all.
I actually reckon our defence has been super impressive. It's when we get the ball that we're just turning it straight back over with long kicks down the line. Makes sense in the wet, but the ball is just not bouncing our way and we're not running hard enough to clean up after a split contest.

Burgoyne to replace Cousins on the pill. No substitute for clean ball handling. If Roughead discovers he still has 2 arms we might be half a chance.

My main positive first half is scrimshaw. Looks solid and ball use is again pretty good. Defence is generally doing well.

But our ball movement hurried and careless. Need to be more patient...

Every player had to break even as a minimum this half if we are to have any chance of swinging the momentum our way. Said it before the game.

We need to punish them for not taking advantage of their massive dominance. We are very capable. Just need to be smarter and harder at the contest

KOLOKOTRONIS

It
Whilst what you say is true, it doesn’t explain a 14- 3 free kick count

Its not the 14 that’s the problem, its the 5 frees to Hawks that’s concerning. Jaeger gets a push, Morrison taken high near the boundary, neither paid. Similar frees to WB are paid. Dont ever underestimate how much impact a free kick can have in a low scoring game

Halftime has come at a good time. I expect after a good Clarko talking too with added intel from Sammy Mitchell that we’ll come out with some slight tweaks in the 3rd period. This is where Sammy will earn his $$$ as he can see things even Clarko can’t.