Preview Round 3, 2019: Hawthorn v North Melbourne, 7 April 3:20pm AEDT @ MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter MinerBoy

Why on earth we gift wrap games to Nash is beyond me, Lewis literally has a game or 2 and he's out. Just bloody play 6ft6 bloke that can mark and kick and that sure as he'll ain't bloody Connor Nash, Lewis has to come in for gods sake.

Haha Agree but Nash is only in because he is a presurre player he a tall that plays small.
Drop Nash for Wingard if he is not ready Moore or Hanarahan.

Lewis- Cegs
Howe - Shiels.
Mirra/Brand for Burgoyne,
(we need 2 key defenders vs the roos)

I just checked and there's level 1 and level 2a in AFL members in the Southern stand wing HFF area if that area appeals.

I must be totally looking at it wrong because I'm only finding something similar to what I purchased off eBay.

Screenshot_20190401-205527_Samsung Internet.jpg

Screenshot_20190401-210112_Samsung Internet.jpg

Think I'll just stick with what I've got and hopefully the better half is still able to enjoy herself.

Thanks again for your assistance mate, it's much appreciated and you're a legend!

Why on earth we gift wrap games to Nash is beyond me, Lewis literally has a game or 2 and he's out. Just bloody play 6ft6 bloke that can mark and kick and that sure as he'll ain't bloody Connor Nash, Lewis has to come in for gods sake.

I tried to keep an open mind because although he was raw, he displayed some attributes that I thought could be harnessed into and exciting player.

However I'm struggling to remain positive at this point in time after his single tackle effort and think he needs some time in the VFL.

However I'm not totally writing him of yet and still hope that he can make it.

I just think that someone else could contribute and offer more to the side than he currently does.

Guess we'll wait and see what happens come team selection.

On the couch stat from P.roos 99% of our scores on the weekend were from western bulldogs turnovers. That's a shocking stat for us.
We got out played but somehow where 5goals up and ended up throwing the game away! big response this week.

Defence in R1 was the best I've seen gel for some time. Bulldogs were much better opposition in R2 but I can see Clarko going back to Mirra as a second one on one defender for the Roos as that seemed a better structured defensive unit playing the Crows. We don't want Sicily dragged around by an opponent again let Mirra have that match up.

Howe's big body in for Shiels will help the younger mids.

If Wingard is fit he will hopefully come straight in and either Nash or Morrison likely make way. Both are Clarko favourites so not sure which way it would lean but Morrison has been disappointing and with Scully now fit and playing he might miss.

Howe for Shiels
Mirra for Burgoyne
Wingard (if fit) for Morrison

Don't think Clarko would change more than 3.

I tried to keep an open mind because although he was raw, he displayed some attributes that I thought could be harnessed into and exciting player.

However I'm struggling to remain positive at this point in time after his single tackle effort and think he needs some time in the VFL.

However I'm not totally writing him of yet and still hope that he can make it.

I just think that someone else could contribute and offer more to the side than he currently does.

Guess we'll wait and see what happens come team selection.

I’ll say it now, he isn’t making it, I’m very certain of that.. I said the same thing years ago about baby giraffe TOB and was slated for it. The experiement with him should be canned, we can’t play with someone who offers very little.

I can definitely see where you're coming from and if he could at least do the basics right such as kicking at goal and taking a mark, then surely there's something to work with.

I greatly admire his speed and strength but if that's all that he brings to the table in the seniors, then he needs to go and develop his shortcomings in the seconds.

I'd definitely be playing either Brand or Lewis instead of him and get him to focus on improving his kicking and marking.

I can definitely see where you're coming from and if he could at least do the basics right such as kicking at goal and taking a mark, then surely there's something to work with.

I greatly admire his speed and strength but if that's all that he brings to the table in the seniors, then he needs to go and develop his shortcomings in the seconds.

I'd definitely be playing either Brand or Lewis instead of him and get him to focus on improving his kicking and marking.

If he learnt how to take a contested mark he would be an absolute weapon. Blokes 197cm and when you see him at the game he is a true 197.

And if he improved his goal kicking to go with that, then he'd be an absolute all round monster!

Has a mountain of work to do though.

Let's hope he gets there.

Anyway know where Howe is at? Did he play at box hill? Wingard seems another week away - we are going to be light on for mids. Time for Harry jones to get a game. Not sure who else we have outside 22 who can play in middle? Maybe Moore or Hanrahan in bursts? Scully should be better for the run.

Think we need to try brand down back as 2nd tall to free up Sicily and Lewis up forward or as 2nd ruck.

Ins: Lewis, brand, jones Moore
Out: Burgoyne Shiels Ceglar Nash

Stratts Frawley Hardwick
Impey brand sicily
hendo cousins Scully
Puopolo Lewis Smith
Gunston Rough Breust
I: cousins scrimshaw Moore Morrison
BB JOM Worpel

Round three #AFL
AFL_2019.png

milestones: AFL Life Membership – Jarryd Roughead (277 premiership games, 21 pre-season games, one international rules game)

If the umpires pay the pushing freekicks, we might fare better against them.

Or they could ignore the instigators and punish the retaliations and we'd be ******.
Need to learn to fall over to the push (when no ball near). It’s distasteful but it may work

I expect a similar outcome to our Brisbane game. Better execution will see a Hawks win.

On the couch stat from P.roos 99% of our scores on the weekend were from western bulldogs turnovers. That's a shocking stat for us.

It's a brilliant stat when you consider who you're playing this week.

We are the turnover kings.

We got out played but somehow where 5goals up and ended up throwing the game away! big response this week.

Hardly a shocking stat considering turnover is the biggest source of scoring for pretty much every club in the league and has been for a while.

It's not as though they were sitting there and just giving the ball to us, it's based off pressure. I'd rather look at that and say "Hey - fantastic pressure considering that profile of scoring, if we can break even in the middle of the ground and stop their possession chains we would have won".

You make a fair point and I know you are a big Lewis fan.

However I can say exactly the same about Lewis, from what I have seen he offers very little.

You make a fair point and I know you are a big Lewis fan.

However I can say exactly the same about Lewis, from what I have seen he offers very little.

Fair call... The difference though is Nash has had continuity of 7-8 games in a row and has a stat line almost identical to Mitchs who was given 1 game then then the arse, then another game then the arse. I would like to see what Mitch can provide with 7-8 games of senior footy, I think that is fair.

The big big big difference between the 2 is this... 1 guy has been dominate at VFL level, he has shown the ability to take contested marks and hit the scoreboard, the other has failed to do that at any level.

If Wingard comes in then I think Nash goes out, I also think that Lewis will be another in, this will allow us to still be nippy in the forward line and apply the pressure Clarko wants.

Serious question marks will need to be asked of Ruff if he puts in another performance as he did last week, you can't keep carrying guys who aren't impacting contests or showing any ability to compete in the air. Ruff has the smarts, hopefully that is enough to get him through and contribute.

Hardly a shocking stat considering turnover is the biggest source of scoring for pretty much every club in the league and has been for a while.

It's not as though they were sitting there and just giving the ball to us, it's based off pressure. I'd rather look at that and say "Hey - fantastic pressure considering that profile of scoring, if we can break even in the middle of the ground and stop their possession chains we would have won".

You can look at it that way or you can look at it, that we didn't generate one goal from clean possession e.g. a tap down from our ruckmen to a midfielder, kicks to a target in our f50 mark and goal.
Its is alarming.
It's great to know we caused turnovers all teams base there games on pressure.
We got outworked simple, I'm sure we will bounce back.

Fair call... The difference though is Nash has had continuity of 7-8 games in a row and has a stat line almost identical to Mitchs who was given 1 game then then the arse, then another game then the arse. I would like to see what Mitch can provide with 7-8 games of senior footy, I think that is fair.

The big big big difference between the 2 is this... 1 guy has been dominate at VFL level, he has shown the ability to take contested marks and hit the scoreboard, the other has failed to do that at any level.

If Wingard comes in then I think Nash goes out, I also think that Lewis will be another in, this will allow us to still be nippy in the forward line and apply the pressure Clarko wants.

Serious question marks will need to be asked of Ruff if he puts in another performance as he did last week, you can't keep carrying guys who aren't impacting contests or showing any ability to compete in the air. Ruff has the smarts, hopefully that is enough to get him through and contribute.
I have no problem with Lewis coming in for Nash.

But as I have said Lewis has done nothing to impress me, and there must be a reason why the match committee continue to pick Nash over Lewis.

If Lewis is capable of kicking a set shot goal, then he is already ahead.

The times I have seen Lewis he looked like a headless chook, but I admit its been a small sample size.

We have had forward line issues for years. With the talent we have up there we should be killing it, yet the structure doesn't work at all when pressure is put on the mids and we bomb it in. No one can take a pack mark and the crumbers aren't taking as much advantage as they should. We got away with it in our premiership years because of the quality of our mids but now we're paper thin in that area and more teams can exploit that.

Clarko is more concerned about turnovers that could lead to opposition scores rather than forward line movements that could increase our scoring power. This is why Nash plays and Lewis doesn't. Wingard needs to channel some Rioli magic to make us more deadly up forward but if North can apply significant pressure, then this could be a long day. If things get desperate, expect a swap of positions between Sicily and Gunston. Hey, shuffling the deck chairs worked on the Titanic, right?

Could Nash become a second/third tall defender, just punch the ball at every opportunity? I don’t know maybe that would be to big of an ask.
We really need to find a young tall forward and defender going forward

Could Nash become a second/third tall defender, just punch the ball at every opportunity? I don’t know maybe that would be to big of an ask.
We really need to find a young tall forward and defender going forward
We have them already. Sicily forward & Brand down back. It still amazes me that we don't play Brand consistently.