Autopsy Rd 5 Did Blues win? They shit it in!

Which players do you think played well in Round 5?

I've seen at least half a dozen articles this year (Age, Herald Sun, Fox Footy) citing 'impatient Blues fans'.

I don't think we are impatient at all. I think most of us understand exactly where we're at.

Are we disappointed with our W-L start to the season? Sure. Are we questioning some gameday tactics? Perhaps. But from where I sit, I think Carlton fans are mostly the ones keeping their cool while everyone else is carrying on about 0-4 or Bolton's contract.
Isn't it amazing how we now have a record number of 'impatient Blues fans'.....59,229 to be exact (as at 18 April).

You woulda thunk we'd be losing fans by the drove with the impatience they are citing.

His disposal on Sunday left or right was excellent, pretty much found his target every time....and most times they were leading targets, not static.

I wouldn’t say excellent just yet (he went at 66% effective, with a 90% of his possessions uncontested), but vastly improved. His first 4 games was going at 55% average, and against Gold Coast went at 50%.

The great thing is, for his 14 effective disposals, he had 10 score involvements! So when he hit his targets, good things happened.

Great to finally hit the scoreboard too.

imagine if every single aspect of your work was not only completed in front of tens of thousands of people but rated for its efficiency - I just went to the dunny at my work and the efficiency rating has to be in the bottom 1% of all staff.........too scared to sharpen a pencil!

There was something I was a mite concerned by, though. There is too much difference between our stoppage setup and our output between Kreuzer and our other ruckmen, or at the very least our stoppage setup against a) a dominant tap ruckman (Witts, Sinclair) or b) a competent around the ground extra tall midfielder who's average at the taps (Nankervis). Some of this is of course due to the improved SPS (and everyone else contributing, too) but an overreliance on a dominant ruckman is no healthier than our (hopefully diminishing) reliance on a single midfielder getting 15 clearances a match.

Kreuzer back in is good, us having similar dominance in his absence would have been better.

Isn't it amazing how we now have a record number of 'impatient Blues fans'.....59,229 to be exact (as at 18 April).

You woulda thunk we'd be losing fans by the drove with the impatience they are citing.
I think you’ll find it’s the media gurus getting impatient with our patience ...

Team Of The Week ...

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-04-23/team-of-the-week-r5-who-makes-the-cut

Carlton has unearthed a spearhead in Harry McKay, who has clunked 22 contested grabs
That was the performance the Blues faithful have been waiting for from Sam Petrevski-Seton.
Midfield bulls Nat Fyfe and Patrick Cripps are on another level when it comes to their work in the clinches

6613TOTW2019R5FWD.jpg

6613TOTW2019R5Centre.jpg

6613TOTW2019R5Int.jpg

That's good. You've finally watched the game. So now you'll know that SPS gave the ball to Cripps 6 times and Cripps to SPS only 4 times. What did you say? "SPS was only huge because of crippa" That "[crippa] fed him like a child." So what you're say is that SPS only played well because Cripps gave him most of his possessions; that SPS was nothing (except a bit silky) without Cripps. Wrong on both counts.

Don't worry, you weren't the only one who gave Cripps the pats on the back for SPS' great game. You just had the most unfortunate way of putting it.

That's good. You've finally watched the game. So now you'll know that SPS gave the ball to Cripps 6 times and Cripps to SPS only 4 times. What did you say? "SPS was only huge because of crippa" That "[crippa] fed him like a child." So what you're say is that SPS only played well because Cripps gave him most of his possessions; that SPS was nothing (except a bit silky) without Cripps. Wrong on both counts.

Don't worry, you weren't the only one who gave Cripps the pats on the back for SPS' great game. You just had the most unfortunate way of putting it.

...... you're a strange cat ....

way to misinterpret.

imagine if every single aspect of your work was not only completed in front of tens of thousands of people but rated for its efficiency - I just went to the dunny at my work and the efficiency rating has to be in the bottom 1% of all staff.........too scared to sharpen a pencil!
Don't worry, I am making up for your dunny inefficiency by being the most efficient couch potato bludger. Made some very significant progress on Sims and watched the replay of our glorious victory.

My nephews were very cute and supportive of us on Sunday - even though one is mostly a Richmond supporter (bloody Dusty) and the other had no idea what was going on but really loved screaming "Go Blues, go go go!".

way to misinterpret.

"SPS was only huge because of crippa" "[crippa] fed him like a child." Please interpret for me.

So, you either still haven't watched the game or you lack the balls to admit SPS had a great game in his own right and not because he was spoon fed by Cripps all day.

Early on I'd agree re SPS. Cripps getting him into the game seemed to build his confidence so that as the match progressed he was doing a fair bit of his own grunt work I thought.

Go back and look at the opening centre bounce. Looks like the ball that got to Harry for his first shot at goal was on the back of SPS's own grunt and confidence. Cripps didn't have much to do with SPS' game.

Don't listen to the commentators...

Go back and look at the opening centre bounce. Looks like the ball that got to Harry for his first shot at goal was on the back of SPS's own grunt and confidence. Cripps didn't have much to do with SPS' game.

Don't listen to the commentators...

SPS actually went in and got the hard ball and passed it out to Cripps on a few occasions.

I've seen at least half a dozen articles this year (Age, Herald Sun, Fox Footy) citing 'impatient Blues fans'.

I don't think we are impatient at all. I think most of us understand exactly where we're at.

Are we disappointed with our W-L start to the season? Sure. Are we questioning some gameday tactics? Perhaps. But from where I sit, I think Carlton fans are mostly the ones keeping their cool while everyone else is carrying on about 0-4 or Bolton's contract.
The highlighted bit is the thing that keeps making me laugh about these duds in the media. If we're impatient and wanting results at the club, then that's understandable. It's the ones who are saying that we are getting angry at the club for the lack of success... if we were angry, then why do we have record membership numbers? Why do we have just over 59,000 members? If we were angry at the lack of success, wouldn't we be suffering from a record low membership numbers?

I want to know who these "fans" are that they keep referencing? I suspect that these idiots trawl the facebook groups and listen to some of us getting frustrated on twitter and automatically rate those cries as the whole! Yeah, there are going to be one or two fans who are pissed off and angry, but they don't get the idea that majority of us have brought into the rebuild and can see success poking up over the horizon!

And for the most part, the media "experts" are the guys who have it in for Carlton!

The number of times I have seen "the natives are restless" this year has been a joke.

I am sick of reporters trying to validate their need to gat a coach sacked by pretending to be representing the supporter, based on nothing but a couple of twitter posts (if that).

I loved the at Judd called out Caro last night when she tried the "carlton supporters " line.

Don't worry, I am making up for your dunny inefficiency by being the most efficient couch potato bludger. Made some very significant progress on Sims and watched the replay of our glorious victory.

My nephews were very cute and supportive of us on Sunday - even though one is mostly a Richmond supporter (bloody Dusty) and the other had no idea what was going on but really loved screaming "Go Blues, go go go!".
sounds like at least screaming was at 87% efficiency..............

Amazing how much better the game plan looks when:

You have a competent ruckman

Don't torch the ball every second time you kick it. Belief started to build and players were prepared to look inside. Opened up everything. Marchie needs to work on his kicking or look for others to pull the trigger. messed up too many really good forward entries.
80% DE on the weekend compared to around 70% in the precious weeks - makes a massive difference when that 1 extra target is hit and we end up with roughly double our average mark still inside 50

"SPS was only huge because of crippa" "[crippa] fed him like a child." Please interpret for me.

So, you either still haven't watched the game or you lack the balls to admit SPS had a great game in his own right and not because he was spoon fed by Cripps all day.

How about give it a rest!