Roast Umpires

I think the AFL need to come out and explain the HTB and DTB rule because it seems like the rules have changed on the run. It used to be if tackled and you have prior opportunity so half a step then it's against you. Our game last night and again today players look to beat the tackler and it's play on when tackled, I don't get it, frustrating for both the players and supporters.

2 words = Steve Hocking

The decisions made over summer by AFL house to try and stop Richmond style of play has backfired big time.

Listen to his interview on SEN. He said they targeted a certain style of play coaches implement and are trying to stop it. He means = Richmond and the pressure and tackling.

Bloke needs to go. He's ruining the game but Gill won't act because it takes the heat of his own incompetence.

As much as I'd hate to lose him, FFS just put Benny in charge of the AFL and punt Hocking ASAP. Place needs a broom

Clearly there is a different rule book for Collingwood and they absolutely know it too. They are blatantly throwing the ball out of contested situations and a getting away with it for a half a second advantage. They are not even trying to handball properly anymore because they know they wont get pinged. It's just condoned cheating plain and simple. That half a second advantage they are receiving is having a huge impact on game outcomes. Add to it the dropping and holding the ball decisions they are getting away with and they have a 4 to 5 goal advantage in every game. It's just disgraceful.... There has been no critisism allowed against Umpires and this is where we have landed in 2019. The level playing field is gone.

That HTB non call today where every player stopped was one of the most terrible decisions ever made, every player, every fan, every oppo fan and even all the other umpires thought it was going to be called HTB. And yet Prestia last night grabs the ball takes one step gets tackled and is pinged.

Game is a mess as there are different interpretations for each team and always will be, no team is ever that dirty to go -100 in free kicks and no team is ever that disciplined to go +100 in a season.

I don't watch any Colonwood games due to the obvious bias with their own rule book. Some of the decisions on the highlights / replays especially the protected Feaces Mason Cox is staggering. That 50M penalty was a joke. Apply the same rules last night, and Lynchs 3 X non paid marks are goals. These days, I much prefer watching Junior Footy, which so far, is corruption free.

That HTB non call today where every player stopped was one of the most terrible decisions ever made, every player, every fan, every oppo fan and even all the other umpires thought it was going to be called HTB. And yet Prestia last night grabs the ball takes one step gets tackled and is pinged.

Game is a mess as there are different interpretations for each team and always will be, no team is ever that dirty to go -100 in free kicks and no team is ever that disciplined to go +100 in a season.

HTB ? The tackle on McDonald last night. Just totally appalling umpiring as well. Probably the simplest unobstructed and obvious HTB you’re ever gonna get in a game of football. Play on. Just shitful umpiring at its worst.

I don't watch any Colonwood games due to the obvious bias with their own rule book. Some of the decisions on the highlights / replays especially the protected Feaces Mason Cox is staggering. That 50M penalty was a joke. Apply the same rules last night, and Lynchs 3 X non paid marks are goals. These days, I much prefer watching Junior Footy, which so far, is corruption free.
Fu^%ing Cox he is a bloody flog there was one passage of play where the ball was bombed into the forward line and he was blocking is opponent from the contest, the crazy thing is he was facing the opposite direction of the ball away from the contest. It was so obvious and they just ignored it. The fu%^ing twat Treloar kept throwing the ball and never got pinged. I'm just over the preferential treatment that Collingwood get it's making me sick.

Yawn.... umpiring today was ordinary but it was ordinary both ways. Only weak, soft-minded supporters ever blame the result of a game on umpiring. The same Essendon supporters who went berserk over the non-holding the ball call in the last minute (which was wrong imo) were probably giggling when Baguley got a free kick against Langdon for nothing earlier in the qtr.

Players make far more mistakes (execution and decisions) every minute, every qtr and every game than umpires do. The sensible realise this. Hell we gifted Melbourne 3-4 goals from out direct stuff ups. All from guys on far more money than the umpires are.

Might be an easier game to umpire if the AFL stopped changing rules and interpretations all the time. They should actually be asking the umpires what the rules should be and which interpretations are easiest to see and then make. Ask any umpire and they'll tell you the game is harder to umpire than it used to be. Not to mention you have 3 sets of eyes looking at each contest, rather than forward and behind the play (as they were originally designed to do).

Having said all of that, I think the standard of umpiring in 2019 has been worse than previous years. Far less experience within the umpiring squad would have a lot to do with that.

Umpiring costs games. Not every game, or even 80% of games, but it costs games for sure.

There's times where shit umpiring calls result in a non-goal / goal. Momentum is such a big influence on a ground as big as an AFL ground. So, I disagree with partycorolla entirely. The commentators even play it down at times, where they'll say it's a terrible free.. but then so-and-so kicks a goal and the game shifts. You think of the result in a goal from a poor free kick, for example. Club gets a non-deserving goal, mindset changes, ball goes back to the middle and we're at neutral again.

No team is that indiscipline (or otherwise) that the game is skewed where the ratio of frees is 2:1. It's also blatantly obvious where frees, or lack thereof, are paid at certain times in a match, to either balance the free kick count or keep the losing team in the game.

If I used Richmond examples, people would think I'm bias so I'm not going to. But this happens extremely often.

Colonwood have been KOTD by umpires for over 50 years, they know it, the supporters know it, the umpires know it. And yet they are still shit

2 words = Steve Hocking

The decisions made over summer by AFL house to try and stop Richmond style of play has backfired big time.

Listen to his interview on SEN. He said they targeted a certain style of play coaches implement and are trying to stop it. He means = Richmond and the pressure and tackling.

Bloke needs to go. He's ruining the game but Gill won't act because it takes the heat of his own incompetence.

As much as I'd hate to lose him, FFS just put Benny in charge of the AFL and punt Hocking ASAP. Place needs a broom

One more Tiger win I reckon and Hocking and Whateley will have more coffee meetings.

Fu^%ing Cox he is a bloody flog there was one passage of play where the ball was bombed into the forward line and he was blocking is opponent from the contest, the crazy thing is he was facing the opposite direction of the ball away from the contest. It was so obvious and they just ignored it. The fu%^ing twat Treloar kept throwing the ball and never got pinged. I'm just over the preferential treatment that Collingwood get it's making me sick.
And the fact that he only has to look at an ump and fall over like autumn leaves and gets everything!!!

I’ve never been as confused about it.
They need to come out and explain some things, like hownit was posted earlier, the players stopping just sums it up perfectly.
If the players can’t hear because of the noise and can’t play to the whistle they, stop on instinct because they all know the rules.
It just shows they don’t even understand and it happened twice!!
Also they’re has to be cohesion between them to triangulate and get around contests and the game.
Maybe this 666 is changing they’re running patterns and they’re fatigued more, I dunno but what I do know is I’m spose to be helping to train and coach my daughters u/11 team ,we play this weekend and I don’t feel like I understand the bloody rules anymore.

We need to have our voices heard, I'm over it

The only way they will listen is a fan boycott, one game is enough, we will still see the matches on tv just empty stadiums

I’ve never been as confused about it.
They need to come out and explain some things, like hownit was posted earlier, the players stopping just sums it up perfectly.
If the players can’t hear because of the noise and can’t play to the whistle they, stop on instinct because they all know the rules.
It just shows they don’t even understand and it happened twice!!
Also they’re has to be cohesion between them to triangulate and get around contests and the game.
Maybe this 666 is changing they’re running patterns and they’re fatigued more, I dunno but what I do know is I’m spose to be helping to train and coach my daughters u/11 team ,we play this weekend and I don’t feel like I understand the bloody rules anymore.

The players stopped because they understand the game, the umpires have nfi

2 words = Steve Hocking

But then we’d lose Benny

The players stopped because they understand the game, the umpires have nfi
Oh they certainly have an idea of the rules and the game! If i do, you the fan does, the ex-players do!...the maggotts do!
IMO currently they are under instructions (fingerprints of the AFL all over those instructions) not to umpire to the rules but to umpire a game style...
Hence the slow tsunami of rule changes...
Appease the TV rights for more commercial breaks...fast play breaks for score like basketball...center bounce/break then one goal then 3 tv ads...rinse, repeat!
Use to be heaps of TV ads after a quarter of watching the game on TV...then one TV ad after a goal...now it can reach 3 TV ads after a goal...
The Offal have a charter to grow the game! The best way and fasresr for the Offal is through TV right$$$...Money!
They have tried previously to grow the game overseas however desperate and incongruous...ireland, china, whatever happened to New Guinea?!?...
Now it's with an eye to the USA, USA, USA...through Cox! More USA, USA, USA...american players means a TV rights bonanza gold mine if it takes off and competition establishes between US and the USA and maybe Ireland!
Think maybe even Murdock's fingerprints are all over this one. He has tried it before with the NRL! He has the TV connection$, Cable!
It's been tried in Rugby! Now cricket! Tennis! Golf! Now Women's League (not that their is anything wrong with that, so how about the local League support, VFL, youth, indigenous...)
The Offal imo are doing their sneakiest best to grow the game from Local to International with an eye on the USA...players, TV, that's where the big money i$!
Something is going on, agendas are in play and i for one am paranoid about it!

Oh they certainly have an idea of the rules and the game! If i do, you the fan does, the ex-players do!...the maggotts do!
IMO currently they are under instructions (fingerprints of the AFL all over those instructions) not to umpire to the rules but to umpire a game style...
Hence the slow tsunami of rule changes...
Appease the TV rights for more commercial breaks...fast play breaks for score like basketball...center bounce/break then one goal then 3 tv ads...rinse, repeat!
Use to be heaps of TV ads after a quarter of watching the game on TV...then one TV ad after a goal...now it can reach 3 TV ads after a goal...
The Offal have a charter to grow the game! The best way and fasresr for the Offal is through TV right$$$...Money!
They have tried previously to grow the game overseas however desperate and incongruous...ireland, china, whatever happened to New Guinea?!?...
Now it's with an eye to the USA, USA, USA...through Cox! More USA, USA, USA...american players means a TV rights bonanza gold mine if it takes off and competition establishes between US and the USA and maybe Ireland!
Think maybe even Murdock's fingerprints are all over this one. He has tried it before with the NRL! He has the TV connection$, Cable!
It's been tried in Rugby! Now cricket! Tennis! Golf! Now Women's League (not that their is anything wrong with that, so how about the local League support, VFL, youth, indigenous...)
The Offal imo are doing their sneakiest best to grow the game from Local to International with an eye on the USA...players, TV, that's where the big money i$!
Something is going on, agendas are in play and i for one am paranoid about it!

Hear ! Hear ! Good rant...good rant. I was saying to a few people over the Easter break that the AFL is one of the most clandestine, under handed, dishonest corporate organisations in the country. Their motives and agendas don't sit that well with me either and I suspect with a lot of other footy fans as well.

Thank you...
And that's why the Offal like the Wobbles and Cox...they have an understanding Gil and Triplechins! Hence the big kiss on Gil's head by Triplechins after yesterday's Anzac Day Match! Thank you for those soft free kicks to USA, USA, USA Cox!!! We will play the USA boys and help grow this game and for that you give us the free kicks!