Review Post Mortem vs Bombers

• Thread starter Thread starter BoxMatrix

Picure this, north playing saints, it's a monster crowd of 19500 at Marvel, late in the last, big gangly Brown flops for a free and gets it. He lines up and slots the goal and the 9000 north fans erupt in unison with KANGA KANGA KANGA ROO ROO ROO, it almost blows the roof off!

Now if that doesn't warm the cockles of your heart norhing ever will.
**** me I would book my flights to tassie for the next week straight after the game

What went wrong for us in the centre clearances today? We got absolutely mauled in there after half time. I thought Beams was largely ineffective and that's a big concern. Adams and Treloar were off their best too. Between that and a failure to hit an average set shot conversion rate, we really let Essendon back in. If we can't sort out the centre clearances I don't reckon we'll take the next step as a team.
So it seems you saw the game I saw today.

BOO HOO. ooops.

So what if Pendlebury was booed? If I'm not wrong we booed Dom Sheed when he collected his GF medal? Who cares. It's a fans game. We should be allowed to show emotion as long as it does not cross the line. In cricket, some of the bigger Indian players like Tendulkar/Dhoni have their houses stoned by fans after they lose a game. Here we are worrying about some noise being made in the crowd. Booing is just part of the theatre. PC society doing their best work here.

Pendles is a champion of the game and our club. Absolutely loved his game today on such a special day. Don't let this PC controversy take from that.

Now can we talk about that vintage Pendles sidestep to get onto his left in the first half?
You just don't get it.
I am far from PC and no averse to booing but... on ANZAC day; during the award ceremony? Surely not.
Don't make into a PC issue, nothing to do with political correctness.
It is an ANZAC day and booing during the speech is disrespectful to what the day is about. And that is not a game of footy, I hope at least you can understand that.
Whoever is booing are just flogs with no respect for the occasion and think that venting about a few bad umps decisions is more important.

pardon the intrusion

Nice game today. And glad to see a close one vs a walk over.

Your captain is a gun. Controlled the game when it needed to be and tore us apart.
Well deserved medallist.

look forward to next year :)

The bombers played well. I was on the edge of my seat for the whole match. The booing by the crowd shows that the ANZACs wasted their time sacrificing themselves. I'm afraid Pie supporters would have done the same. People should have a good look at themselves. Buckley three votes...
Racists

I'd rather not get into the booing thing, I was at a pub drowning my sorrows at that point so didn't notice it. Regardless of the umpiring, today was a cracker, there were several head to heads that were fantastic to see, Pendles is a champ and you deserved the win. Hope the next time we meet it'll be another like this (except the opposite result :p)

Good:

Pendlebury
Howe
Treloar
Langdon
Phillips
Grundy
Moore
Adams

Bad:

Varcoe
Thomas
Mihocek
Greenwood
Brown

Bad
BEAMS

Has been shit house you wanted back you now owe us.

Yeah agree. He played defence today and his field kicking, unsurprisingly, was heart in mouth stuff.
I can't remember him missing a target?

I agree with both of you. I had my heart in my mouth every time he had it because he went for a few 45 degree across goal kicks, but he hit the target each time.

Yeah I was very surprised when we gave away 2 first round picks for him, now it seems like he isn't even worth 1 first round pick.
He did finish in the top ten in the Brownlow last year (equal 8th), so it's not like he hadn't had a kick in years!!

You just don't get it.
I am far from PC and no averse to booing but... on ANZAC day; during the award ceremony? Surely not.
Don't make into a PC issue, nothing to do with political correctness.
It is an ANZAC day and booing during the speech is disrespectful to what the day is about. And that is not a game of footy, I hope at least you can understand that.
Whoever is booing are just flogs with no respect for the occasion and think that venting about a few bad umps decisions is more important.

Yep as soon as the siren goes take your tears elsewhere...

Wils might get a Go as we need Big Body inside Mids
He brings different strengths than Sier but seems to be in better form at the moment, so yeah..
He sure can tackle so at the very least there would be less easy clearances for the opposition.

To win like that when we played poorly in stretches, with some key players down on form, in a high pressure game, on the biggest H&A stage (I've woken up with an attack of the cliches) - I'll take that every day. Its a very good sign and reinforces that we are a genuinely contending team. The Bombers are a good side, but we are better. And when we click - watch out.

In the meantime, are there really still fans who question Langdon's worth? Surely not.

On Brown, he is starting to have some presence in the game. The coaches will keep playing him, because they know what they're doing. I remember the outrage on here a few years back when (apparently) Maynard was being 'gifted' games and the end of the world was nigh. Well, that 'gifting' of games to a developing young footballer pays off, in spades. Brown is also the future, while sadly Greenwood, Varcoe and Beams are not.

WHE was rusty but still took some good marks. Those hands of his - he is such a one touch specialist.

Pendles played one of his best captain's games. Outstanding leadership shown out there today.

On the booing, I hate that its happening after the game is over. But ugly booing in game is also a blight on our game, starting with Goodes several seasons back. Its appalling mindless mob behaviour, and sadly our own fans are also capable of it. Not sure how to stop it, but we can rely on Gil to say something mealy mouthed and inoffensive about it, being the jellyfish he is. Worsfold in his presser also demonstrated little integrity, finding a way to excuse it. Not surprised from the man who oversaw the goings on at West Coast in the mid-2000s. And David King tried his best to make the whole mess even messier, in his after-match comments. Poor efforts all around.

You guys won, so as far as my weekend multi and utter disdain for your opposition goes, that is a brilliant thing.

A concern is the amount of score you are generating relative to your level of possession.