Review Porf vs. Nort

• Thread starter Thread starter Lagooner

Some random points:

- we are still too cute going inside 50 and handballing it one too many times. When the low percentage shot is there to be made, go for it!

- our intensity dropped off when we got a comfortable margin in front. Easy to do but you can't underestimate anyone when there's still plenty of time on the clock

- we are having extended periods of losing centre clearances. I haven't paid enough attention to the personnel when this is happening but it's becoming a problem

- Robbie. Have a spell mate, this isn't enjoyable to watch.

- Westy. What's going on? Super in round 1 and anonymous since.

- Duursma, Butters, Rozee. Hnnnngggg

- Boaky. What a man. Still my captain

- felt bad for Jasper at the beginning but his clangers were pretty funny.

- why do we suck at Adelaide Oval

- why does AO reduce bar staff AND close the craft beer bar at 3QT? Lines were ridiculous still and missed the first few mins of Q4.

If Monty is telling his defenders to take more marks, keep telling them Monty! Haven't seen an aerial showing like that since the first Gulf War. Howard, Clurey and Houston all pulled down screamers.

Rozee finally took the hanger he has been, well hanging out for. I keep hearing how Walsh is a lay down for the Rising Star and the media will get him over the line, but Rozee, wowsers. He racks up possessions, marks, tackles, goals. He has pace, flair, great hands, goal sense, super footy sense and can win a game off his own boot.

Duursma runs like a Kenyan track and field star and plays footy with aggressive intent in the way he wants to open up an opposition defence.

Butters also plays with aggressive intent, but in a different way. He hammers his tackles. Those same hands that will slam an opponent are also capable of the most delicate precision in flicking a ball out of a pack.

Boak is relentless like the Terminator. Rockliff keeps releasing teammates with slick deft football moves. Westhoff back in his preferred role switch hitting through the midfield and forward line had a big say in proceedings.

And Sam Gray. Now that's the hobbit who kicked Sauron's sorry one eyed arse.

Matthew Nicholls. Well he's consistent. Wish he would climb back into Salem's Lot and stay there.

We would've lost that game if Boak wasn't playing. Was just relentless in standing up, winning the football, driving us forward from start to finish. Seems to be in a good place on and off the field after a few years of that not being the case. I'm so happy for him.

I knew it was going to happen. Scott is under sacking pressure. Us at home. We took the foot off. You could see it. Four points will do me rather than none. Ken's not off the hook by a long shot. Best the Pies next week see how we go.

We would've lost that game if Boak wasn't playing. Was just relentless in standing up, winning the football, driving us forward from start to finish. Seems to be in a good place on and off the field after a few years of that not being the case. I'm so happy for him.
Boaky has been a godsend. Playing his best footy.

So it was ANZAC round, good conditions, Friday night and after a very good win against the reigning premiers and all we could get to the match was 36,000? What the hell are our supporters doing? That really isn't good enough
Fans thought we'd play like we did. You can only be hit in the nuts so many times, before you stop believing the one you love that they've changed and won't do it again. If Port string a run of games (most importantly including at least 3 home games) where they don't get dragged down to the level of a shit side and do all the usual LOL Ports things we saw again tonight, then fans will turn up.

S Gray - Well. He's doing everything we need him to do. Getting heaps of the ball, kicking goals, laying tackles, running hard. He's been so clean with the ball the last few weeks. It's hard to see him dropping out for some time now.

You sound ... disappointed?! ;)

When our supporters have a history of being bandwagoners, yeah I do need to worry! Tonight's attendance was a disgrace and is very worrying
Whatever. We have better crowds than most Vic teams. Our young lads playing cheeky attractive footy. You're just worried about crowds. My goodness me.

Last quarter, North was doing whatever it wanted to do in our D50. Where did our defence go?
Sam scored a major with more than 13 minutes left in Q4. It was our last goal for the night.

"Good old Port Football"

I would love Port to change for a "All The Scores" video. We don't see all the goals in the "All The Goals" videos. After all, six behinds are worth a goal, and we scored TWICE like that tonight.

Ports v Wce 227 k 165 hb
Ports v nm 214 k 196 hb

Can ports, Carn that's just silly...

Should have blown them away with quick ball movement, not flicky rubbish.

We are playing a much better style than last year, but still overpossess the footy at times..

Won clearances 41-34, and contested ball 165-141

Won tackles 78-67

Don't know what you saw. 5 junktime goals provides ammunition for negativity, but we were fun to watch tonight. At least we never retreated into slow, backwards play, and there were some real highlights.
I am with you on this. I enjoyed the match, and was super relaxed throughout, even when Norf had their last run going.

The issue for me is the missed easy goals. Just fix that, and we smash them by 60 tonight. By missing these goals, we waste the effort to get it there, deflate the team, and give them possession and opportunity to score in return, which they did in that last term.

Its not about being soft, its not about poor coaching, its about the players doing what they did last week ... take your opportunities and nail the frigging goals! Fix this, and Port will be very hard to beat.

Fans thought we'd play like we did. You can only be hit in the nuts so many times, before you stop believing the one you love that they've changed and won't do it again. If Port string a run of games (most importantly including at least 3 home games) where they don't get dragged down to the level of a shit side and do all the usual LOL Ports things we saw again tonight, then fans will turn up.
Our supporters are a soft lot, what if everyone took this approach? The club would fold! just go to the matches and support the damn club before you end up with no club at all

Amen

Ports finishing in front of goal wasn't the best in the first half.Although the passages of play to get the ball down there where good.Could of gone in at HT east 8 goals up.
To the Kangas credit they where a lot better in the second half.And gave us a good hit out before the Blockbuster v the Pies next week.

Didn't boo Polec once. But I did belly laugh at Pittard.
Pittard was worth two to three goals for us. Polec got one back........very freaky. But meh!!!!! Don't miss either of them. Conner footballed that made up for Chad Pittard and what's his name.

I thought Marshall was absolutely horrid.

Man we need to play another tall forward, that's beyond question, but holy shit, he was soft as butter. Can't take a contested grab to save his life and just generally lacks the required intensity.

Am I picking Marshall next week, well the answer is yes, but far out. He is just so far off the required level at the moment. Put him under any physical pressure in a marking contest and he is useless.

This opinion is going to get blasted, but it's 100% the truth, as hard as that may be for many to hear.

You’re wrong. Todd sets up so many plays it’s not funny! He was outstanding! Dixon apparently starting on grass this week, they’ll swap roles and it will be amazing

Pittard gets off way too easily with our supporters.

He gave us the “supporters don’t know shit” spiel in an interview late last season. Few weeks later we are paying him to play somewhere else.

Match review: just fold already.

Very average win.

We didn't get going because we were so fumbly. We seemed to get first hands on it most of the time but apart from Boakasaurus who brough his own footy to the stoppages, we'd get one or two handballs max before fumbling the ball. It was like we were playing with a bar of soap for most of the game.

The fumblyness made us hesistant and less willing to back ourselves, and that hesitancy is the difference between last week and this week. We worried about the ball over the back and stopped pressing up as hard. We just need to stay the course a bit and not go into our shells when it gets tough like that. We just couldn't get a hold of the game despite being by far the better side. The lack of a percentage booster is frustrating but we've been failing to pile on big wins against teams like this for years.

Our ball movement was weird. Did we switch even one time? We seemed pretty content to handball and run and carry within the confines of about 3m from the boundary line, or we went long. Very rarely centred the ball, just didn't switch at all. Must have been something we'd picked up about how North play, but it was really weird, clearly something the coaches saw that stopped us from doing it.

Forward line played okay apart from the innaccuracy. Ryder and Marshall struggled to hold anything but I felt both presented okay and we found a heap of space up there for our smalls to take advantage of. It'll be nice to have Dixon back when he's fit, but the system is working at the moment for the most part. It'd be nice if we could have 28 scoring shots and kick something like 19.9 instead of 12.16 for once.

Clurey's step up to general in the absence of Jonas was brilliant. He's been an absolute rock back there and would be just about first on the team sheet at the moment. Huge season so far. Howard's confidence has absolutely exploded as well, he took some contested defensive marks. The second and third efforts from these two were super tough and team lifting. Bonner has improved, but Burton has stagnated a bit and would be the first halfback out if we wanted to give Broadbent a run IMO.

Boak was just massive. He's been an absolute dream this year and he's well and truly in All Australian form. I expect teams to start tagging him any week now but they seem to put more time into Rockliff.

Sam Gray is playing the perfect role for him as that gutrunning linkman who sneaks forward. Just pops up in the right spots over and over again. His workrate is top notch. 4 goals is a great reward.

The whole passage of play that led to the Rozee mark was football pr0n. Rozee and Butters are so slick, it's terrifying. They back themselves in every time and have zero fear. When they start to develop their tanks and get some experience they're going to be top echelon footballers. Rozee especially just has everything he needs to be a superstar at AFL level.

When our supporters have a history of being bandwagoners, yeah I do need to worry! Tonight's attendance was a disgrace and is very worrying

Apart from the 2007 Prelim, tonight was the largest crowd, home or away, in the history of the fixture.