Preview 2022 Rd 20 Carlton vs Adelaide Saturday July 30 7:30PM @ Adelaide Oval - Team Post #586

Ins and outs are going to be very interesting as usual, hard to see anyone coming out based on performance except maybe Motts. If fit, Pitt comes straight in but it's hard to see who makes way..likewise for Hewett.

Cats should beat the Dogs and if we win this, finals are pretty much a lock. At the end of the day, I don't care how we do it or how much we win by..I just want to us to get the w.

Was with a colleague today who is conected to someone at Richmond and they were saying how they are interested in how Dow will go next year, ie with them and that he won't be at Carlton next year. Bit concerning, hope it is not the case but coming from him makes me nervous.

I wouldn't take that as fact, especially given that he is still contracted

I wouldn't be surprised TDK gets dropped for Pitto. Voss has shown all year that he isn't going to change the team structure to fit a particular player into the team and SOS as 2nd ruck has clearly been shown to be better for our structure unless TDK can significantly improve his forward craft.

Would be great if TDK can work on his forward play in the 2s for a few weeks to give us the legitimate option of playing both.

Preferred team was Pitto & TDK in tandem, think that will be reverted to asap when Pitto is fit / ready to go.

TDK will remain in the side, along with JSOS.

Just beat the Pies, please! Don't do an *Essendon!
Surely the Pies have just about used up all their luck - if it was raining female movie stars, they'd catch Julia Roberts in her birthday suit.

This game has to be the one....the one we try hard to win

All of the year this group has outworked oppositions, unless they themselves are outworked by a better efficient formula

Crows at home ?........i dont care if its 10 points we have to have the four points and brace for the coming weeks[emoji118]
I'd prefer 10 goals.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Don't like the singling out when you're on the receiving end. Intriguing.

Want my view? I've posted it. Pitto for JSOS, rest the lionheart (against his wishes but for his benefit), play TDK as the third forward/ruck relief. Hewett for literally whichever mid is most in need of a spell. Would consider resting a young small forward like Durdin or Motlop if there is someone suitable to replace them.

Now this I haven't posted, but thinking about it further, that last could potentially be an avenue to fit Dow in. Give any or all of Cotters, Kennedy, Fisher, Cripps etc. some more forward time, rejig the midfield/wing rotations accordingly, and free up enough time for Dow to do a 50/25/25 mid/fwd/bench split.

He might not be a gun forward, but I do agree with the earlier poster who suggested he'd have a hard time failing to match the output of a Durdin or Motlop on a per minute basis. Not good for him to be pigeon-holed there for entire games, but 25% TOG in the forward line would be viable if he can have a big impact in 50% TOG on the ball.
Small forward role for us isn't about touches and goals. It's about pressure. If the goals and touches come, that's a bonus.

Not sure Dow can provide that. I haven't watched enough vfl to make that judgement. To say that he could match the 5 possie output is slightly disingenuous as that's not the measure of an effective small forward for Carlton.

And if it was, that output wouldn't be good enough.

Or someone comes in, say dow and a number of players rotate through the small fwd position vacated by, say, motlop being dropped.....

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app
That's too complicated. I reckon you only do that if you have no choice. I think it's better to have continuity in roles and positions for as many players as possible.

We haven't had that luxury very often this year.

"Bring Dow in and move others around to play small forward" could work, but I don't it will. Players playing well would need to be moved into a secondary position to get Dow some Gametime. That means getting less output from multiple players to shoehorn Dow into the 22.

When we played with 4 mids, the midfield seemed to work much better than when we brought in the 5th. Bringing in a 6th would change the dynamic again. I'm not sure it would be for the better.

I can see it this week.

I had Pittonet and Hewett for Motlop and Honey. This was mine:

FB Newman - Weitering - McGovern
HB Docherty - Young - Saad
C Cerra - Hewett - Cottrell
HF Kennedy - Curnow - Fisher
FF De Koning - McKay - Durdin
RU Pittonet - Cripps - Walsh
IC Silvagni - Setterfield - Plowman - O'Brien
Sub Newnes

But if, as you say, neither are ready I can see Dow coming in and Honey retaining his place in the team.

Having another mid this week who can play rotations - especially if Walsh goes into the game carrying any level of injury - could be the difference between a finals cementing W and a sorrowful defeat.

I'm not underestimating Adelaide. We should win. We need to make certain it happens.

IF we win don't underestimate how huge the last few rounds for our team having not made finals for years would be. Effectively a free swing to see how we go.
That line-up looks good to me.

Give Ken time mate!
Ummm, please allow me to tell you a little story:

A man is walking along Glenelg beach, when he notices a partially buried lamp in the sand. He picks it up and gives it a rub, and out pops a genie, who is immediately eternally grateful for his new found freedom. He says, "Oh mate - you have no idea how good it is to be out of that thing after 1000 years. Anything you want, it's yours!!!"

The man thinks for a moment, and then says, "I want to live forever."

The genie shakes his head and says, "I'm sorry, but I can't give you eternal life."

The man thinks for a few more seconds, and then says, "OK - I want to live until Ken Hinkley becomes a premiership coach."

The genie says, "You sly bastard!!!"

Interesting stat this morning:

Carlton ranked no1 for scores against per oppo i50.

Premiers from the last 5 years have all ranked top4 for this stat.

Suspect that's our main goal and it affects our transition because we push back so hard to stop easy scores. Makes me happier with this plan hearing how critical it seems for finals success.

Nah it's better

We rank #1 for that stat in the last 6 weeks

Every premier in the last 5 years has ranked #1 for that stat in the last 6 matches of H&A season

If we can get our offense sorted we are in a very strong position

yeah they talked about this on one of the recent footy programs...on the couch or first crack.

massive turnaround from previous seasons...no team has been able to put us away with a big margin so far this season..

Nah it's better

Every premier in the last 5 years has ranked #1 for that stat in the last 6 matches of H&A season

Sorry, you're correct. I was close..haha

Nah it's better

Think the stat was, the premiers for the last 5 years ranked top 4, rather than ranked #1