No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVI

Dude you must have been living on the dark side of the moon for five years if you truly believe that. SHocking didn't even try to hide it. It was as obvious as the nose on your face. Embarrassing twaddle indeed.
rubbish. where did hocking "not hide it" - link? the club has repeatedly walked away from this nonsense. cos it shows a weak club sooking, looking 4 excuses, unable 2 adjust. hocking had 2 get the tick from mclaughlin. then a tick from the commission. this parallel universe stuff makes us a laughing stock.

Think it was in a Mick Warner article before he had the concrete blocks attached to his feet and went on Gil’s yacht

Mate there are plenty of links here going back literally years. If you haven't been following the discussion, that's fine but I'm not going back looking for them. Not my problem.

Anyway, you're entitled to your opinion. Personally I don't profess my opinions lightly, as anyone here will know. SHocking not only changed the rules to negate Richmond (it could have been any team as dominant as Richmond were becoming) but he rushed them through. That's fact.

The only thing quicker in AFL in the last five years than his introduction of rule changes to fundamentally change football was how fast he then went back to be CEO of Geelong (I imagine your opinion there is that there was no conflict of interest in that at all ?) just in time for him to be in the right place, at the right time.

It was either a massive coincidence, or a conspired effort ("state of the game") to change the way football was being played and headed (does anyone seriously doubt this ?) at a time when Richmond were utterly dominant with a game style that he found, as did the AFL and their free to air telecast sponsor, an anathema.

And just quietly for the record since you mentioned it, nobody laughs at me, not to my face anyway. Any Richmond bloke is however welcome to laugh with me because it's us against them as far as I'm concerned.

Mate there are plenty of links here going back literally years. If you haven't been following the discussion, that's fine but I'm not going back looking for them. Not my problem.

Anyway, you're entitled to your opinion. Personally I don't profess my opinions lightly, as anyone here will know. SHocking not only changed the rules to negate Richmond (it could have been any team as dominant as Richmond were becoming) but he rushed them through. That's fact.

The only thing quicker in AFL in the last five years than his introduction of rule changes to fundamentally change football was how fast he then went back to be CEO of Geelong (I imagine your opinion there is that there was no conflict of interest in that at all ?) just in time for him to be in the right place, at the right time.

It was either a massive coincidence, or a conspired effort ("state of the game") to change the way football was being played and headed (does anyone seriously doubt this ?) at a time when Richmond were utterly dominant with a game style that he found, as did the AFL and their free to air telecast sponsor, an anathema.

And just quietly for the record since you mentioned it, nobody laughs at me, not to my face anyway. Any Richmond bloke is however welcome to laugh with me because it's us against them as far as I'm concerned.

Agree with all of this. Add to is a recent interview where Chris Scott responded as per the exert below:

"
Asked if he wavered on several occasions in the years after managing to secure a premiership in his first season of 2011, Scott answered simply: "Yep."

To the point of considering aborting the plan? "I don't think we ever got to the stage of aborting it. (Recruiting boss) Stephen Wells and I in particular, and (former head of football and current CEO) Steve Hocking as well, have had this conversation all the way through, and I was generally the driver of: 'you know we are going to have to pivot at some point in time' and 'there is going to be a reckoning'.

"

In any sort of healthy landscape in terms of media scrutiny, the football media would be leaping on that statement like a starving leopard. Scott literally states that whilst Hocking was working for the AFL with his responsibilities including rule changes for the entire sport, and final decision maker in MRO cases affecting all teams(obviously including Geelong,) where he is supposed to be impartial, he was also in regular discussions with Scott and Wells about Geelong's interests. It is an astonishing slip of the tongue by Scott, but perhaps he knows due to the way the land lies, nobody can say anything about it.

Agree with all of this. Add to is a recent interview where Chris Scott responded as per the exert below:

"
Asked if he wavered on several occasions in the years after managing to secure a premiership in his first season of 2011, Scott answered simply: "Yep."

To the point of considering aborting the plan? "I don't think we ever got to the stage of aborting it. (Recruiting boss) Stephen Wells and I in particular, and (former head of football and current CEO) Steve Hocking as well, have had this conversation all the way through, and I was generally the driver of: 'you know we are going to have to pivot at some point in time' and 'there is going to be a reckoning'.

"

In any sort of healthy landscape in terms of media scrutiny, the football media would be leaping on that statement like a starving leopard. Scott literally states that whilst Hocking was working for the AFL with his responsibilities including rule changes for the entire sport, and final decision maker in MRO cases affecting all teams(obviously including Geelong,) where he is supposed to be impartial, he was also in regular discussions with Scott and Wells about Geelong's interests. It is an astonishing slip of the tongue by Scott, but perhaps he knows due to the way the land lies, nobody can say anything about it.
Mate I also reckon it's the tip of the iceberg.

Spot the triple-premiership player

View attachment 1625070

1678349095446-png.1625070

One thing in this photo really struck me - the middle row of teams looks frighteningly similar to how the bottom-6 is very likely to look.

Extraordinary coincidence?

1678349095446-png.1625070

One thing in this photo really struck me - the middle row of teams looks frighteningly similar to how the bottom-6 is very likely to look.

Extraordinary coincidence?
they also all look like theyve been around to terry wallaces house for a tan pre game

"

"

Anyone who spends any time in a professional environment sooner or later comes across concept of conflict of interest and the perception of conflict of interest, along with the rules and practices that need to be put in place to manage it. It just doesn't seem to be on the radar at all in the AFL. The only conclusion is that it's simply not a professional environment, but I think we all know that.

Bet Chris Scott wishes he could delete that “if he kicks this we win” from the 2020 GF :D
If I was in the box listening to that I would have lost respect for the coach. Dopey, emotional comments like that is stuff you hear in the pub not from sophisticated professionals.