List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Years of Victorian clubs cashing in compo picks? No worries.
West Coast might snag pick 2 for Oscar Allen?
Sound the alarms. Launch the review. Secure the Victorian draft order.

Clearly, free agency was never broken… until a non-Vic club found the manual.
On top of that, Id say pick 2 is overs for Oscar, but is it really that far out of the ballpark? I reckon I’d still be wanting a top 10 pick for him in a trade.

Certainly nothing to be having a sook over. The time for that was 3 years ago

On top of that, Id say pick 2 is overs for Oscar, but is it really that far out of the ballpark? I reckon I’d still be wanting a top 10 pick for him in a trade.

Certainly nothing to be having a sook over. The time for that was 3 years ago
👍 If Ben McKay is worth pick 3, Oscar is worth every bit of pick 2. Cant go on anything other than precedent.

This is unlikely, but is there a world where West Coast grow a pair and throw stupid money at Jai Newcombe? In my eyes he would be the perfect fit for our midfield. Can you imagine the carnage that he and Harley could inflict. The bonus being that it would supremely piss of Sam Mitchell and the Hawks. Throw a smaller but similarly stupid amount at Lloyd Meek. Midfield sorted in one fell swoop.

Years of Victorian clubs cashing in compo picks? No worries.
West Coast might snag pick 2 for Oscar Allen?
Sound the alarms. Launch the review. Secure the Victorian draft order.

Clearly, free agency was never broken… until a non-Vic club found the manual.
Look it needs to be tweaked but which one seems more unfair.

- Bottom team losing their skipper and there is a team willing to pay him a big contract. So get compensation for that.

- 3 top 5 picks going to clubs who are playing finals this year because they get special rules, they also get a discount to match them.

- one pick going to a club because of luck and then will trade out the pick that would be around that kids range and get another pick in that part of the draft next year or trade for a good player but still get the top 10 kid….

Why would any sane club be crying about moderate overs for Oscar Allen when Brisbane is getting pick 1 in the draft again for free and Gold Coast are getting 3 in the top 10 and then second round starting in the 30's is yet again forcing bottom clubs to compete with each other for the privilege of trading them pick 2 or 3 to help them rort the system even further.

There has got to be a way for a club like us to go to a Jed Walter or Dan Annable and say look, don't nominate for your academy club and we'll pick you at one and we'll pay you a $500k signing bonus out of our marketing allotment. I'm not even sure we can't actually do this already? The player is free to enter the open draft market and unless I'm mistaken we are free to give Harley marketing fund money onto of his draft contract aren't we so why not actually do a marketing stunt like a signing bonus that the Suns or Brisbane just can't match?

I wouldn't stress, as annoying and partisan as the Vic media are, the AFL are not going to change the system a few months before it kicks off.
They did last year for NGAs for the Dons.

But no the article is saying this year is set and the change would be for next year and beyond. Which it needed but other things need a change too (academies, NGA eligibility, FS bid matching ect)

This is unlikely, but is there a world where West Coast grow a pair and throw stupid money at Jai Newcombe? In my eyes he would be the perfect fit for our midfield. Can you imagine the carnage that he and Harley could inflict. The bonus being that it would supremely piss of Sam Mitchell and the Hawks. Throw a smaller but similarly stupid amount at Lloyd Meek. Midfield sorted in one fell swoop.
I get he’s decent but I can’t stand that campaigner Newcombe, truly the epitome of hawks.. classless winner and sore loser. Rather we use the godfather offer elsewhere.

He's one to watch IMO.

Busslinger doesn't like flying apparently.

Well I can attest that flying into Perth in Winter is not great. Flew in late yeaterday and we had to abort due to a hail storm.

It was seriously not great. Bloke behind me throwing up. Everyone holding hands finding God. Circled for over half an hour in some pretty rough turbulence.

I have flown a fair bit but that was not fun. At all.

Now understand why the Pope kisses the ground after flying.

Anyway the boys better show up this week.

regardless if it's Newcombe or another gun player, we need to throw a sh!t load of money at someone to help our midfield, need to show improvement next year, and we have surely have the cash to do that.

Afl make a system > afl have no issues with system's many glaring problems > non victorian team benefits from system > system must be fixed!

Tale as old as time

For laughs feel like creating a thread.

How would AFL House Govern Australia if in charge?

If we applied AFL policies to real life issues and problems. The country would be in rebellion and the pitch forks would be out en mass.

They are without doubt one of the strangest run organisations full of "Old Boys" and not so hidden agendas you will ever come across IMO.

I've come full circle and now believe it's better for us to not bid on the 3 academy top players in this draft that would go 1,2,3 in an open pool.

It's the best way to push back at the Melbourne elites that run our game. It's supposed to be the AFL not the vfl.

They did last year for NGAs for the Dons.

But no the article is saying this year is set and the change would be for next year and beyond. Which it needed but other things need a change too (academies, NGA eligibility, FS bid matching ect)
Yeah a lot of change is needed, reached farcical levels years ago

Why would any sane club be crying about moderate overs for Oscar Allen when Brisbane is getting pick 1 in the draft again for free and Gold Coast are getting 3 in the top 10 and then second round starting in the 30's is yet again forcing bottom clubs to compete with each other for the privilege of trading them pick 2 or 3 to help them rort the system even further.

There has got to be a way for a club like us to go to a Jed Walter or Dan Annable and say look, don't nominate for your academy club and we'll pick you at one and we'll pay you a $500k signing bonus out of our marketing allotment. I'm not even sure we can't actually do this already? The player is free to enter the open draft market and unless I'm mistaken we are free to give Harley marketing fund money onto of his draft contract aren't we so why not actually do a marketing stunt like a signing bonus that the Suns or Brisbane just can't match?
The thing people miss with the academies is that it turns those clubs into pick sellers, creating opportunities for other clubs, and good players become available as these academy clubs face pressure with list sizes and the salary cap.

Sure, the northern clubs are going to get a leg up for the next decade but there's no point complaining about it. The AFL are trying to build the game in those states and wants successful teams there. We just need to focus on us.

The easy fix for the academies and Father/Sons is just to have a set number you can pre-select between the two (say 2 players) and then allow them to invest as much as they want into the academies like the QLD clubs do. Then the rest of the players not selected go back into the open pool and those preselected don't go through the draft.

Would equalise the academies to be in-line with QLD so no loss to QLD and would grow the talent pool overall.

Trade for Judd McVee?

Maybe not our biggest need, but another athletic HB type with wing potential...

Would free up Hough for permanent midfield, release Maric onto the wing or free up Ginbey for midfield development.

At the very least might force Duggan or Cole back to the Beagles... if Cole gets another contract.

Jai Newcombe who won their best and fairest last year and will go close to winning it this year as well? You happy to give up pick 2 for him? Would take that at a minimum

Add in Meek and we give away all our picks?

Busslinger doesn't like flying apparently.
It’s a shame that you’ve had a rough experience recently, but this has already been debunked.

Drink whenever someone parrots Busslinger is afraid of flying.