List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

Recap at a glance:
  • Harley Reid has signed a two-year extension, which keeps him at West Coast until at least the end of 2028.
  • He still has one season left on his rookie deal, the new extension kicks in for 2027.
  • Cal Twomey reports that the deal could reach up to $2m per year if Harley triggers all incentives (e.g. this is not a base $2m per year deal).
  • This is a straight two year extension, with no player option for a +9 or anything similar.
  • Get a big dog up ya, Victoria.

IMG_3788.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
How was Harley not their lead story lol

Obviously coz it's not about Victoria anymore. Next 2 years they’ll pay lip service to his positive actions, but if there's something negative watch them pile on.

One Hawks fan said we have destroyed out list by re-singing him haha
I’ve actually seen this attitude around quite a bit, that the Eagles have so many holes that they would be better off trading him to build the depth. But there are a few problems with this. First, one of the big holes is in genuine star-level talent. Who else is there besides Reid? Maybe Shanahan becomes a top 5 forward if everything breaks the right way? You aren’t winning anything with an entire club full of solid depth players.

And more importantly, it’s hard to imagine a good return given the clubs he was would have considered. With a club like Richmond you can actually see how a deal can get done pretty easily, given the amount of young talent they drafted last year and the draft picks they have in hand this year. But it doesn’t sound like he wanted to leave a rebuilding club for another one, which puts a line through Richmond, St Kilda, Essendon. The other reported clubs with serious interest were Hawthorn and Geelong, both of which are within their premiership window. Both are too good to offer premium draft position, and they’re also not going to be interested in opening holes in their best 22 just to get Reid in. Which means that you’re not getting a Weddle or Watson from the Hawks, or a Max Holmes from Geelong. In which case you’re looking at offers with the likes of Calsher Dear or Henry Hustwaite or Jhye Clark or Lawson Humphries trying to form the centrepiece of a deal with some late first round picks thrown in and… uh, no thanks.

They had 2 posters post on there board this morning saying they had inside word that Harley was requesting a trade to hawthorn😂
I was in Melbourne this morning for work, flew in yesterday. I’m WA based just to make that clear.

Picked up by a mad Hawthorn supporter to get me to my first appointment and listened to 14 mins of the 15 min drive how Harley was definitely coming to the Hawks.

Respectfully disagreed by stating that pantskyle had the inside word he was resigning. He doubled down that he had connections in Melbourne that were all saying he was going to the Hawks.

Ah the text message this arvo was meet in silence 🤣

I’ve actually seen this attitude around quite a bit, that the Eagles have so many holes that they would be better off trading him to build the depth. But there are a few problems with this. First, one of the big holes is in genuine star-level talent. Who else is there besides Reid? Maybe Shanahan becomes a top 5 forward if everything breaks the right way? You aren’t winning anything with an entire club full of solid depth players.

And more importantly, it’s hard to imagine a good return given the clubs he was would have considered. With a club like Richmond you can actually see how a deal can get done pretty easily, given the amount of young talent they drafted last year and the draft picks they have in hand this year. But it doesn’t sound like he wanted to leave a rebuilding club for another one, which puts a line through Richmond, St Kilda, Essendon. The other reported clubs with serious interest were Hawthorn and Geelong, both of which are within their premiership window. Both are too good to offer premium draft position, and they’re also not going to be interested in opening holes in their best 22 just to get Reid in. Which means that you’re not getting a Weddle or Watson from the Hawks, or a Max Holmes from Geelong. In which case you’re looking at offers with the likes of Calsher Dear or Henry Hustwaite or Jhye Clark or Lawson Humphries trying to form the centrepiece of a deal with some late first round picks thrown in and… uh, no thanks.

The only way I'd have accepted Harley leaving this year is if Essendon WITH the Sam Draper compo if he leaves gave us two of their three picks 4,5 or 6. Or if Richmond gave us both of their picks 2 and 3.

AFL would've had a disaster on their hands if their number 1 pick from two years ago decided he wanted to force his way to a Hawthorn or Geelong. Like honestly, how much of a pussy must Horne-Francis be to only go a year at North.

Bernard Cribbins Crying GIF

I was in Melbourne this morning for work, flew in yesterday. I’m WA based just to make that clear.

Picked up by a mad Hawthorn supporter to get me to my first appointment and listened to 14 mins of the 15 min drive how Harley was definitely coming to the Hawks.

Respectfully disagreed by stating that pantskyle had the inside word he was resigning. He doubled down that he had connections in Melbourne that were all saying he was going to the Hawks.

Ah the text message this arvo was meet in silence 🤣
Out of curiosity did they posit as to how Harley was getting to Hawthorn? Or were we just letting him go for free in this fantasy?

Sam Mitchell! Jack Gunston! Jason Dunstall! Richie Vandenburg! Josh Thurgood! Lance Picioane! Jonathon Patton! Jeff Kennett - can you hear me Jeff Kennett! Your boys took one hell of a beating! Your boys took one hell of a beating!

Imagine spending all evening at a wedding shamelessly chatting up the two most desirable prospects, embarrassing yourself and the wedding party, only for them to leave you on read the next 6 months.

At least it was only the footy players this time for old mate I suppose.

Out of curiosity did they posit as to how Harley was getting to Hawthorn? Or were we just letting him go for free in this fantasy?
I never understood the Hawthorn thing. If he requested we say great, how are you going to make it happen?

Hawks
No Idea Idk GIF by SWR3

Not sure why everyone is celebrating. We wanted 3 , or 5 and we landed on two after all this time. This celebration is premature

It just dawned on me both Williem Duursma and Harley may leave or request a trade during the same trade period. It will take the heat of things if they leave together.

William is contracted 2028
Harley is contracted 2028.

They both leave 2027

NVM stayed for 2 year at saints. Are we all thinking he is staying long term. No lol.

It's great he's here for two more years atleast
Are you and ep2018 related?
Asking for a friend

Hawthorn have not made an offer, at least not in the public eye. On the other hand Harley's management put the offer to West Coast on 22nd July, 3 weeks ago. 6 days later he gets injured and is out for the season. Then crickets....

Don't be naïve guys, the nightmare is happening. In your heart of heart you know a player of Harley's talent doesn't play for a team that has won 2 games in 2 years, sacked their coach and showing no signs of improvement.

I'll leave you all be, but I will be back in a few weeks with my receipts.

Happy Antonio Banderas GIF

Lindsay Lohan Lol GIF by MOODMAN