List Mgmt. Draftee, NGA and Father/Son Discussion - 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

AFL scraping fs nga and any bids in round 1 would be the best move they’ve made in a long time. FS is a stupid rule, afl fans who want to see this rule remain need to grow up.
Who hurt you? And where are my dinosaur nuggets?

Trust the AFL to overreact. Just make clubs pay a fair price for priority access to players. You want to take a player at pick 1? Great. Be prepared for the rest of your picks to land in the 50's.
AFL MUYFM(make up your f..n mind).
Haven't even had a draft period where the new points system has been tested.
I think the top 10 should be protected for clubs outside the 8 then access as per normal rules with the 10% discount.
There is NO incentive to spend decent money and resources on academies and NGA's which their is more money and resources needed if you remove a small 10% discount and access after top 10.
Clubs can then actually rebuild reasonably well with the top end not compromised as much.
I would love to see the resources poured into player development that the northern academies get from the AFL across all regions.
This would make it reasonably even to attract, develop and grow AFL player participation numbers nationally.
Leave the system alone that you have just changed and see how it plays out over the next few years, Tassie draft and then make changes if needed.

AFL scraping fs nga and any bids in round 1 would be the best move they’ve made in a long time. FS is a stupid rule, afl fans who want to see this rule remain need to grow up.

Sorry for intruding mate.

I love f/s but I don’t like the discounts or matching a top 5 pick with 3/4 pick 40s.
Make it harder to match. If a club wants to move up 10 - 15 spots then they need to use first round this year and the next. Or trade up somehow and get the equivalent points with a minimum of 2 picks.

Limit f/s to one pick per year per club. F/s is absolutely pure and utter luck.

Sorry for intruding mate.

I love f/s but I don’t like the discounts or matching a top 5 pick with 3/4 pick 40s.
Make it harder to match. If a club wants to move up 10 - 15 spots then they need to use first round this year and the next. Or trade up somehow and get the equivalent points with a minimum of 2 picks.

Limit f/s to one pick per year per club. F/s is absolutely pure and utter luck.
I just find it comical that a sport can have an equalisation tool (the draft) and then have these rules like father son which compromise said equalisation measure.

It’s idiotic in a way only the afl can pull off.

Commit to equalisation and integrity of the competition, if that means players playing elsewhere then their dad and afl committing to grass roots development themselves (in lieu of academies), then so be it.

FS is favouring romanticism over integrity, it’s that simple.

Liam wanting out may help our draft hand

If to St Blunders, we get hold of their pick 7 (8-after Oscar FA) and give them Hawks R1 plus Ryan (even if we need to sweeten with Hawks R2 if Hawks progress in finals)

Alternatively we get Steele as a gardened (but slow) inside mid. I know others want Wilson but I can’t see that happening.

I’d prefer Boxshall in a strait swap

The draft and points system is based off the NFL. No such thing as a FS romantic notion and not as if they have teams in non NFL locations like Mexico or Brazil.

You simply cannot have the romance of Father Son in a draft - if you want them trade up or get them in free agency.

Reality is that new talent has been introduced as a result of the academies. Just make the development states become AFL funded and all 4 NSW and QLD teams would be wanting to support home grown talent.

Swann is starting his tenure very well

I know we are smoking all sorts of stuff off the highs of today with Harley and the coaching restructure and we’re all in on optimism for next season… Liam Ryan is not worth sh** in the current trade market unfortunately. We should be hard goes here, but if we only get a F2 I wouldn’t at all be shocked. 29 year old luxury player with cooked hammies

Liam wanting out may help our draft hand

If to St Blunders, we get hold of their pick 7 (8-after Oscar FA) and give them Hawks R1 plus Ryan (even if we need to sweeten with Hawks R2 if Hawks progress in finals)

Alternatively we get Steele as a gardened (but slow) inside mid. I know others want Wilson but I can’t see that happening.

I’d prefer Boxshall in a strait swap
Are we dreaming that St Kilda will consider Ryan worth a high pick?
They will need to get a better pick if 7 is off limits, but currently their next best pick is 43.
Even if they get a 2nd round pick, it will be pushed out beyond the 40's, which makes it not worth it. Unless we're doing it just to help Ryan. They will need to manufacture a 1st round pick at minimum to make it favourable for us.
I don't think Boxshall is a chance unless he requests a trade back home. Can't see him being offered up like JK in the Judd trade.

If I read one more person saying x pick will blow out x far I’ll lose my mind. THE DVI HAS CHANGED NOW. All the value picks for teams bid matching are now the late first and the second round. THESE PICKS WILL DISAPPEAR. This is driving me absolutely insane and just goes to show how little attention some people pay. Gold Coast for example, to match their 2 boys in the top 6/7 picks will need to use at least something along the lines of a mid first, late first, 2 early 2nds, a mid 2nd and a late 2nd. At least something along the lines of 7, 17, 23, 24, 32, and 36. We are not dealing with the same draft as previously. If they end up with 7, 12, and 17, they’ll have barely enough to match 2 top 5 bids. That will also remove a pick from the first round after they’ve bid twice.

They will need to get a better pick if 7 is off limits, but currently their next best pick is 43.
Even if they get a 2nd round pick, it will be pushed out beyond the 40's, which makes it not worth it. Unless we're doing it just to help Ryan. They will need to manufacture a 1st round pick at minimum to make it favourable for us.
I don't think Boxshall is a chance unless he requests a trade back home. Can't see him being offered up like JK in the Judd trade.

secret smell GIF

He's contracted, he's an AA, time to pay up Ross ya dog. Pick 7 at a minmum.

I know we are smoking all sorts of stuff off the highs of today with Harley and the coaching restructure and we’re all in on optimism for next season… Liam Ryan is not worth sh** in the current trade market unfortunately. We should be hard goes here, but if we only get a F2 I wouldn’t at all be shocked. 29 year old luxury player with cooked hammies
Hes worth way more than a f2, if he was uncontracted id be ok with a f2, but hes contracted.

Late first or equivalent value, I know our list management was very weak last year, but I have faith they learnt their lesson with all the feedback from fans - and we arent dealing with Matty Clarkes mates at the Tigers now.

Tbh I dont think we really should be chasing Boxshall too hard anyway, just draft a couple mids this year and rely on Hall/Sharp to be what Boxshall is. No biggie.

The Saints have a multitude of KPDs on their list(4 of them quite young 21 or under) - Wilkie, Howard, Caminiti, Schoenmaker, Tauru and Barrat.
Thats where we should be looking tbh, Barrat for example will be years away from gametime with those other guys ahead of him, especially if they get JSOS.

I just find it comical that a sport can have an equalisation tool (the draft) and then have these rules like father son which compromise said equalisation measure.

It’s idiotic in a way only the afl can pull off.

Commit to equalisation and integrity of the competition, if that means players playing elsewhere then their dad and afl committing to grass roots development themselves (in lieu of academies), then so be it.

FS is favouring romanticism over integrity, it’s that simple.

twce13 know what you're saying, and agree with you on the top end of the draft, but I dunno, I think there is room for romanticism as long as it's down the late end. Jake Waterman at pick 77 vibes - if other clubs actually wanted him they had plenty of opportunities to grab him - Adelaide in that draft bid on Ben Davis at pick 75, who was in Sydney's academy (they didn't bother matching). If they'd say bid on Jake at that pick and we stole him off them at 75, I kind of reckon that's fine, that's romanticism I could handle (same if Adelaide took Luke Edwards off our bid in the 50s and he became a star, like at that stage its all luck of the draw and I think there is some fun room for tradition).

Indigenous participation at the higher levels is an issue (as well as more Indigenous players in the AFL being a great thing for their communities and footy in general), so I also think the academies are valuable - sure the AFL could do a lot at low-level grassroots themselves but the academies are a good way of bridging the gap for a lot of these guys who aren't getting as clear a run at the draft/showing their stuff as your average Melbourne Grammar white 17 year olds. Getting the Dewars, the Wes Walleys/Tylah Williams' on a list when they might not otherwise (or giving them the security that they may not need to move as far away from home if they're bid on at pick 77) I think is a really good thing.

It's just a farce when a player is a straight guarantee to be drafted, academy/FS or not, and even more of a farce when the other 17 clubs would have wanted to take them, with a decent pick even, were it not for these systems. Walter, the Ashcrofts, Heeney etc etc. That's not romanticism or 'giving someone a chance' through the academies, it's just a broken system as you say. Players taken in the first round also get longer contracts, more money, are more likely to make it, usually would have more support behind them if they moved interstate, it's just not what its for, and there's not that fun feeling of romanticism you get from an unlikely academy success story, or a Waterman (or even a GAJ, we could have bid on him with the Seaby pick a full round earlier if we wanted to).

I think the intent behind it is good - maybe just scrap it all in the first 2 rounds. Gives clubs theoretically 2 chances to pick up a player if they really want them, if a club then gets lucky on someone after that good on them. Lets the academies do what they're supposed to, late F/Ss be an interesting story, but the reigning premiers not be able to pick up Ashcroft if someone wants him. Or as KrispyKreme said, make it way way harder earlier on somehow. Could also make it another equalisation thing where the bottom 4 teams can bid from 2nd round onwards or something like that, I dunno.

Just know as a footy fan and draft watcher I'm like you when the top 10 is entirely compromised. Once it gets past pick 40, I start to come around and find any academy or F/S bids/picks a lot more interesting, fun and justifiable.

Pretty interesting our board seems to just expecting that 1 of the big 3 you don't take we will get, (although I think the preference would be for you guys to take cdt so we aren't left with that option), and expecting Sharp to fall

Dursma
Sharp
Grlj (preferably via a trade down)
Cumming
Marsh (as a wing)
CDT

Are you guys concerned about Duursma's go home factor at all seeing as his brother has already done that?
Which brother has gone home, both are with Melbourne based clubs. The sister that was involved with Harley at one stage has returned to Melb as she plays AFLW for Carlton.

If I read one more person saying x pick will blow out x far I’ll lose my mind. THE DVI HAS CHANGED NOW. All the value picks for teams bid matching are now the late first and the second round. THESE PICKS WILL DISAPPEAR. This is driving me absolutely insane and just goes to show how little attention some people pay. Gold Coast for example, to match their 2 boys in the top 6/7 picks will need to use at least something along the lines of a mid first, late first, 2 early 2nds, a mid 2nd and a late 2nd. At least something along the lines of 7, 17, 23, 24, 32, and 36. We are not dealing with the same draft as previously. If they end up with 7, 12, and 17, they’ll have barely enough to match 2 top 5 bids. That will also remove a pick from the first round after they’ve bid twice.
I've also got our second round pick landing at 23 in the open draft after compensations for Allen, De Koning, Draper and Worpel. Annable, Uwland, Patterson, King, Dean and Addinsall are all likely to go in the first round. By the time we get towards the end of the first round, bids likely come in for Sweid and McCarthy as well. I've potentially missed some but that puts our pick at 30 again. As far as removing picks goes, it is possible that those clubs involved have picks that get eaten up but more than likely they get sold, preserving those picks in the draft order. The Suns and Lions, in particular, have strong motivation to get involved in deals with us, Richmond and Essendon to push bids on their players down the order, saving them points without having to bring points in. The second round is where a heap of picks will get eaten up.

Which brother has gone home, both are with Melbourne based clubs. The sister that was involved with Harley at one stage has returned to Melb as she plays AFLW for Carlton.
Xavier was originally at Port adelaide drafted same yr as butters and rozee in 2018 and then requested a trade to essendon, has been there since 2024.

Equalization - the action or process of making things the same in quantity, size, or degree throughout a place or group.

So, the teams at the bottom should be given a little bit more assistance to make everything more standard.

My proposal would be to limit f/s and academy picks to only those after your first round pick.

In essence, the wooden spooner (if they are lucky enough) to have a f/s or nga or academy pick at pick 1 - they can use picks after this to get them on top to pick 1.

The premier would be limited to f/s/nga/academic picks after 18.