List Mgmt. Draftee, NGA and Father/Son Discussion - 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

twce13 know what you're saying, and agree with you on the top end of the draft, but I dunno, I think there is room for romanticism as long as it's down the late end. Jake Waterman at pick 77 vibes - if other clubs actually wanted him they had plenty of opportunities to grab him - Adelaide in that draft bid on Ben Davis at pick 75, who was in Sydney's academy (they didn't bother matching). If they'd say bid on Jake at that pick and we stole him off them at 75, I kind of reckon that's fine, that's romanticism I could handle (same if Adelaide took Luke Edwards off our bid in the 50s and he became a star, like at that stage its all luck of the draw and I think there is some fun room for tradition).

Indigenous participation at the higher levels is an issue (as well as more Indigenous players in the AFL being a great thing for their communities and footy in general), so I also think the academies are valuable - sure the AFL could do a lot at low-level grassroots themselves but the academies are a good way of bridging the gap for a lot of these guys who aren't getting as clear a run at the draft/showing their stuff as your average Melbourne Grammar white 17 year olds. Getting the Dewars, the Wes Walleys/Tylah Williams' on a list when they might not otherwise (or giving them the security that they may not need to move as far away from home if they're bid on at pick 77) I think is a really good thing.

It's just a farce when a player is a straight guarantee to be drafted, academy/FS or not, and even more of a farce when the other 17 clubs would have wanted to take them, with a decent pick even, were it not for these systems. Walter, the Ashcrofts, Heeney etc etc. That's not romanticism or 'giving someone a chance' through the academies, it's just a broken system as you say. Players taken in the first round also get longer contracts, more money, are more likely to make it, usually would have more support behind them if they moved interstate, it's just not what its for, and there's not that fun feeling of romanticism you get from an unlikely academy success story, or a Waterman (or even a GAJ, we could have bid on him with the Seaby pick a full round earlier if we wanted to).

I think the intent behind it is good - maybe just scrap it all in the first 2 rounds. Gives clubs theoretically 2 chances to pick up a player if they really want them, if a club then gets lucky on someone after that good on them. Lets the academies do what they're supposed to, late F/Ss be an interesting story, but the reigning premiers not be able to pick up Ashcroft if someone wants him. Or as KrispyKreme said, make it way way harder earlier on somehow. Could also make it another equalisation thing where the bottom 4 teams can bid from 2nd round onwards or something like that, I dunno.

Just know as a footy fan and draft watcher I'm like you when the top 10 is entirely compromised. Once it gets past pick 40, I start to come around and find any academy or F/S bids/picks a lot more interesting, fun and justifiable.

Or well maybe father sons become exempt from the draft all together. Unless they decide to enter the draft. That way clubs get the F/S they’ve brought up around the club pretty sure that was what used to happen

Why does the AFL make everything so hard.

I dont have issue with NGA F/S.

Would it not be easier if they just make a club pay a **** off premium where they question themselves should we even bid?

Clubs to still invest in the development of kids and if a club really believe they have a kid thats worth it they go for it or just do an open draft and no one gets shit, it is getting to complicated.

I just think it will suck when west coast develop a jet kid for 6 years and then they can’t take the kid they’ve just put time and money into through NGA???

Lance Collard at Moorabbin says to say hi

50% premium for top 10, 25% for rest of 1st round, no premium after that.

Done. That would work.....

If the kid is a gun, then it would still make sense to pay the premium. One thing that should be mandated is, ALL clubs have the same rules regarding NGA.

Mate, if you have the capacity to create a line of dynasty players I am pretty sure every club would be okay giving up their draft hand.

Well then clubs should close all there academy’s then if you cannot gain access to the players you put time and effort into.

Just make the bidding fair. Minimum two picks. Not 4 not 5

We are looking more at the top 10 of the draft, and how to get 3-4 picks in that area than a kid who is not likely to get picked until late first round at best

series 11 what GIF by Doctor Who

StKilda are just a jealous liability on the league. Clubs won't bid on FS picks at all.

All this talk is just nonsense. No son of a Brisbane or Collingwood stalwart is going to play for St Kilda, & you're not going to bid on players that wont stay.

The simplest solution to the bidding system is to make a club match a pick within a certain number of draft places of the bid. This can step down as the draft goes on and trading can occur on the night for clubs to match. If the club cant get a trade done the bidding club gets that player at risk.

The whole points system should be abolished as any abstract value system is subject to abuse, manipulation and worse.

Well then clubs should close all there academy’s then if you cannot gain access to the players you put time and effort into.

Just make the bidding fair. Minimum two picks. Not 4 not 5

The AFL should run all Academies then the players are open to be picked up by anyone in the draft

He's tanking so he gets picked by WCE or Freo. He was our best in the under 18's championship and yet is ranked
lower than some of his team mates.
Lets hope he is, and Freo dont know about it (or they trade away their 1st rounder, leaving him to our 2nd round pick) 🙏

Locking out the first round is kind of being half pregnant.

Either be done with them altogether or make clubs pay a higher above fair price.

I Wonder if you could give clubs an incentive to bid so that players are at least taken where they should. Maybe Extra points to play with the following year.

Locking out the 1st round solves the compromised draft issue and retains the father son romnce and rewarding clubs for academy investments.

See no downside at all retaining academy and father son access from pick 19 onwards.

The AFL should run all Academies then the players are open to be picked up by anyone in the draft

AFL run them and contract clubs to support them.

Best of both worlds. Clubs get paid by the AFL to support player development.

The dodgy deals and access rorts end. Academies continue.

He's tanking so he gets picked by WCE or Freo. He was our best in the under 18's championship and yet is ranked
lower than some of his team mates.
He hasn't actually done any tanking. He's played a couple of league games where they played him up forward and expectations have done the rest.

People surprised he didn't have 25 touches and a 3 goals from a forward pocket.

Does anyone know what's happened with Rodriguez?
Named U18 All Australian this year but not sighted in most top 30 power rankings?

If he's there at our forth pick (R2) he'd look great in the Wings.

We won't need a top 10 pick to land him and he's been rated top 5 previously.

We would have been tracking him for years and a perfect Cripps replacement.

A Zac Bailey type HHF / mid?

Id be pretty happy if we used pick 19(or wherever it ends up) on Rodriguez as our last pick, assuming we find a KPD somewhere else

Only having seen a couple of videos posted here and the normal mocks/draft guides.

I'd be keen for
1. Duursma
2. Sharp
? Farrow
? Fred R

Feel like we have a good record of finding talented talls later in the draft, and can do this year (though have NGA's) or next. Hell if we cut someone like Barnett we could sign Brynn Teakle as a stop gap for free. He'd be a big improvement.

Will need to trade up to get Farrow I imagine.

Only having seen a couple of videos posted here and the normal mocks/draft guides.

I'd be keen for
1. Duursma
2. Sharp
? Farrow
? Fred R

Feel like we have a good record of finding talented talls later in the draft, and can do this year (though have NGA's) or next. Hell if we cut someone like Barnett we could sign Brynn Teakle as a stop gap for free. He'd be a big improvement.
If we are signing Teakle we are in some trouble, would be purely a WAFL signing. Hes not better than either of Flynn or BW thats for sure
Will need to trade up to get Farrow I imagine.
Yeah id assume so

If we are signing Teakle we are in some trouble, would be purely a WAFL signing. Hes not better than either of Flynn or BW thats for sure

Yeah id assume so
No, he's a stop gap for a year if we cut deep into Livingstone, Barnett types who he is all far better than.

Stoppage not centre square mid like Sheed. Good off both feet.
More than happy to play Rodriguez as the hard working high half forward and/or use Brockman at the centre bounces then swap positions with Fred. That said, Hewett is a little like that.

Hence the need to get Yeo fit, bring in Sharp and back in Gross to be more midfield focussed.

Frod staying under the radar for Freo R1 , he trained with Freo in the preseason and bonded with some of the players ..

No, he's a stop gap for a year if we cut deep into Livingstone, Barnett types who he is all far better than.

Treakle has had his chance and fallen short.

Livingstone and Barnett are still developing. We don't know their ceiling and we should retain both IMO. Talls take time, nothing new there.

Nankervis left the Swans for a packet of chips and moved to Richmond. We all know what happened next.