- #5,203

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
We want to keep one pick around that mark for Ison.I don’t understand why we did that pick swap with Hawthorn? I understood it for the points, but then we traded two of the picks away
No current season stats available
I'd say it would have definitely played a part. Very close mates.I think that it is highly possible that Hayward coming to Carlton was dependent upon his mate Florent getting there also. Wouldn't surprise me that it was a condition.
Cripps isn't a KPF, he's a pure inside mid and always will be. He's KPF size but he's nowhere near the required levels in terms of contested marking, timing his leads and general forward craft.The clear weak spot on our list now is tall forwards. Perhaps others are right and we're going to play a more fluid style, spreading the forward line instead of long bombs to Charlie. Perhaps there's some mature ager we rate who we'll get on the cheap. But I reckon one intriguing option would be for Crippa to spend more time forward - he's got the size and strength, and his once terrible goalkicking has become much better as he's gone on. We've got plenty of other options for inside mids (Hewett, Cerra, Lord) and outside (Walsh, Smith, Williams, Hollands), and Crippa is there to throw on the ball for bursts if we need him.
As for the Curnow trade - did well to get three first-rounders and a very handy forward in Hayward for a bloke that finished 9th in the B&F in 2024 and missed the top ten in 2025 despite playing just about every game both years. He's not the Curnow of 2023 anymore, as the Swans will discover.
So, we have a 'one' from 'one' failure rate. I don't think that's much of a sample size to prove anything, even if ours took a little longer than expected. It took Brisbane about that, and you can bet your bottom dollar that they are not going to whinge and send their two premierships back sooking that they 'didn't arrive on time'.What do you call it when you trade away your best player and let a bunch of other veterans walk as free agents, leaving the team deliberately uncompetitive, all so that you can invest heavily in draft picks over a 2-3 year period?
I know this one... Yep, there it is... Rebuild Time!!!
No one does this better than Carlton, either. Give it 12 months and we'll be up to our ankles in green shoots!
Because it was negatively dictating the terms of two potential trades and whether it was used for points or not, it delivered more to us by splitting it. We also moved ahead of what might have been considered an additional Essendon pick.We want to keep one pick around that mark for Ison.
Elijah would be a culture move on the back of him not able to find something that he, the playing group, and the organisation can agree on, McGovern would be him leaving for significantly more money. White is uncontracted, as I assume is Floyd.Has to be some very nervous players atm.
Picks 9 & 11 looking to be upgraded for Top 4-5 pick
Harry Dean
Jack Ison
Looking at Gresham and/or Clarke
Looking at DFA/SSP possibilities for KPD
We have 3 spots and could need up to 6
I posted this a month ago but a contracted player or two could easily be cut
Elijah, White, McGovern, Binns, Fogarty are all a watch IMO
I think the AFL will renege on the briefly touted “two picks in the round” decree. If a player goes one, will need two top tens, and that will become all but impossible.Walker likely to cost 1900-2700 points next year
Need both sides to not make 8!
Or we use 11 and a 2027 1st for a 3rd 2026 first rounder?
nope, chb is what we need. haynes (not his position), young, mcgovern are not up to itA key forward who can step in and be ready to play should something happen to Harry should be the biggest priority outside of managing the assets necessary to draft Dean and Ison.
Probably a delisted free agent. Not sure who the most likely candidates would be.
Yep, no matter what combo of current names you run with in the backline, it still looks volatile. Need another big body in there.Hypothetically... Say we take Ah Chee in the PSD and he doesn't kick up a huge stink about it... This forward line actually looks better than it did this year lmao.
KPD depth is still a massive issue for me. Need to pick up a Derksen or Blight type as a DFA imo, give Dean the opportunity to develop in the VFL and build up his body to compete with the AFL level KPFs.
Lachie Cowan - Jacob Weitering - Harry Dean
Ollie Florent - Nick Haynes - Nic Newman
Ollie Hollands - Patrick Cripps - Campbell Chesser
Marc Pittonet - Jagga Smith - Sam Walsh
Ben Ainsworth - Hudson O'Keefe - Zac Williams
Will Hayward - Harry Mckay - Callum Ah Chee
Adam Cerra - Ashton Moir - Matthew Cottrell - Adam Saad - George Hewett
Well done BletchSee table in quoted message below. We currently have one spot available.
We will have to cut several players to make use of the picks available (and draft Dean & Ison).
I expect Gov will be retained, due to list balance. Flynn Young and White to be cut, and Lij to be paid out. I understand that Evans and Charleson have new contracts, though nothing has been officially said by the club.
If all of the above happens, we'll end up taking four picks to the draft. I'd expect to use three of them, and then one rookie - possibly re-rookie Young or White, though more likely to be another tall.
It's also possible we may be active during the pick trade period (starting tomorrow), to try and consolidate picks 43, 54, 67 and 72 into 2 picks (or to next year).
Pretty odd take.Yeah right. We brought in some veterans (and all likeable enough players to have) because someone has to play next year.
I like all of Chesser, Florent, Haywood and Ainsworth, but they aren't better than Curnow/TDK/Silvagni/Dochety and we are losing more on top it seems.
We finished 11th and will start next season with:
- less veteran players than 2025
- less good players than 2025
Not exactly a recipe for high expectations.
So again, we are probably sliding down the ladder into the bottom 6, while also accumulating multiple first round draft picks in each of the next 3 drafts. Is that not a rebuild?
Just this year, or rehashing last year?
Look, I don't know how difficult things are with Curnow, but unless it was utterly unworkable, I wouldn't have traded him without getting something more concrete back the other way. I'd rather just wait and rehash the trade next year in a stronger draft. Melbourne did so with Petracca and have two top 10 picks this year to show for it.
We could have kept Charlie, and brought in Ainsworth, Chesser and Florent on the same deals, or a version of them. I wouldn't have let Silvagni's situation drag on the way it did (where he was basically told to wait for TDK first) and so I don't think he is gone.
Waiting on Charlie would also be better with our coaching situation too. Voss has one year left. How on earth do we evaluate 2026 for him, having moved on half the squad in two years? While I'm sure he has had some input into that... It just seems to complicate that
Sure. It may not be the wrong path to take. I just think we should be honest about where we are at. We're rebuilding. Maybe not scorched earth, thank god... (I think we know that is a very hard road to take). The hope is that it's more 'Collingwood 2021' rebuilding than 'Carlton for the entire 21st century'....
Injury list is a bigger variable imoBiggest question mark for me remains the coaching and strategy
West Coast too. He's mates with StarcevichC4[2]Yo`DooR I recall you saying the Blues we're keen on Ah Chee earlier in the year... Any chance we go nuclear on the feral Crows?
I'm assuming Port would be a big chance of taking him too tbh
Can't see us as a chance for Ah Chee, either due to list spaces (tight for us), plus salary cap. I reckon for Adelaide to get Ah Chee in the PSD, they're going to have to put a massive first year salary on Ah Chee, and still hope to navigate past clubs like North, Richmond, WC, etc... It'll be an interesting watch...C4[2]Yo`DooR I recall you saying the Blues we're keen on Ah Chee earlier in the year... Any chance we go nuclear on the feral Crows?
I'm assuming Port would be a big chance of taking him too tbh
We will have truck loads of cap space after the exits this year.Can't see us as a chance for Ah Chee, either due to list spaces (tight for us), plus salary cap. I reckon for Adelaide to get Ah Chee in the PSD, they're going to have to put a massive first year salary on Ah Chee, and still hope to navigate past clubs like North, Richmond, WC, etc... It'll be an interesting watch...
How much do you think Adelaide will have to front load his contract to get past clubs like North, WC, etc?We will have truck loads of cap space after the exits this year.