List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

Hypothetically... Say we take Ah Chee in the PSD and he doesn't kick up a huge stink about it... This forward line actually looks better than it did this year lmao.

KPD depth is still a massive issue for me. Need to pick up a Derksen or Blight type as a DFA imo, give Dean the opportunity to develop in the VFL and build up his body to compete with the AFL level KPFs.

Lachie Cowan - Jacob Weitering - Harry Dean
Ollie Florent - Nick Haynes - Nic Newman

Ollie Hollands - Patrick Cripps - Campbell Chesser
Marc Pittonet - Jagga Smith - Sam Walsh

Ben Ainsworth - Hudson O'Keefe - Zac Williams
Will Hayward - Harry Mckay - Callum Ah Chee

Adam Cerra - Ashton Moir - Matthew Cottrell - Adam Saad - George Hewett

The clear weak spot on our list now is tall forwards. Perhaps others are right and we're going to play a more fluid style, spreading the forward line instead of long bombs to Charlie. Perhaps there's some mature ager we rate who we'll get on the cheap. But I reckon one intriguing option would be for Crippa to spend more time forward - he's got the size and strength, and his once terrible goalkicking has become much better as he's gone on. We've got plenty of other options for inside mids (Hewett, Cerra, Lord) and outside (Walsh, Smith, Williams, Hollands), and Crippa is there to throw on the ball for bursts if we need him.
As for the Curnow trade - did well to get three first-rounders and a very handy forward in Hayward for a bloke that finished 9th in the B&F in 2024 and missed the top ten in 2025 despite playing just about every game both years. He's not the Curnow of 2023 anymore, as the Swans will discover.

The clear weak spot on our list now is tall forwards. Perhaps others are right and we're going to play a more fluid style, spreading the forward line instead of long bombs to Charlie. Perhaps there's some mature ager we rate who we'll get on the cheap. But I reckon one intriguing option would be for Crippa to spend more time forward - he's got the size and strength, and his once terrible goalkicking has become much better as he's gone on. We've got plenty of other options for inside mids (Hewett, Cerra, Lord) and outside (Walsh, Smith, Williams, Hollands), and Crippa is there to throw on the ball for bursts if we need him.
As for the Curnow trade - did well to get three first-rounders and a very handy forward in Hayward for a bloke that finished 9th in the B&F in 2024 and missed the top ten in 2025 despite playing just about every game both years. He's not the Curnow of 2023 anymore, as the Swans will discover.
Cripps isn't a KPF, he's a pure inside mid and always will be. He's KPF size but he's nowhere near the required levels in terms of contested marking, timing his leads and general forward craft.

Will play on ball next year and try and drag a smaller mid forward to score, far more successful doing that than he's had up against a genuine KPD when he's played minutes up forward.

What do you call it when you trade away your best player and let a bunch of other veterans walk as free agents, leaving the team deliberately uncompetitive, all so that you can invest heavily in draft picks over a 2-3 year period?

I know this one... Yep, there it is... Rebuild Time!!!

No one does this better than Carlton, either. Give it 12 months and we'll be up to our ankles in green shoots!
So, we have a 'one' from 'one' failure rate. I don't think that's much of a sample size to prove anything, even if ours took a little longer than expected. It took Brisbane about that, and you can bet your bottom dollar that they are not going to whinge and send their two premierships back sooking that they 'didn't arrive on time'. :rolleyes:

Best:

FB: Haynes Dean Carroll
HB: Cowan Weitering Saad
C: Florent Cerra Chesser
HF: Walsh Kemp Ainsworth
FF: Hayward McKay Williams

R: O'Keeffe Cripps Hewett

Int: O.Hollands, Smith, McGovern, Moir, Acres

Rest:

FB: H'OF L.Young Newman
HB: Wilson Duffy Charleson
C: Cottrell Lord L.Camporeale
HF: Fogarty Ison Monahan
FF: E.Hollands Reidy Evans

R: Pittonet B.Camporeale Motlop

Int: Binns, Boyd, White, F.Young

While we have to remove at least 1 now, personally I'd clear the final 4 on the bench out, trade so we can take a top end draft pick (Robey), and then mull over DFA/rookie/SSP. Happy to invite White and Floyd back to train amongst other candidates.

The Ainsworth move and the lack of a Khamis trade have killed the idea of retaining enough points alongside two top 10 picks, and it's still filtering through exactly where Dean is rated. IMO we're ahead of likely bids, with Melbourne the only clear spoiler, but they more desperately need star mids.

KPF depth stands out as an issue, but there'll be options.

We want to keep one pick around that mark for Ison.
Because it was negatively dictating the terms of two potential trades and whether it was used for points or not, it delivered more to us by splitting it. We also moved ahead of what might have been considered an additional Essendon pick.

Hawks are happy, we're happy, Sydney are happy.

Has to be some very nervous players atm.

Picks 9 & 11 looking to be upgraded for Top 4-5 pick
Harry Dean
Jack Ison
Looking at Gresham and/or Clarke
Looking at DFA/SSP possibilities for KPD

We have 3 spots and could need up to 6

I posted this a month ago but a contracted player or two could easily be cut

Elijah, White, McGovern, Binns, Fogarty are all a watch IMO

Has to be some very nervous players atm.

Picks 9 & 11 looking to be upgraded for Top 4-5 pick
Harry Dean
Jack Ison
Looking at Gresham and/or Clarke
Looking at DFA/SSP possibilities for KPD

We have 3 spots and could need up to 6

I posted this a month ago but a contracted player or two could easily be cut

Elijah, White, McGovern, Binns, Fogarty are all a watch IMO
Elijah would be a culture move on the back of him not able to find something that he, the playing group, and the organisation can agree on, McGovern would be him leaving for significantly more money. White is uncontracted, as I assume is Floyd.

KPD is silly if we retain McGovern, and a problem we can address in the 2026 off-season. KPF stands out far more as an issue, but other than that we should just seek talented players, ideally ones that are mobile. Robey kills three birds with one stone.

Not sure Clarke would get a better offer than SSP train-on, plus our cat B list is already locked in. Likely the same story with Gresham.

Walker likely to cost 1900-2700 points next year

Need both sides to not make 8!

Or we use 11 and a 2027 1st for a 3rd 2026 first rounder?
I think the AFL will renege on the briefly touted “two picks in the round” decree. If a player goes one, will need two top tens, and that will become all but impossible.

Not right to deny a kid wedded to his father’s team the right to get there. No father son has yet been denied the opportunity to get to his family club. It is part of the fabric of our game. The multiple academy picks that the Suns in particular have banked is a much bigger issue than F/S. We have made massive moves, trading out a “superstar” to get a second first rounder next year. That should be sufficient. We should be allowed to make up any shortfall with later picks or a future pick.

We've brought in Ainsworth and Hayward, and will draft Ison. Given list spaces are tight, I can see a world where White and F.Young, and Elijah Hollands aren't on our list. There is also a question mark over Boyd (with addition like Florent).
Could we afford to pay out 2 players (EH and Boyd)?
Also, what are the chances that 1 or both of Gresham and Clarke are on our list? At the moment it doesn't seem likely either will, given list spaces seem tight...

A key forward who can step in and be ready to play should something happen to Harry should be the biggest priority outside of managing the assets necessary to draft Dean and Ison.
Probably a delisted free agent. Not sure who the most likely candidates would be.
nope, chb is what we need. haynes (not his position), young, mcgovern are not up to it

Hypothetically... Say we take Ah Chee in the PSD and he doesn't kick up a huge stink about it... This forward line actually looks better than it did this year lmao.

KPD depth is still a massive issue for me. Need to pick up a Derksen or Blight type as a DFA imo, give Dean the opportunity to develop in the VFL and build up his body to compete with the AFL level KPFs.

Lachie Cowan - Jacob Weitering - Harry Dean
Ollie Florent - Nick Haynes - Nic Newman

Ollie Hollands - Patrick Cripps - Campbell Chesser
Marc Pittonet - Jagga Smith - Sam Walsh

Ben Ainsworth - Hudson O'Keefe - Zac Williams
Will Hayward - Harry Mckay - Callum Ah Chee

Adam Cerra - Ashton Moir - Matthew Cottrell - Adam Saad - George Hewett
Yep, no matter what combo of current names you run with in the backline, it still looks volatile. Need another big body in there.

Might have to try HOK at FB

See table in quoted message below. We currently have one spot available.

We will have to cut several players to make use of the picks available (and draft Dean & Ison).

I expect Gov will be retained, due to list balance. Flynn Young and White to be cut, and Lij to be paid out. I understand that Evans and Charleson have new contracts, though nothing has been officially said by the club.

If all of the above happens, we'll end up taking four picks to the draft. I'd expect to use three of them, and then one rookie - possibly re-rookie Young or White, though more likely to be another tall.

It's also possible we may be active during the pick trade period (starting tomorrow), to try and consolidate picks 43, 54, 67 and 72 into 2 picks (or to next year).
Well done Bletch

Saved me pointing out (long windedly listing all players) that we have a likelihood of three draft picks after a couple more outs that have been forecast and possibly one rookie pick.

Logic says we retain McGovern (as a rookie given - requirements for three picks and/or elevations) or pick up a mature tall as (at least) depth.

This old list management student suggests perhaps some pick swaps for a few more points ahead of the draft meaning the Dean pick (or match), a later match for Ison and possibly/probably a late first or early second rounder to take to the draft. Given what we have picked up, I would grab the best available tall which could be WalshistheGOAT mate Louis Emmett or later options like Curtin, Hetherton, Ah-Mu, or 2nd rated KPD Thredgold (meaning HOF goes forward when returns). If Dean doesn’t get an early bid, we may even get a shot at Aiden Schubert.

Flynn Young and Will White would be unlucky to be cut, but the numbers game may do just that. A mature tall as an SSP or straight rookie selection would cover us somewhat after losing Curnow, TDK and SOS, HOF’s ACL and delisting Lemmey along with a potentially slow start for Kempy.

Unlike many on here, I am very bullish about the changes. Despite what we have lost, it is conceivable, by upgrading areas of need, Jagga getting started, Newman returning etc and young players developing, we have had a nett improvement this off season.

Yeah right. We brought in some veterans (and all likeable enough players to have) because someone has to play next year.

I like all of Chesser, Florent, Haywood and Ainsworth, but they aren't better than Curnow/TDK/Silvagni/Dochety and we are losing more on top it seems.

We finished 11th and will start next season with:
  • less veteran players than 2025
  • less good players than 2025

Not exactly a recipe for high expectations.

So again, we are probably sliding down the ladder into the bottom 6, while also accumulating multiple first round draft picks in each of the next 3 drafts. Is that not a rebuild?

Just this year, or rehashing last year?

Look, I don't know how difficult things are with Curnow, but unless it was utterly unworkable, I wouldn't have traded him without getting something more concrete back the other way. I'd rather just wait and rehash the trade next year in a stronger draft. Melbourne did so with Petracca and have two top 10 picks this year to show for it.

We could have kept Charlie, and brought in Ainsworth, Chesser and Florent on the same deals, or a version of them. I wouldn't have let Silvagni's situation drag on the way it did (where he was basically told to wait for TDK first) and so I don't think he is gone.

Waiting on Charlie would also be better with our coaching situation too. Voss has one year left. How on earth do we evaluate 2026 for him, having moved on half the squad in two years? While I'm sure he has had some input into that... It just seems to complicate that

Sure. It may not be the wrong path to take. I just think we should be honest about where we are at. We're rebuilding. Maybe not scorched earth, thank god... (I think we know that is a very hard road to take). The hope is that it's more 'Collingwood 2021' rebuilding than 'Carlton for the entire 21st century'....
Pretty odd take.

Outs you listed:
Curnow was checked out and very poor defensively
JSOS was very good
TDK will be missed badly
Docherty was sadly fringe and struggled all year

Ins:
Hayward is a downgrade on Charlie in talent, but on 2025 output plus his defensive side, we don't lose much
Florent is an upgrade on either Acres or our HBF
Ainsworth is a huge upgrade on our ever revolving door of subpar small forwards
Chesser is promising

Given how well the incoming players fill our needs, theres no reason to believe we wont improve in 2026.

Biggest question mark for me remains the coaching and strategy.

C4[2]Yo`DooR I recall you saying the Blues we're keen on Ah Chee earlier in the year... Any chance we go nuclear on the feral Crows?

I'm assuming Port would be a big chance of taking him too tbh

Can't see us as a chance for Ah Chee, either due to list spaces (tight for us), plus salary cap. I reckon for Adelaide to get Ah Chee in the PSD, they're going to have to put a massive first year salary on Ah Chee, and still hope to navigate past clubs like North, Richmond, WC, etc... It'll be an interesting watch...
We will have truck loads of cap space after the exits this year.

The only way I can see us getting above a bid for dean is with Essendon. 9 and 11 for 6, 27 and 30. 27 and 30 will come in to 22 and 25 (1276 points) by the dean bid. That matches a bid at 9 which is where pick 6 will be after GC and Bris bids. We will also have enough points to match an Ison bid from 25. We need a handshake agreement with Essendon that they won’t bid the pick before. I don’t see Richmond bidding as they have several key position players. Essendon will then end with pick 8, 13, 15, and 19. Win win