Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2025 - Picks 9, 10, 13, 37

Dude Hobbs was ass, let it go

That is not even in the galaxy of the point.

If we aren’t going to treat Sharp like we’ve treated Hobbs and Tsatas for that matter, don’t draft him.

Plain and simple, it’s utterly pointless and does us and him a disservice.

That is not even in the galaxy of the point.

If we aren’t going to treat Sharp like we’ve treated Hobbs and Tsatas for that matter, don’t draft him.

Plain and simple, it’s utterly pointless and does us and him a disservice.
Not sure what you wanted them to do with Hobbs and Tsatas. Combined both of them have played zero good AFL games. Just because you’re picked in the first round doesn’t mean the club has to have boundless faith in you. They are trying to win games at the end of the day.

If Sharp is good and contributed to the team, no worries.

Watching highlights of Sharp and he certainly knows how to take mark up forward.

Makes me wonder is he a bit similar to Cumming? Maybe Farrow with his size and strong left boot makes a more compelling paring with Sharp.

Especially if Merrett and Martin are our two best users in the middle, beyond that there's definitely room for someone another young mid with good kicking. And Farrow just screams the type of player Hawthorn would go for.

I can see that Rosa is having real trouble pushing 3 of (who is available from) Farrow, Sharp and Cumming/Robey into 2 slots, hence the keenness to move up the board. I think 2026 draft scouting has to come into play here to solve the puzzle, given we will most likely be bottom 6 again next year.

It's much harder to get the Mcluggage/Neale/Ashcrofts/etc. than it is to find someone to play the defensive role (e.g. Atkins, Long, Worpel etc.) which can often be done with relatively light draft capital. Spending top 10 picks on defensive mids is not where I would want our list management to go.

Good posts last day or so mate 👌. Giving a different perspective then the general group and presented some good ideas/points.

We desperately lack any elite talent and I don't see Sharp as having that upside. We can't be using top 10 picks for 'nice pieces'

Very much in favor of trying to do 5/6 for 2/13 so we can secure Robey (or CDT).

P.S. I seem to remember you very heavily wanting Jhye Clark, having him rated ahead of Tsatas/Phillipou - wonder if you have a blind spot for inside mids with leadership that produce at juniors, over indexing on what you've seen to date vs projecting forward to what happens at AFL level with program development. I desperately wanted Phillipou over Tsatas and Robey vs. Sharp feels like deja vu for mine.
Jhye Clarke has had injury/illness issues and I did not rate him in front of Phillipou or Humphry. I rated him in front of Tstats and I did rate him. He still played in Geelong's GF side. I rated him but I did not heavily want him. Would not have been unhappy if it went that way but I was 100% Phillipou.

And the elite talent in this draft is not there. There will probably end up being 2 or 3 that may take a big step up but it is pretty much a B grade draft. You can not draft what is not there. There is a reason why sides have not traded out F1 picks to get into this draft. It will be fine for the B grade role players and competitors. It simply lacks real class at the top end and most likely very few elite players.

And for the record I rate Robey and Duursma in front of him. Cumming just in front as well.
I would love to take Robey but I suspect Richmond will.

Yes we need elite talent but we also need to build the competitive team player leadership base and this draft is more competitive team player than elite talent.

For me I think academy players duursma, cdt, robey and x Taylor likely gone before we pick.
I hope we take sharp and cumming of the remainders.
With the picks in the 20s I like a combination of marsh, Le Ray, Onley, Nairn (unlikely now)Greeves and Jai Murray who may be gettable depending on points.
I actually would not take our nga boys unless they cost us very little.
I have a feeling hawthorn will bid on Sweid as payback for Merrett.
I hope I am wrong.

Joel Selwood go ok for you?
He was seen as having little upside and degenerative knees.
300 odd games later.
Sharp can play and has done everything right.
Not sure it’s fair to bring up a draft and who wanted which player.
I wanted Bailey Humphrey in that draft- might have got that right.
I thought Jaidyn Stephenson was going to be the player of his draft. Got that wrong.
Happens with everyone.
Lastly how many times have you seen Robby play live?
I reckon I was the first to mention him on our board and watch a stack of junior footy but still only seen him play 7 times live.
He has some flaws in his game.
What are those flaws?

Jhye Clarke has had injury/illness issues and I did not rate him in front of Phillipou or Humphry. I rated him in front of Tstats and I did rate him. He still played in Geelong's GF side. I rated him but I did not heavily want him. Would not have been unhappy if it went that way but I was 100% Phillipou.

And the elite talent in this draft is not there. There will probably end up being 2 or 3 that may take a big step up but it is pretty much a B grade draft. You can not draft what is not there. There is a reason why sides have not traded out F1 picks to get into this draft. It will be fine for the B grade role players and competitors. It simply lacks real class at the top end and most likely very few elite players.

And for the record I rated Robey and Duursma in front of him. Cumming just in front as well.
I would love to take Robey but I suspect Richmond will.

Yes we need elite talent but we also need to build the competitive team player leadership base and this draft is more competitive team player than elite talent.
In respect to the 2022 draft, they all had two years of the most important development taken away though 2020 and 2021. That’s probably why it’s a bit of a weaker draft. Or, players are just getting going now whereas some players start a bit better.

Ashcroft obviously a gun, but he finished school in 2021 so was able to prepare for footy for a whole year without balancing school. Sheezel is good, but there’s heaps of players in the AFL that can rack up 35 every week off half back, in a team that’s allergic to winning games. He was also a forward in juniors. Humphrey and Fletcher are guns. Cadman has only just started to get going, Elijah Hewett too. Other than that, in the first 15 there isn’t much. Some role players like Ginbey and Hollands, and Wardlaw who’s hamstrings are made of glass (which was the case before he was drafted too). Michaelanney and Weddle are standouts at 17 & 18 respectively, Darcy Jones at 21. I think though, if Essendon drafted Weddle, no chance he’d be as good as he is for Hawthorn.

What are those flaws?

Robey has a pretty small sample size to work with, it's a positive one that shows more potential upside than a lot of others in this draft but he's a more boom-or-bust prospect than a Sharp or Cumming who seem to be the likely guys available at our picks.

I think WCE are pretty much guaranteed to go Duursma and CDT, so what Richmond does will impact us. They've long been rumoured to be keen on Grjl, Robey has bolted in to the frame and X Taylor keeps popping up in discussions.

There's an argument that Robey is a bit similar to guys they've already drafted so they might skip on him, in which case I think we're guaranteed to take him. If they go Robey I don't think there's any guarantee we take Grjl or Taylor.

Ideal scenario for us is probably that Richmond don't take Robey, and we then can pair up a higher risk choice in Robey with a Sharp or Cumming who seem pretty safe to make it.

Problem is the depth in this draft doesn't seem to be there so trading up to guarantee Robey probably means our second pick slides back a fair bit on the level of player available, for a team that desperately needs multiple good players.

Gettable S3 E34 Mega Draft preview dropped.
1 week to draft

Duursma and CDT expected to be Eagles top 2 picks
*Likely to bid on Zeke Uwland, possibly bid on Dean as well.
Uwland headed to gold coast - expected pick 2.
Dan Annable - Lions Expect bid to come from Richmond or the Bombers (could have been playing seniors this year if eligible)
Dylan Patterson - Expect a bid to come in top 3-4 selections is a gun.
Tigers looking at 4 players X Taylor, Robey, Grilj, Cumming at 3,4
X Taylor - draft range small either Tigers, Ess or Melbourne (Ess haven't done a lot of work on him)
Grilj - the athlete 2.92sec over 20m and breaks 6m over 2km, if doesn't go to tigers could end up at Giants
Sullivan Robey - Would be remarkable if he gets to 3 or 4, Mid year - bombers and Demons were interested.
Dyson Sharp range 5+
- If Essendon don't pick him, could get through a few more spots, and Pies / Crows might try and trade up.

Jacob Farrow - Draft range is short 5-12 Essendon, Hawks interested and Giants at 12
Cam Nairn Range - 10-15 (Demons interested)
Josh Lindsay range 10-20
Mitch Marsh - clubs in teens looking at him - Giants, likely outside 14s
Schubert - Bombers looked at, but not invited to first nigth at draft.
Harley Barker (ACL) - Hawks, North, Freo, Crows all keen

Oli Greeves range back of top 20+ (plenty of clubs not taking bigger body midfielder) but - Ess, Geel, GWS looking at him
35d + 4 g in finals

Carlton 9/11 - depends on bids picks on the table
Essendon keen on 9,
Adelaide keen on trading up for a player.
Expects Bid range to be 3 - 7

Demons - wait and see who falls through - interested in Cumming, Roby, X Taylor any fall through? Cam nairn (12-15 range)

Dogs (14) - Josh Lindsay - Lachy Dovaston, will get Will Darcy as a rookie.

Crows (16) only move up if deal/player is right, still decent players at 16.

Brisbane 17+23 on the table - not much movement.

Suns - have pick 15 +18 on the table - Dons interested, no deal agreed on those picks

Giants - Farrow (unlikely to get there)/ Giants Oskar Taylor / Latrelle Oickett / Cam Nairn / Ludowyke

Swans academies
Bids
Carmicheal (top 20 bid possible, first academy player drafted)
Kyle - (top 20 bid possible)
King - 20-35 bid
Chamerlain - Rookie (no bid)

Ruck Scenario - Jumping ruck back
  • Can carry young ruck with 5 on the bench
  • new rules helps players who can keep running aerobic beasts.

Bombers
  • Sweid bid at earliest 20 odd (WA clubs keen) not a certainty bombers take either academy player
  • Bombers dictated by Tigers - Likely Sharp and Farrow and players in Tigers mix (Robey/Cumming/X Taylor) not Grilj.

Cal Twomey Phantom Draft released Monday night
And Tuesday night - released late mail

If Sharp projects to be a Dunkley type I'm all in, Dunkley might not be a pure match winner, but he is the guy that keeps you in the game while the match winner is biding their time to have that moment(s). Ashcroft, McCluggage, Neale, Rayner and Bailey win games for the lions, they get the chance to win it because Dunkley fights and scraps for everything.

There's an argument that Robey is a bit similar to guys they've already drafted so they might skip on him, in which case I think we're guaranteed to take him. If they go Robey I don't think there's any guarantee we take Grjl or Taylor.
I think if Tigers don't want Robey then they trade back to 5 with us or Demons 7 and pick Grilj there.

Cal thinks Grilj could slide if not taken by tigers.

Bombers and Demon both interested in Robey.

Tigers could also surprise and take cumming + X Taylor.

I think X Taylor is almost a lock for Tigers and would be a surprise if they don;t select him.
and then Grilj is ahead of RObey and Cumming, but they can possibly trade back and still get the player they want.

The other wild card is if Suns don't match a bid for Patterson.

I think if Tigers don't want Robey then they trade back to 5 with us or Demons 7 and pick Grilj there.

I think X Taylor is almost a lock for Tigers and would be a surprise if they don;t select him.
and then Grilj is ahead of RObey and Cumming, but they can possibly trade back and still get the player they want.

If Suns trade with Essendon for pick 15, I don’t think they’ll bid. Probably a handshake deal.

Suns are 100% going to match Patterson. But agree X Taylor just already seems like a Richmond player, will be very surprised if they don't take him. Also agree if Grlj is who the Tigs want they can slide back but it's what they can get for the slide back. Melbourne doesn't work as I think they will prefer 2 bites at the top 11 rather than just Robey and they don't have an F2. We can make it happen with any of our 3 picks in the 20s. The other one to look out for us will be pick 9 from Carlton. We are in pole position to offer the best 2025 points package if Carlton can't secure themselves an F1 from someone else.

Cal’s rankings aren’t gospel, nor is whatever is said on the show. I like Cal but you never know if there’s withholding info to try and get in someone’s good books.

Richmond would be silly to slide back just to try and get Grlj. Fast, tough, skilful, it’s too obvious a need for Essendon. It’s staring Rosa in the face. Just take Grlj at pick 3 or 4. Maybe they miss out on a future second or future third, but what if someone changes their mind and they miss out on him?

Cal’s rankings aren’t gospel, nor is whatever is said on the show. I like Cal but you never know if there’s withholding info to try and get in someone’s good books.

Richmond would be silly to slide back just to try and get Grlj. Fast, tough, skilful, it’s too obvious a need for Essendon. It’s staring Rosa in the face. Just take Grlj at pick 3 or 4. Maybe they miss out on a future second or future third, but what if someone changes their mind and they miss out on him?
got anything to back up the 'I like Cal but' statement? Or is it one of those 'I'm not a racist but' type comments?

Suns are 100% going to match Patterson. But agree X Taylor just already seems like a Richmond player, will be very surprised if they don't take him. Also agree if Grlj is who the Tigs want they can slide back but it's what they can get for the slide back. Melbourne doesn't work as I think they will prefer 2 bites at the top 11 rather than just Robey and they don't have an F2. We can make it happen with any of our 3 picks in the 20s. The other one to look out for us will be pick 9 from Carlton. We are in pole position to offer the best 2025 points package if Carlton can't secure themselves an F1 from someone else.
can see the pick 9 (probably pick 12 by then) coming live for us for sure. I can also see Rosa going after it if we get access to Farrow