Toast Welcome to Fremantle Mason Cox - Supplementary Selection Period Pick 2025/26

Isn’t this still to be confirmed? Not a done deal yet? Heard they are having a discussion today and then he will decide to come or not based on whether he actually gets games or not is the main thing if it’s worth coming over.
It's not confirmed. We have mad an offer Mason is weighing up according to reports. Like I said. I actually really want him now.

Weird comment?

MLB effectively has no salary cap but every other league does as well as a pretty tight draft and trading system.
We are so far from the US when it comes to list management that its comical to suggest otherwise.
How about reading the posts above mine instead of taking mine out of context. They were bemoaning how everything American in the AFL was bad, I brought up some counterexamples.

It's not confirmed. We have mad an offer Mason is weighing up according to reports. Like I said. I actually really want him now.
Too much is being made of how embarassing it is to sign Mason Cox, and not enough is being made of how embarassing it would be to be rejected by Mason Cox.

I’m actually ,and fully expecting, those melting over us signing the bloke will in fact be alot of the very ones who .. you guessed it ,start whining if/because he rejects our offer

The club must be frustrated developing ruckman & then have them moving onto other clubs? Thats the only way I can reconcile this move as I’m not a fan.
I really do shake my head.
Do people here not understand wht Meek left?
When will people understand that Reidy was NOT of AFL standard. Is NOT.

The club must be frustrated developing ruckman & then have them moving onto other clubs? Thats the only way I can reconcile this move as I’m not a fan.
It’s clearly a jlo driven selection , even wallsy mentioned them catching up over the draft.

I think jlo knows a bit more on the situation than yourself .

Unless your saying jlo hasnt a clue ??

I don’t see how anyone can be majorly upset with this move. It’s low risk insurance. Likely won’t be playing much AFL. At a minimum he brings premiership experience and despite his floggy antics on-field, he seems well liked off-field.

Only thing I don’t like is this pretty much confirms we are sticking with the 2 ruck, 3 tall forward set-up.

It’s clearly a jlo driven selection , even wallsy mentioned them catching up over the draft.

I think jlo knows a bit more on the situation than yourself .

Unless your saying jlo hasnt a clue ??
You blokes really do sook it up when there’s a different opinion to yours. Yes my opinion will change the whole direction of this move.

You’re so far off Longmuir it isn’t funny yet you’re using him in a positive light to make a point against me? Good one👍🏼, solid posting.

I'm not much of a fan either, but this is a break glass emergency move only. SHOULD....both Darcy and Jackson both go down in the unlikely event, simultaneously......gotta be better than Reidy who stunk it up in Round 1 this year. I feel like that's where the club's thinking is at...

I actually think it's time we had a change of tack. Obviously Sean's knee will require careful management for the duration of his contract and the unicorn is best served as a 200cm utility.

There are just so few AFL quality rucks going around they get antsy in the 2's (even ressies), or playing out of preferred position and oppo come sniffin' ala Reidy, Knobel, Meek (even Lobb) recently...

We put so much time into them, building chemistry, learning their body, honing their craft, gaining confidence then they're up and gone!!

Fill that spot with your predeveloped Jono Griffen types or your Mason Cox's and you're away. Tempt them in with an injury prone Darcy, hope they arent required, but if they are, they play like their careers depend on it.

Much better strategy for a contending team.

I’ve always been a fan. Can take a big mark. Rock solid set shot but mostly I like that he seems to have a feel for the game that most who come to it late can’t develop. And he brings it at big games.
I think he’s got really good spatial awareness and game sense and is clearly a great trainer and team player.
Good backup to have as he can genuinely carry the first ruck spot and is a genuine threat up forward with his reach and kicking.
Tick from me.

I actually think it's time we had a change of tack. Obviously Sean's knee will require careful management for the duration of his contract and the unicorn is best served as a 200cm utility.

There are just so few AFL quality rucks going around they get antsy in the 2's (even ressies), or playing out of preferred position and oppo come sniffin' ala Reidy, Knobel, Meek (even Lobb) recently...

We put so much time into them, building chemistry, learning their body, honing their craft, gaining confidence then they're up and gone!!

Fill that spot with your predeveloped Jono Griffen types or your Mason Cox's and you're away. Tempt them in with an injury prone Darcy, hope they arent required, but if they are, they play like their careers depend on it.

Much better strategy for a contending team.
Oppo.... Reidy! Really.
Such delusion.
He wont get a berth on the Indian Pacific trans train.

There is not a lot of point in developing a ruck while we have Darcy and Jackson on our list. After those 2 years for Cox we should probably start develop a replacement for Darcy. Atm our list profile calls for a ready made emercency who can stand up even in a final when needed. Cox fills that need when his body can hold up those 2 years which is a bit of a cocern considering his age...

I don’t see how anyone can be majorly upset with this move. It’s low risk insurance. Likely won’t be playing much AFL. At a minimum he brings premiership experience and despite his floggy antics on-field, he seems well liked off-field.

Only thing I don’t like is this pretty much confirms we are sticking with the 2 ruck, 3 tall forward set-up.
I'd like to (perhaps wishfully) think it's a sign we are unleashing prime Kouta Jackson. Full time 199cm on-ball/mid who takes the comp apart....

Marking it all over the place and bursting away from stoppages...If Dogga starts palming the ball with one hand like prime Koutoufides I reckon I'd be just about ready to pencil in our first flag...

If any Freo fans are doubting the value of Mason Cox go and rewatch the last quarter of the 2023 Grand Final. His elite ruck taps to our midfield runners were a vital component of our premiership victory. He isn't a superstar but the guy gives 100% effort every game and when he is on fire clunking marks and kicking goals he can provide the X factor which lifts the crowd and the whole team by extension. His stats are low in terms of possessions, but he has footy smarts and does a lot of the 1%ers which help the team succeed.

Toast Welcome to Fremantle Mason Cox - Supplementary Selection Period Pick 2025/26