Training Saints preseason 2026

Lovely day. Banfield and Fincher still in their old numbers. Still cant believe we got Banfield over WC.
WA members what are his supposed flaws in his game because at pre season, he liiks like he was built for AFL?
Some big numbers out there 51, 53, 54 and 55. Maybe VFL players. 51 is a big lad.
Good to see McLobster out there. Clark in the fluro cap.
Umpires here today.
Armstrong is a large lad indeed. Henry out with the main group.
King and TDK out, over to the rehab group.
Player out with a busted wing, maybe a VFL player.
Will wander over to watch rehab.
Only Max and Barrat in rehab, TDK in with main group.
Dodson Pou and another player joins the rehab group. Pou looks fine, said he feels great except for the stiches in his gob., McLobster over there too, also looks fine, would say on modified programs.
Hard running repeat 50's for the group.
Wasn't Barrat but Said in rehab group.
Main group breaks into two for ground ball work.
Pou running laps, as is Dodson., Liam Ryan with the main group.
Group comes together tight. Lots of yelling and cheering.
TDK and Henry join rehab.
Round the other side now to watch the ball drills. Flanders positioning is elite.
Now into three groups, I will stay with the one I m watching. Banfield good turn of pace and evasive skills
Stocker, TDK and Henry running laps
Ryan has subline kicking skills.
Wilson to Coops lovely leap and finishes.
I wonder about Paddy Dow. Nice neat player but just doesn't do it for me. Maybe he isn't just the nice shiney toy.
Delivery into the forward line nice, but I 'll wait and see until contact comes into training in rhe New Year.
So 51 is Billy Richardson, VFL player..
Max in rehab doing a lot of ground ball gets with a,sharp turn .
Keepings off ball drill reds v bibs, spirited when the defence breaks up the attack. Wilson with a great spoil.
Naz straight into the rooms with the doctor. Looks like a little nick, slight limp possibly a tight hammy or calf, precaution ( heres hoping). No panic. Snuck a look in the rooms, Naz stretching like a hammy or calf, doubt its anything major. Hopping on one foot, precaution I reckon. Looking at the trainer, intimating ankle. Naz back with it strapped ( I assume) crisis averted. Doing run throughs with boots on.
Big play ends up with Ryan huge cheer and they all get around him .
Rehab group still out, so much for Max behind schedule. Looks stronger every time I see him.
Naz put in cotton wool up the race into the gym. Back out with runners on doing laps. Guy is so competitive wants to do match sim but trainers say no.
Half ground drill reds v bibs. Ball up and positioning work, getting the ball to the outside to attack the goals.
Naz running like his life depends on it around the boundary.
From halfway taking it to the open side, then back through the midfield. Boxshall and Wilson good. Stocker doing a lot of positional work with the back 6. Working hard with Armstrong Hastie and Richardson. Hastie great pickup through the guts to Wilson who hits up Roh. Wilson running like Dangerfield through the guts.
Group moves to other end. Armstrong to Flanders in the guts, congested backline, hits Higgo on the tit with a 50 metre bullet.
Hammer back for bibs.
So for the Ryan worriers, while the group breaks for a drink, he is running repeat 200's.
Boxshall takes a bounce coming out of the 50, gets collared by Hastie
Just heard Tauru may have an injury. Dont know what. Looks ok, sore ankle only. No worries.
Actually it was Banfield who got caught, Boxy just takes a great contested mark.
Good spirited session, Hastie, Flanders, Hugo, Carroll, Boxy, Higgo, all looked good. Hammer doing good things in defence for bibs.
Full ground sim with umpires. Tauru back with the bibs. Banfield forward for reds. Loser team needs to do 10 push ups. Back to 80's training.
Tauru and Trav big spoils in defence.
Players blown in the heat. Lancey runs his guts out to break up an attack. Trav looks more and more assured with ball in hand.
Banfield cops a spray for not looking inside. Carroll again good off half back. Doogs straightens up the defence. Also good, Sincs, Dow, Windy, Hall. Sounds like everyone is great, but these reports are getting harder and harder to find a player who would look out if place or is a list clogger.
Worse case scenario bottom six ( excluding recruits), Lance, Armstrong, LOC, Dow, Ronnie, Stocker? Not one of those are incapable of an AFL career. A couple of years back they would have been automatic choices in seniors.
All the Brains Trust know who I am. Will need to wear a disguise next time..
Running now.
Last report pre Christmas
Adios Amigos.
Loving 🥰 Lancey Boy improvement. Has the penny dropped????

Lovely day. Banfield and Fincher still in their old numbers. Still cant believe we got Banfield over WC.
WA members what are his supposed flaws in his game because at pre season, he liiks like he was built for AFL?
Some big numbers out there 51, 53, 54 and 55. Maybe VFL players. 51 is a big lad.
Umpires here today.
Dodson Pou and another player joins the rehab group. Pou looks fine, said he feels great except for the stiches in his gob., McLobster over there too, also looks fine, would say on modified programs.
Round the other side now to watch the ball drills. Flanders positioning is elite.
Now into three groups, I will stay with the one I m watching. Banfield good turn of pace and evasive skills
I wonder about Paddy Dow. Nice neat player but just doesn't do it for me. Maybe he isn't just the nice shiney toy.
Delivery into the forward line nice, but I 'll wait and see until contact comes into training in rhe New Year.
Keepings off ball drill reds v bibs, spirited when the defence breaks up the attack. Wilson with a great spoil.
Naz straight into the rooms with the doctor. Looks like a little nick, slight limp possibly a tight hammy or calf, precaution ( heres hoping). No panic. Snuck a look in the rooms, Naz stretching like a hammy or calf, doubt its anything major. Hopping on one foot, precaution I reckon. Looking at the trainer, intimating ankle. Naz back with it strapped ( I assume) crisis averted. Doing run throughs with boots on.
Rehab group still out, so much for Max behind schedule. Looks stronger every time I see him.
Naz put in cotton wool up the race into the gym. Back out with runners on doing laps. Guy is so competitive wants to do match sim but trainers say no.
Half ground drill reds v bibs. Ball up and positioning work, getting the ball to the outside to attack the goals.
From halfway taking it to the open side, then back through the midfield. Boxshall and Wilson good. Stocker doing a lot of coaching positional work (hand injury so no ball work) with the back 6. Working hard with Armstrong Hastie and Richardson. Hastie great pickup through the guts to Wilson who hits up Roh. Wilson running like Dangerfield through the guts.
Group moves to other end. Armstrong to Flanders in the guts, congested backline, hits Higgo on the tit with a 50 metre bullet.
Hammer back for bibs.
So for the Ryan worriers, while the group breaks for a drink, he is running repeat 200's.
Just heard Tauru may have an injury. Dont know what. Looks ok, sore ankle only. No worries.
Actually it was Banfield who got caught, Boxy just takes a great contested mark.
Good spirited session, Hastie, Flanders, Hugo, Carroll, Boxy, Higgo, all looked good. Hammer doing good things in defence for bibs.
Full ground sim with umpires. Tauru back with the bibs. Banfield forward for reds. Loser team needs to do 10 push ups. Back to 80's training.
Players blown in the heat. Lancey runs his guts out to break up an attack. Trav looks more and more assured with ball in hand.
Banfield cops a spray for not looking inside. Carroll again good off half back. Doogs straightens up the defence. Also good, Sincs, Dow, Windy, Hall. Sounds like everyone is great, but these reports are getting harder and harder to find a player who would look out if place or is a list clogger.
Worse case scenario bottom six ( excluding recruits), Lance, Armstrong, LOC, Dow, Ronnie, Stocker? Not one of those are incapable of an AFL career. A couple of years back they would have been automatic choices in seniors.
Running now.
Adios Amigos.
I love the rollercoaster journey these reports are.

Wilson looks like he’s having a Dangerfield breakout season type pre season

Is the hype real?
From my view he looks the best of all of them. He has built up his upper body strength. Someone said they were concerned he may have lost some pace with the muscle mass, but he doesn't seem like it. His running through the midfield is quite explosive reminding me of Dangerfield.
Is he going to get there? Well its only preseason, many a player 'trains the house down' preseason. But I can only report what I see.
AFAIAK we need him signed ASAP.

Next Wednesday is open day before the break then not back to early Jan.

Some of you fine fellows will need to report for our overseas and interstate supporters and the local fans who are keeping the economy going by working.

I really don’t understand why we have supporters who target max.

It’s the weirdest thing I’ve seen - probably ever from this supporter base.
Totally agree. Easy target I guess. The bloke has done nothing but try his best to get back. He'll be out there winning us games in no time. Then the couch potato's can shut their mouths.

I really don’t understand why we have supporters who target max.

It’s the weirdest thing I’ve seen - probably ever from this supporter base.
A big big chunk of it is really simple.

Narcissism.

In case you’re not aware, those who have highly narcissistic personalities essentially believe that they’re the centre of the universe, and that the world revolves around them, that they’re basically the star of the show, and everyone else is just here to serve their needs (which is why it’s so bad to have a narcissistic parent, as instead of serving their child’s needs, they expect their child to serve theirs, and serving their child’s needs is a big inconvenience!), so anytime things don’t go to plan, they take it personally, and because they’re very vindictive by nature, that’s when you’ll see them lashing out.

So when someone with a healthy personality style hears news like a player from their team repeatedly getting injured, they might feel a bit sorry for themselves about it, but they’ll also feel real empathy for that person, whereas those with narcissistic personalities lack empathy (something they have in common with those who are psychopathic, or sociopathic), so their response will contain no empathy at all, and they’re likely to be very angry with them instead, because, as they believe everything is all about them, their attitude is likely to be along the lines of “why are you doing this to ME, you’re useless”

Because they think everything is all about them.

They might not say that in as many words, but that’s the vibe you’ll get off them. Very angry (“narcissistic rage”). Because everyone is supposed to be here for them and serving their needs and making them look good, and if anyone isn’t, they’ll take it like a personal attack.

Additionally, because those with narcissistic personalities are all about how they LOOK to others, how others perceive them, and want to be perceived by others as being perfect in every way, they will be further angry at that person for “making them look bad”, because they’re associated with them and they’re “broken down and useless”.

So they’ll try to trash that person and their name, to increase the likelihood that they’ll get them away from whatever it is that they feel associated with them for (eg because they’re part of the same club/organisation/family/whatever) and will stop making them look bad.

Making these sort of comments is also a sure fire way of getting what’s known as “narcissistic supply” (which is what they live for and need a constant fix of- usually in the form of attention and validation), because it’s pretty much guaranteed bait, to get a whole lot of people responding to them, giving them the supply they’re after, that fuels their super-fragile egos.

So when you get these really unhinged, unempathic comments that are filled with anger and hate, it’s one of the reddest of red flags that you’re dealing with someone highly narcissistic. And that you should stay the hell away from them as much as possible and engage with them as little as possible.

Superb stuff Joffa, much appreciated. Boxshall and Ryan are my pet projects this year. At either end of their careers, but both will make their impacts for us.

From my view he looks the best of all of them. He has built up his upper body strength. Someone said they were concerned he may have lost some pace with the muscle mass, but he doesn't seem like it. His running through the midfield is quite explosive reminding me of Dangerfield.
Is he going to get there? Well its only preseason, many a player 'trains the house down' preseason. But I can only report what I see.
AFAIAK we need him signed ASAP.

Next Wednesday is open day before the break then not back to early Jan.

Some of you fine fellows will need to report for our overseas and interstate supporters and the local fans who are keeping the economy going by working.

Narcissism.

In case you’re not aware, those who have highly narcissistic personalities essentially believe that they’re the centre of the universe, and that the world revolves around them, that they’re basically the star of the show, and everyone else is just here to serve their needs (which is why it’s so bad to have a narcissistic parent, as instead of serving their child’s needs, they expect their child to serve theirs, and serving their child’s needs is a big inconvenience!), so anytime things don’t go to plan, they take it personally, and because they’re very vindictive by nature, that’s when you’ll see them lashing out.

So when someone with a healthy personality style hears news like a player from their team repeatedly getting injured, they might feel a bit sorry for themselves about it, but they’ll also feel real empathy for that person, whereas those with narcissistic personalities lack empathy (something they have in common with those who are psychopathic, or sociopathic), so their response will contain no empathy at all, and they’re likely to be very angry with them instead, because, as they believe everything is all about them, their attitude is likely to be along the lines of “why are you doing this to ME, you’re useless”

They might not say that in as many words, but that’s the vibe you’ll get off them. Very angry (“narcissistic rage”). Because everyone is supposed to be here for them and serving their needs and making them look good, and if anyone isn’t, they’ll take it like a personal attack.

Additionally, because those with narcissistic personalities are all about how they LOOK to others, how others perceive them, and want to be perceived by others as being perfect in every way, they will be further angry at that person for “making them look bad”, because they’re associated with them and they’re “broken down and useless”.

So they’ll try to trash that person and their name, to increase the likelihood that they’ll get them away from whatever it is that they feel associated with them for (eg because they’re part of the same club/organisation/family/whatever) and will stop making them look bad.

So when you get these really unhinged, unempathic comments that are filled with anger and hate, it’s one of the reddest of red flags that you’re dealing with someone highly narcissistic. And that you should stay the hell away from them as much as possible.
Haha the irony of someone lecturing about narcissism while thinking they have the capacity to psychoanalyse an entire group of people based on a footy player they dont rate.

This is some unhinged stuff.

I love the rollercoaster journey these reports are.

Umpires here today.
From halfway taking it to the open side, then back through the midfield. Boxshall and Wilson good. Stocker doing a lot of coaching positional work (hand injury so no ball work) with the back 6. Working hard with Armstrong Hastie and Richardson. Hastie great pickup through the guts to Wilson who hits up Roh. Wilson running like Dangerfield through the guts.
Hammer back for bibs.
Running now.
Adios Amigos.
Great report Joffaboy, very mucjk appreciated, especially us interstaters who can't get to Moorabbin, have a great Christmas!

Narcissism.

So when you get these really unhinged, unempathic comments that are filled with anger and hate, it’s one of the reddest of red flags that you’re dealing with someone highly narcissistic. And that you should stay the hell away from them as much as possible.
It's not that deep bro.

Umpires here today.
Hammer back for bibs.
Running now.
Adios Amigos.
Can't remember us ever having this much depth.

We should be a really good VFL side this year.

A asked a number of people at training today who their 3 favourite players are on our current list.
So i will put it to you BF people who your favourite 3 players are:
I'll start things off
1. Tauru
2. Hall
3. Banfield
3 favourites are still NAS, Sincs, Wilkie.

However, the 3 I want to have monster years are: Wilson, King, Pou.

They are the next 3 up for me that take us from a middle of the road side to potential top 6.

Why are people commenting on this matter, it has absolutely NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with St Kilda FC, leave his mother, father, brothers alone, they'll be hurting enough without Saints supporters joining the media in the pile-on, disgusting as far as I'm concerned:rage:
SOS is our list manager and one of the main faces of the club and he's just been out the front of court swearing to clear his sons name looking like an absolute shell of a human, and justifiably so. I think the club would be getting fairly concerned right now, sorry but it's not a good look for us him defending his son who just got convicted of rape, and is he going to be able to really do his job effectively? This must be taking up all of his time and mental load. He may have to step away from the job for a while.

I have a lot of sympathy for him, his son just got convicted of a serious crime and it must be absolutely devastating, but also his son needs to take responsibility for what he did and the family are going to need to come to terms with it too.

SOS is our list manager and one of the main faces of the club and he's just been out the front of court swearing to clear his sons name looking like an absolute shell of a human, and justifiably so. I think the club would be getting fairly concerned right now, sorry but it's not a good look for us him defending his son who just got convicted of rape, and is he going to be able to really do his job effectively? This must be taking up all of his time and mental load. He may have to step away from the job for a while.

I have a lot of sympathy for him, his son just got convicted of a serious crime and it must be absolutely devastating, but also his son needs to take responsibility for what he did and the family are going to need to come to terms with it too.

Looking at this, I wouldn't be surprised if he takes time away from the club

Those people are obviously NQR then. The family will be suffering through no fault of their own. Not to diminish the crime committed but this would be absolutely traumatic for the Silvagni family members who have no responsibility for it.
Life turned 180 degrees in a moment.
I can’t even begin to imagine.

This was hanging over him in the lead up to the draft and trade period and he managed to get through it and did more than most years. Now would be the quietest period for list managers and talent spotters until the season.

I think he should be judged on his work and right now he deserves to keep his job because he's doing it to a standard that is expected. You can't sack someone because they have a criminal in the family unless it is likely to spill over into your work.

Once the sentencing has been done his life will be in a new normal and he'll probably need to focus on work to keep himself mentally occupied. He's done what we need him to do so far and even exceeded what I expected from him.

Training Saints preseason 2026