Training Saints preseason 2026

This was hanging over him in the lead up to the draft and trade period and he managed to get through it and did more than most years. Now would be the quietest period for list managers and talent spotters until the season.

I think he should be judged on his work and right now he deserves to keep his job because he's doing it to a standard that is expected. You can't sack someone because they have a criminal in the family unless it is likely to spill over into your work.

Once the sentencing has been done his life will be in a new normal and he'll probably need to focus on work to keep himself mentally occupied. He's done what we need him to do so far and even exceeded what I expected from him.
I agree. Frankly, the risk of disruption is far greater to JSOS who needs to have an immaculate preseason of rehab and training, not SOS whose work is done for the moment.

This was hanging over him in the lead up to the draft and trade period and he managed to get through it and did more than most years. Now would be the quietest period for list managers and talent spotters until the season.

I think he should be judged on his work and right now he deserves to keep his job because he's doing it to a standard that is expected. You can't sack someone because they have a criminal in the family unless it is likely to spill over into your work.

Once the sentencing has been done his life will be in a new normal and he'll probably need to focus on work to keep himself mentally occupied. He's done what we need him to do so far and even exceeded what I expected from him.
No way we would sack him I'm just wondering if he might need to take some extended leave. But you're right the recent trade period was a huge success although there'll be increased focus/pressure on his son now. I'm still all for that move if he can get on the park he will be a gun.

Throwing yourself into work can be a better option than keeping yourself hidden away. Hopefully he's getting some support.

I agree , take time away....and do what? Bang your head on the floor.?

A asked a number of people at training today who their 3 favourite players are on our current list.
So i will put it to you BF people who your favourite 3 players are:
I'll start things off
1. Tauru
2. Hall
3. Banfield
Tough ask.

1. Nas - I know that isn't very original but the excitement he generates as soon as he gets his hands on the ball is incredible.
2. Wilkie - The opposite of Nas in a very good way. When I see Cal in the contest, I feel I can relax.
3. Such a tough call, there is a raft of players who could fit in here, but I'm going to go with the clubman, Mason Wood.

My takeaway!

Merry Christmas Joffaboy, have you tried wearing some undercover sunnies to make yourself invisible to the brains trust?

Sunny Day Sun GIF by Jukebox Saints

Won't work, they're not called the Brains Trust for nothing!!

Or are they??????? :think:

Speaking of sponsorship, was talking to a bunch of the Brains Trust guys prior to training. They wont blow their own trumpet but I will.
Last year they were talking to young Dodson who told them in conversation he didn't have a sponsor. They said he seemed a bit down in the dumps, so they got together and raised the $1500 to sponsor him and have done the full sponsorship this year.
He rang and told his mum he had gone from no sponsor to being sponsored by 15 people.
Kudo's to these guys, real diehard supporters who will do anyrhing for the club.
Was even ticked off by one for saying footy wasn't that important 🤣🤣🤣
Haha, ironically I missed most of the sponsor events this year as I was overseas for work pretty much during all bar about one of them! My wife and daughter went to one of the events and they ended up talking to Alex for a while. When I got back my wife said "poor Alex doesn't have a sponsor, I feel sorry for him, can we sponsor him next year?" I told Daniel I would take the premium sponsorship on Alex for 2026 and he turned around and said "that's already gone!" I wondered how a bloke with no sponsors suddenly already had a premium gone and a standard!

I ended up taking Paddy Dow because I thought he had a really rugged off-season last year and it took a lot of effort to get back from that......

Why are people commenting on this matter, it has absolutely NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with St Kilda FC, leave his mother, father, brothers alone, they'll be hurting enough without Saints supporters joining the media in the pile-on, disgusting as far as I'm concerned:rage:
One of the faces of the club was just on television showing public support for a convicted rapist. It is absolutely a St Kilda issue.

If they kept quiet and made no comment I'd be more likely to agree with you. But by coming out and publicly declaring his son is innocent, he cant exactly claim he's not a part of the story. Shit situation for all involved. I cant imagine the gut sinking feeling of realising your whole world is falling apart.

On a more positive note, favourites

1. Nas - how can it be anyone else. He has breathed life into a club that felt like it was drowning. Could end up being on of our all time greats.
2. Wilkie - ever dependable, quality leader
3. Hall - a high impact, game changing player. I dont feel we've ever had a Robbie Gray type player, but he could be that.

Training report #2 12-12-2025 New
Got down to training today and noticed a few standouts that I can share. Firstly Banfield surprised in terms of his size for a draftee but also his flair and running. Looks a total footballer. Also Ryan is truly exciting. Can really turn on the jets when he wants to - think he looks in terrific shape. What a kick on him.

Boxshall took a pretty decent mark away from Marshall (in same team) in the forward line, and he's a runner, up there with the fast boys. Hally kicked a pro goal outside fifty, and was playing mostly midfield I reckon. Very interesting to think about the season ahead with the likes of him, Flanders, and Nas cracking-in and getting to use the footy.

An absolute pleasure watching King in his group leading up, taking grabs, spearing the ball back. What an impact he could have for us.

Trav keeps loping around hunting the ball. Once we drill a role into him he's a type of player to win you a grand final. Cleaning up, clearing the ball, digging it out, one/twos. A bagman. His kicking stuck me as decent today.

A few VFL guys in the mix today. Flanders running around with number three which puts me out of whack. Hastie will be a meters gained player, just got to get on top of his upward floating kicks. Tauru went off with a foot injury after a bit of a pack mark. Was really sore but resumed well. Did a couple of his trademark spoils in 60 seconds. Was tight on Mitch basically giving him a hard time. Tauru was running bravely back at one point, nearly couldn't watch.

Nas got a clip on the foot or lower leg and just ran laps after coming back out. He looks like the guru out there. Lyon gave him a slapping high-five at one point - no doubt a strong relationship between the two. Makes me appreciate Lyon's capacity to manage the big players - a big team.

Ross Lyon in good form. Came over to the fence for who I guess was Collard's family. Generous with his time, very personable.

Hot conditions today and the boys earnt their money. Running at the end is impressive as usual with Wilson getting stronger and stronger while everyone else is slowly dying. Trav is probably the best example of someone running on top of the ground I've ever seen.

TDK running laps and doing stuff on the far side. Happy with his size. Looks strong in the legs. Dodson too running laps - curious how well he'll go, finished off brilliantly last season. Big big man.

Final thoughts are how focussed the playing group is. I've seen it before but not like this. It's like ready for harvesting. There's a readiness and appetite. Flanders (or chimp as my Saints mate calls him) looks to me a tough nut, a general type, pretty vocal, pointing for positioning, very much owning things.

Got down to training today and noticed a few standouts that I can share. Firstly Banfield surprised in terms of his size for a draftee but also his flair and running. Looks a total footballer. Also Ryan is truly exciting. Can really turn on the jets when he wants to - think he looks in terrific shape. What a kick on him.

Boxshall took a pretty decent mark away from Marshall (in same team) in the forward line, and he's a runner, up there with the fast boys. Hally kicked a pro goal outside fifty, and was playing mostly midfield I reckon. Very interesting to think about the season ahead with the likes of him, Flanders, and Nas cracking-in and getting to use the footy.

An absolute pleasure watching King in his group leading up, taking grabs, spearing the ball back. What an impact he could have for us.

Trav keeps loping around hunting the ball. Once we drill a role into him he's a type of player to win you a grand final. Cleaning up, clearing the ball, digging it out, one/twos. A bagman. His kicking stuck me as decent today.

A few VFL guys in the mix today. Flanders running around with number three which puts me out of whack. Hastie will be a meters gained player, just got to get on top of his upward floating kicks. Tauru went off with a foot injury after a bit of a pack mark. Was really sore but resumed well. Did a couple of his trademark spoils in 60 seconds. Was tight on Mitch basically giving him a hard time. Tauru was running bravely back at one point, nearly couldn't watch.

Nas got a clip on the foot or lower leg and just ran laps after coming back out. He looks like the guru out there. Lyon gave him a slapping high-five at one point - no doubt a strong relationship between the two. Makes me appreciate Lyon's capacity to manage the big players - a big team.

Ross Lyon in good form. Came over to the fence for who I guess was Collard's family. Generous with his time, very personable.

Hot conditions today and the boys earnt their money. Running at the end is impressive as usual with Wilson getting stronger and stronger while everyone else is slowly dying. Trav is probably the best example of someone running on top of the ground I've ever seen.

TDK running laps and doing stuff on the far side. Happy with his size. Looks strong in the legs. Dodson too running laps - curious how well he'll go, finished off brilliantly last season. Big big man.

Final thoughts are how focussed the playing group is. I've seen it before but not like this. It's like ready for harvesting. There's a readiness and appetite. Flanders (or chimp as my Saints mate calls him) looks to me a tough nut, a general type, pretty vocal, pointing for positioning, very much owning things.
Thanks for the in-depth report.

Congrats to Jack Sinclair on his selection in to the Victoria Origin squad!

1765522675960.png

my 3,not favourites,but guys i think are due and will impact with our new found depth
1.owens-i think he is ready to tear a new one in 17 3rd or 4th defenders at 17 other clubs,he will create nightmares
2.caminiti-loved what i saw at the one training session i rocked up to,to be sent where needed and definate best 23
3.TDK-new ruck rules,he is where it all starts for us

worthy mentions for boxshall and banfield,loving what im hearing,these guys take us from wherever our midfield has been rated the last couple seasons(15th-17th i guess)to near the top,if they can get cracking with naz flanders and windy & macrae can maintain the rage for a couple more seasons

Almost impossible to answer.

1-Sinclair
2-Nas
3-Flanders.

And isn’t that great?
Rewind even 2 years - wasn’t nearly as difficult a decision.

I still can’t even decide who to change my avatar to let alone pick 3 players.

NAS has to be standout as #1 not only because of the player he is, but because of the impact he has had on the entire club by staying. This pre-season draft/trade period would not have been half as successful without that. More than anything he’s really given us hope and helped make the club relevant again. ( Hope he doesn’t bankrupt us though!)

I do love Hally. Been a sensational pick up. Stocker has been inspirational with what he’s been through, and I really respect his choice to just take a year by year contract. And Wood - well, nothing I need to add.

As I’ve said before, it’s like trying to pick your favourite child.
I can’t.

Great report Joffaboy, very mucjk appreciated, especially us interstaters who can't get to Moorabbin, have a great Christmas!
Nice work Joff..

This time Last year i earmarked Hally as one to watch for the coming season, this year I'm looking at Charlie Banfield as one to watch.
He's already well built and his running power, plus his marking power, will make him a great addition to the list.
Also, I'm going with Wilson and Windy to elevate themselves to another level!
These are exciting times for our club..I'll be there both days training next week and can'twait for match sim in January .

At the same time we have his son and Tom’s brother a million a year. Something with that deal seems iffy. Sorry call me a conspiracist. I just do

I really don’t understand why we have supporters who target max.

It’s the weirdest thing I’ve seen - probably ever from this supporter base.
Personally, I just think he's drastically overrated. I don't think he's that good of a player.
It's my opinion.
I just don't get the hype.
If the very few nay sayers have to put up with the hundreds believing the sun shines out of Max Kings hole, and that he can do no wrong. Then the hordes can deal with the three or four of us that don't share that view.
When he starts kicking the 70-80 goals a season much touted on here, I'm sure we doubters will come around.
That's it. 🤷

Training Saints preseason 2026