Seriously this time Random Chat thread [Now politics free! - may contain nuts]

There's a dinky little "driving range" just around the corner. Not truly a driving range, more like a practice range as they don't really have the space for big hitters. My best little mate has recently got the golfing bug, so we've been thrice so far. He's allowed to use his driver as he's just a pup and only grass high, but I just use a wedge as there are a couple of those blue plastic drums about 70 odd yards right in the eye diddle diddle. Anyway, the gig is, if you land a ball in said drums, you snag a free beer, or a small bucket of balls. And there can be no argument as when your ball finds the guts of the drum, an alarm goes off. So far I am a free beer and a bucket of balls to the good over the 3 times we've been.

www.truemansgolfrange.com/

There's a dinky little "driving range" just around the corner. Not truly a driving range, more like a practice range as they don't really have the space for big hitters. My best little mate has recently got the golfing bug, so we've been thrice so far. He's allowed to use his driver as he's just a pup and only grass high, but I just use a wedge as there are a couple of those blue plastic drums about 70 odd yards right in the eye diddle diddle. Anyway, the gig is, if you land a ball in said drums, you snag a free beer, or a small bucket of balls. And there can be no argument as when your ball finds the guts of the drum, an alarm goes off. So far I am a free beer and a bucket of balls to the good over the 3 times we've been.

www.truemansgolfrange.com/
I take ot this has evolved from the mini golf outings ?

Lol, well after our mini golf lap of the State, we do still play wherever we land. We most recently revisited the revamped Grumpys Mini Golf down on the island .... my dad made himself a 4 hole putting course in his front yard, and had that for a while, before venturing into the fake turf market and making himself a 3 hole putting fairway in his back yard! I think they did some golf classes at PE in school, idk.

Bloody summer, and it's hailing 🤔

It’s hideous. Last time I recall it being this crap this late I remember things changed dramatically for the better once the colder rubbish had finally departed (between Xmas and NYE). Hoping for a bloody hot and sunny Jan/Feb before we strive for (premiership) five.

Last time it was this cold to start summer / Dec.was 1996. Omen ?

I had a very strange dream last night.

I was at a reunion gathering from my Kindergarten class. Faces kinda blurred but the names (some of em) I remembered. Anyways one by one people giving speeches reminding everybody who they are, what they're doing with their life etc.

One guy....(I vaguely remember) said that he owned a bunch of media companies and was doing quite well for himself. And so because he was so wealthy he decided to give everyone in our class 5 Million dollars. The initial reaction was shock, then followed by clapping and cheering. He goes on by saying he'll get to everyone through out the evening to get their bank details.

He comes up to me not long afterwards....''Hello Daniel, long time no see....how you been?'' You know the usual chit chat how ya going kinda conversation. He gently pulls me aside and whispers in my ear ''don't take this the wrong way but I can't give you that 5 Million''

Me - ''Why not?

Him - ''A few people here have come up to me saying that I shouldn't give you the money''

Me - ''WHO!?!?!?!''

Him - ''It's not personal man, don't worry about it''

Me - ''WHO TOLD HIM NOT TO GIVE ME MONEY??????''

No one says anything for a few seconds then the next thing I hear ''It's getting late, we should all head home I reckon'' People nod in agreement and they slowly start heading to towards the main door.

I wake up. Even though I fully get that what just transpired was a dream...I was pissed....I hammer fist my bedside table saying ''you absolute cun+s!''

Even now I still feel like I've been wronged.

Bloody summer, and it's hailing 🤔
truly amazing....

So 6 weeks ago we were in the grip of the driest year to dates rainfall in 19 years on the back of the driest summer in a similar period, place was absolutely parched, not a blade of grass and it literally didn't rain from Oct to Easter... our dam was at the lowest level since when it was constructed, and then by the time it did start raining the grass was already growing coming into spring and a combination of zero subsurface moisture together with the growing grass and continuous wind stopping any runoff at all.
1764580207920.png
Fast forward to today on the back of one of the wettest Novembers on record and our dam has finally spilled and the ground is thoroughly waterlogged putting much needed moisture back into the subsoil.
1764580273400.png
West Gippsland truly is a crazy place.....

Last time it was this cold to start summer / Dec.was 1996. Omen ?

Charlize Theron Destiny GIF by NETFLIX

Shining Jack Nicholson GIF

Idling away my last day in Adelaide, where I’ve been catching up with relatives and friends.

I don’t know this city that well, and tbh until today I’ve struggled to find much I’d rate against Sydney, Melbourne, or Hobart.

But this afternoon I’ve found myself at the wheatsheaf hotel, and honestly it’s a contender for the single best metro pub I’ve enjoyed in Australia.

It’s got:
  • outstanding beer (they only sell their own),
  • knowledgeable staff,
  • a decent pool table,
  • a lovely heritage building,
  • the gig list looks good,
  • no pokies, and
  • cosy interior design.

How ****ing hard is that to achieve Australia.

I've always enjoyed Glenelg. Don't particularly know why, but yeah.

Used to roll around Glenelg GC on occasion, and was hauled up at the Stamford Grand for too long... far too long.

I've always enjoyed Glenelg. Don't particularly know why, but yeah.

Used to roll around Glenelg GC on occasion, and was hauled up at the Stamford Grand for too long... far too long.
holdfast shores oyster bar midweek special day.... we always make an appearance if we are in adelaide midweek, will generally adjust our itinary to suit as well.

For those who have been following our journey, my son had his (hopefully) last surgery on Tuesday. A very risky surgery with a high mortality rate, so very scary, and what we’ve spent the last 4 years building towards. He is very brave and he is doing very well - his oxygen saturations are in the mid-90s when we’ve spent most of his life between 70 and 80. His drains come out hopefully tomorrow, and the doctors are optimistic he can be home for Christmas. The whole journey has taken its mental toll on our family, but it’s nice to be able to see the finish line in sight.

Attachments

• IMG_5194.jpeg
    IMG_5194.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 7
  • IMG_5201.jpeg
    IMG_5201.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_5331.jpeg
    IMG_5331.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 8
For those who have been following our journey, my son had his (hopefully) last surgery on Tuesday. A very risky surgery with a high mortality rate, so very scary, and what we’ve spent the last 4 years building towards. He is very brave and he is doing very well - his oxygen saturations are in the mid-90s when we’ve spent most of his life between 70 and 80. His drains come out hopefully tomorrow, and the doctors are optimistic he can be home for Christmas. The whole journey has taken its mental toll on our family, but it’s nice to be able to see the finish line in sight.
far better news than some of the events of recent.

Fantastic mate. ❤️

Wish you and the brave little man all the best!! Good luck mate... life can be ****ed.

Best news around here in a long time. 💙

For those of us not lucky enough to join the gravy train of travel rorters, KMart are currently selling a whole heap of footy gear at a reduced cost. For whatever reason, NMFC don't have their own logo and are listed in the "other teams", but there's stuff there to snag

Save up for next Black Friday, then book your holiday for 2027.

Thank me later.
Already saving up for the great 2029 trip for my best little mate and I. A celebratory lap encompassing Hillsborough - should it still be there - Stockholm, Astrix and Obelix World, Brest, London, Dorchester, Sheffield again, York and some as yet unplanned spots.

Local holidays prior to then :cool:

Seriously this time Random Chat thread [Now politics free! - may contain nuts]