Training Saints preseason 2026

Keelers biggest weakness was his competitiveness and aggression.

I think it was Stocker talking about how Ross drills into them “Get up”.

When drafting players a large part of your decision is do they have or have the potential to develop the mindset/culture of your team.

There was a game, I think it was against GWS where he hurt his shoulder. He tried to impact a contest and then ran to man the mark for another contest before coming off. For me that was a big sign he had taken steps towards developing the mindset needed to play in our team.

Like Pou, the skill set is there. Once they get that dog in them they will become different players.
Our last round performance against GWS was probably our best all round game against a good opponont.

Wilson got rid of the 2nd year blues and got a bag, Keeler showed very good signs, Garcia was scrappy and up for it, and the team never gave up and went goal for goal.

We have pivoted from the old guard of Sinclar, Wilkie, Roma, Webster, Ross and co for good and its now going to be the 2021 draft class and onwards team.

Young and hungry for glory

Moving in with Nas could do wonders for him off field and helping him realise what it takes to be elite.

Windy, someone known for his work ethic and preparation, mentioned recently how impressed he was with how Nas prepares away from the club and all the little things he does during the week to be at his best so someone like Collard is in for a huge surprise.
Nas buying a huge pad in Melbourne is significantly pleasing.

Yup. I think it gets a bit lost on us during the draft what the recruiters look for in players. We were all a bit meh on choosing NAS at the time but its obviously these qualities that really stand out to the recruiters on if that player is willing to go that extra hard yard to become absolutely elite.

Not that other players dont gain those traits, but I reckon the majority of first round picks will have these traits inherently.
Also some credit to Mason Wood for leading the way and taking the time to ensure the kids coming through learn the right ways to prepare away from the club.

Nas buying a huge pad in Melbourne is significantly pleasing.
I'm not sure that means anything , it does mean he is smart with his money and not wasting it on shit but that's about it , Its pretty easy to sell houses these days

Also some credit to Mason Wood for leading the way and taking the time to ensure the kids coming through learn the right ways to prepare away from the club.
Wood must be one of the best pick-ups this club has done for what he brings.

We got a development coach outside of the soft cap

I'm not sure that means anything , it does mean he is smart with his money and not wasting it on shit but that's about it , Its pretty easy to sell houses these days
It doesn't mean he's staying but it can't be a bad thing, and having guys like Collard living with him is going to be a positive.

What happened to Collards girlfriend?

Anyhoo Lance has all thesupport in the world at the club.
Henry and Hill have been nothing but encouraging since he got there, and now Liam Ryan has also taken him under his wing.
I see a happy and relaxed Lanceyboy at training, who seems to put in as much as possible.
Dont know if he 'makes it', but is being given every possible chance in a very good and welcoming environment.

Strange take
I think he means it's time for Lance to deliver. Whichever way you slice it his body of work so far is very underwhelming. Notwithstanding he often played as the sub, he averaged 3 kicks, 2 handballs 1 mark and 0.7 goals per game this year. 2024 outputs even worse. Hardly set the work on fire in the VFL either. Obviously has some tricks but need to see whole lot more than these sort of numbers.

That's fine but why the reference to him needing cuddles for living with Nas? Heaps of the players live together.

He only started as the sub twice out of twelve games this year and once from three games last year.

The club obviously sees potential in Lance given that there seems to be a huge effort made to create an optimal environment for him, but I'd want to start seeing some on field results soon.

Lance sleep with your husband or something mate?
Nah but its sounding like you need a little cuddle if saying that lance has got massive support around him and now its time to put the big boy pants on and make some inroads offends you, Really you want to go down the Homophobic road do you ?

Strange take
Nothing strange about it ,
Lance has had lots of support around him ever since he came to the club, now its time to stop giving him excuses.
We all hope he makes it but its now time for him to put head down ass up and make a go of it , Nothing strange about that at all .

I was worried about his work ethic and attitude early days, but from recent training footage (reports) and late VFL games I think the 'penny has dropped'. He was coming from a long way back physically and you can see he has put on some muscle bulk over the break, which is another good sign.

I have no doubt as soon as he matures to the point where he believes he belongs, he will become an exceptional small forward. He is the type of player who will get 8 touches and kick 5 goals, he just needs time.

I think he only got a 1 year extension on his contract, so he knows the pressure is on to perform. At least now if our younger players dont 100% make it at our club, they will still hold trade value.

I was worried about his work ethic and attitude early days, but from recent training footage (reports) and late VFL games I think the 'penny has dropped'. He was coming from a long way back physically and you can see he has put on some muscle bulk over the break, which is another good sign.

I have no doubt as soon as he matures to the point where he believes he belongs, he will become an exceptional small forward. He is the type of player who will get 8 touches and kick 5 goals, he just needs time.

I think he only got a 1 year extension on his contract, so he knows the pressure is on to perform. At least now if our younger players dont 100% make it at our club, they will still hold trade value.
The boss really likes Lance but did say beginning of this year he'd either play 2 games or 200 games..it's up to him.

Clubs have different time lines for different players too. They develop at different paces and some are true project players while others are written off quickly.

Honestly we wouldn't know from outside. I reckon we put a fair bit of development into Ari and then cut him but kept Byrnes on when he looks like he has probably been lucky to escape the cut a couple of times from the outside.

Training Saints preseason 2026