2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Off season and the footy mad audience don't have anything to chew on. We have to put up with this for another 1-2 weeks until more pre-season coverage picks up across all clubs.

If they stop posting on social media for a few weeks, it will go away. Not sure if Jules is posting but Tess certainly is. She is lapping it up.

Can’t say i’m sad about it. The latest incarnation of state of origin is a series of exhibition games. As has always been the case (which is why it died), the risk of our players getting injured is present for no benefit to the club.
I dont get the whole injury debate, they are going to play preseason games anyway and your just as likely to do an injury during pre season game ie rayner

I would assume we will be having an intraclub that week as we play Gold Coast the week after

Good. He is officially a Queenslander.

IMO, the AFL has missed a huge opportunity to promote and grow the game north of the Murray.

If they are going to play SOO preseason - play Queensland V NSW as well. A couple of fairly good teams these days - and a chance with SOO so big in League, a chance to convert younger generations.

IMO, the AFL has missed a huge opportunity to promote and grow the game north of the Murray.

If they are going to play SOO preseason - play Queensland V NSW as well. A couple of fairly good teams these days - and a chance with SOO so big in League, a chance to convert younger generations.
AFL should have had a NSW vs QLD origin match as well.
It could have gone like this
Vic vs WA
QLD vs NSW
SA vs Tas (although I imagine that would be a blowout)

Competitively speaking, QLD vs NSW would be the closest game in terms of raw talents.

Great outcome for Queensland footy! A Broadbeach/Southport junior only being eligible to represent Queensland and we avoid the absolute farcical situation that we saw in the 90s when Coorparoo junior Jason Dunstall played for Victoria. I assume this also means Sunny Coast junior Sam Marshall will be assigned Queensland as his State of Origin, despite moving to Victoria to attend Melbourne Grammar from 15 years of age like Will Ashcroft.

I'm going to guess Levi Ashcroft will also be only eligible to play for Queensland now and I think it's fair to say that he will want to play for the same state as his brother anyway. Like the father-son pledge, getting Will almost definitely means QLD gets Levi as well. Our state line up is actually pretty good when you add the Ashcrofts into the midfield! Keays, Fletcher, Uwland(s), Walter, Andrews, Hipwood, Chol, Read, Coleman, Payne, Patterson, Annable, Bowes, Lombard, Rogers etc.

We're actually pretty strong on every line and are probably just missing an x factor small forward (Charlie Cameron anyone?). I'd give us a chance against all states except Victoria and I reckon we play New South Wales in February 2027 when South Australia hosts Victoria. Vossy likely coaches our state team.

If they stop posting on social media for a few weeks, it will go away. Not sure if Jules is posting but Tess certainly is. She is lapping it up.
Some Friend!

Great outcome for Queensland footy! A Broadbeach/Southport junior only being eligible to represent Queensland and we avoid the absolute farcical situation that we saw in the 90s when Coorparoo junior Jason Dunstall played for Victoria. I assume this also means Sunny Coast junior Sam Marshall will be assigned Queensland as his State of Origin, despite moving to Victoria to attend Melbourne Grammar from 15 years of age like Will Ashcroft.

I'm going to guess Levi Ashcroft will also be only eligible to play for Queensland now and I think it's fair to say that he will want to play for the same state as his brother anyway. Like the father-son pledge, getting Will almost definitely means QLD gets Levi as well. Our state line up is actually pretty good when you add the Ashcrofts into the midfield! Keays, Fletcher, Uwland(s), Walter, Andrews, Hipwood, Chol, Read, Coleman, Payne, Patterson, Annable, Bowes, Lombard, Rogers etc.

We're actually pretty strong on every line and are probably just missing an x factor small forward (Charlie Cameron anyone?). I'd give us a chance against all states except Victoria and I reckon we play New South Wales in February 2027 when South Australia hosts Victoria. Vossy likely coaches our state team.
Tom Green was born in Townsville.

That's not how it works. Current Brownlow Medallist Matt Rowell was born in Sydney, but has already been named in the Victorian state team for the match against WA in February. Birthplace is essentially irrelevant if the player spent the vast majority of their upbringing in another state/territory.

Can somebody please explain how Jason Dunstall and Brian Taylor were able to play for Victoria back in the day?
In the case of Dunstall, it's because the eligibility rules at the time allowed for 'partial origin' if you came from a state that wasn't Victoria, SA or WA but were good enough to play for one of those teams. Essentially, the state that you played your first top level footy (VFL, SANFL or WAFL) was the state you were eligible to play for if you were good enough. It meant the likes of Queenslander Gavin Crosisca, New South Welshman Terry Daniher, Tasmanian Darrin Prtichard, Northern Territorian Russell Jeffrey and Irishman Jim Stynes all played for Victoria along with Dunstall.

Basically the Vics were stacking the decks by putting together a best of the east coast team + some NT/Irish players and calling them Victoria so they could beat SA and WA (but they still lost more often than you would think). The rule backfired when Wayne Carey was deemed eligible to play for South Australia and he starred for SA in their win over the Vics. So they quickly changed the rules for the following year and that returned Dunstall back to his rightful state of Queensland.

I think Brian Taylor was recruited by Richmond before he played any WAFL footy so that also saw him eligible to play for Victoria and he actually lined up for the Vics against his home state of WA. If you can believe it.

That's not how it works. Current Brownlow Medallist Matt Rowell was born in Sydney, but has already been named in the Victorian state team for the match against WA in February. Birthplace is essentially irrelevant if the player spent the vast majority of their upbringing in another state/territory.

In the case of Dunstall, it's because the eligibility rules at the time allowed for 'partial origin' if you came from a state that wasn't Victoria, SA or WA but were good enough to play for one of those teams. Essentially, the state that you played your first top level footy (VFL, SANFL or WAFL) was the state you were eligible to play for if you were good enough. It meant the likes of Queenslander Gavin Crosisca, New South Welshman Terry Daniher, Tasmanian Darrin Prtichard, Northern Territorian Russell Jeffrey and Irishman Jim Stynes all played for Victoria along with Dunstall.

Basically the Vics were stacking the decks by putting together a best of the east coast team + some NT/Irish players and calling them Victoria so they could beat SA and WA (but they still lost more often than you would think). The rule backfired when Wayne Carey was deemed eligible to play for South Australia and he starred for SA in their win over the Vics. So they quickly changed the rules for the following year and that returned Dunstall back to his rightful state of Queensland.

I think Brian Taylor was recruited by Richmond before he played any WAFL footy so that also saw him eligible to play for Victoria and he actually lined up for the Vics against his home state of WA. If you can believe it.
So what about Charlie Cameron? Didn't he spend most of his childhood in Queensland?

Can somebody please explain how Jason Dunstall and Brian Taylor were able to play for Victoria back in the day?
Played their first top-level (VFL, WAFL or SANFL) games in the VFL.

Edit: already been answered. Ignore.

Played their first top-level (VFL, WAFL or SANFL) games in the VFL.

Thanks.

So what about Charlie Cameron? Didn't he spend most of his childhood in Queensland?
  • Mt Isa product and now Brisbane Lions showman Charlie Cameron. Cameron attended boarding school in Brisbane at Marist College Ashgrove, graduating in 2011 after playing in the school’s AFL comeptetition. This year, AFL Queensland introduced the Andrews-Cameron Cup which is contested by Marist Ashgrove and Padua College – Cameron’s teammate Harris Andrews former high-school. The two schools are part of the AIC First XVIII Competition. Stats for Cameron this year include; 235 disposals. 177 kicks, 87 marks, 58 handballs averaging 10.7 disposals, 8 kicks, 4 marks. 47 Goals, 31 Behinds. 38 Inside 50m.
Above from a 2021 article

• Mt Isa product and now Brisbane Lions showman Charlie Cameron. Cameron attended boarding school in Brisbane at Marist College Ashgrove, graduating in 2011 after playing in the school’s AFL comeptetition. This year, AFL Queensland introduced the Andrews-Cameron Cup which is contested by Marist Ashgrove and Padua College – Cameron’s teammate Harris Andrews former high-school. The two schools are part of the AIC First XVIII Competition. Stats for Cameron this year include; 235 disposals. 177 kicks, 87 marks, 58 handballs averaging 10.7 disposals, 8 kicks, 4 marks. 47 Goals, 31 Behinds. 38 Inside 50m.
Definitely sounds like a WA lad to me 🤷

Yes and I believe he should also be aligned to Queensland. The ONLY piece of criteria that I can think of that plays against Cameron being a Queenslander is that he never played Aussie rules for a community club in QLD. We know he played school footy while he was boarding at Marist, but I don't think he played club footy anywhere in Queensland unlike Ashcroft did with Broadbeach and Southport. That's the only way I can possibly see how they can justify the decision to align Cameron to WA.

Above from a 2021 article
It's a shame that the AFL clearly hasn't taken into account his footy at Marist. Having said that, I'm sure a 21yo Will Ashcroft being aligned to Queensland is going to have a far greater impact than 31yo Charlie Cameron would. I know who I'd rather have in my line up.

A proper SOO format is not possible for the AFL unless they start sometime in January. So, they are stuck at present with a one-off exhibition game. It will be fairly successful as fans will want to see some football after the long offseason.
I don't see interest being maintained long term though.
The AFL are not stupid, so i see a change of State & venue for a few years. Even alternate years with an Indigenous All Stars v someone. Anything to help with the next media deal and keeping AFL in the media offseason news.

Then you have the players. Some may be very keen others hoping they don't get approached and have to decide it they accept or stay in the club offseason program.

Even if the format is extended to other states in the following years i don't see a Queensland team being named.
It will be Allies, and that has no interest for me. TBH this year's game also has no interest for me either.

That's why NRL is successful. Qld had no chance of beating v the might of NSW, but they did with players playing in some cases from reserve grade. From that point on it was a battle far different to a normal game. The game is played midseason.

The passion to actually cause pain to the opposition will not be there in an AFL game. The players are not even fully fit at that stage of the year.
An exhibition game is how i see it with the fans having a chance to see very good players on the field at the same time showing off their skills.

Its still the VFL

This might be one of the few examples of it not being as much of a VFL competition anymore. The decision to align Will Ashcroft to his rightful State of Origin (Queensland) has hurt the Victorian state team to some degree and clearly helps a future QLD team tremendously. There's no doubt in my mind that Will would be playing for Victoria if he was playing in the 90s.

Anyway, I hope we get to a point one day where a Queensland team can hold its own against Victoria and we see the Ashcrofts potentially even led QLD to a win over Victoria. That would be the ultimate for state footy.