Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports

Gtfoh!! I know they are all power.. but didn’t know they had that much power… No wonder im quick over 30 or used to be, too much power

Every New Years Day we used to have a 100m sprint to see who was the fastest in the house. It's a most prestigious title. My best little mate reckoned at the beginning of this year that he had my measure. It took me maybe 30/35 metres to haul him in,but still had him by about 8m over the journey. 2 more sleeps until the big event ..... might be closer to 50 metres this year I reckon ....

This could be the first big sporting event of 2026. You need Bruce Maca to commentate!

There was a bit of controversy last year and we had to have a rematch. Best little mate reckoned I cheated because I made him laugh when I went past him .... I gave myself a cheer and a Lleyton Hewitt style c'mon when I'd finally caught him! For the statisticians amongst us, I hit a Papenhuiyzenesque top speed of 25.5km/h.

Hi people. Sorry for the intrude. Have not been much on big footy and haven't read the training thread, but a couple of your players i have had a keen interest in are Wardlaw and Powell. How have they been tracking pre season and hopefully both are on track for career best years for you guys.thanks in advance.

Powell is a lot skinnier, so probably a role change to the wing I would imagine.

Please try to get him back to Adelaide.
I will lose my mind if he shows no defensive accountability again next year. Before the pile on, he tackles when he is in arms reach of an opponent however if there is an inclination of hard work to be defensive he chooses not too.

This has to change, he also isn’t the only player in our team that does this.. looking at you, you over priced Bull. If Zurhaar was in the stock yards he’d get passed in and sent to the knackery.

In 2026 I will believe things can be different. We will know by the final siren round 1

Had a customer in who lives in a small country town in NW Vic. He’s a Richmond supporter, but all four of his adult sons are North supporters. Apparently their teacher at primary school gave lollies each day to her pupils if they behaved. However if they behaved AND promised to support North Melbourne they received extra lollies. Genius recruiting move.

Get that teacher a statue

Don’t write off goater

Its Happening GIF by MOODMAN

I am looking forward to seeing him on grass again next year.

Walking Wandering GIF by Mercy For Animals

Can confirm that the race has been run and won, and I remain Fastest in the House for another year. Into a very stiff 3.1 m/s headwind at sunny old Ballam Park, with a top speed of 21.1 km/h, obviously dulled by the wind, and an unofficial time of 19.0 flat for the journey :-) My Garmin watch reckons I had 14 seconds of running time, so I musta fluffed around for 5 seconds ....

Please try to get him back to Adelaide.
I will lose my mind if he shows no defensive accountability again next year. Before the pile on, he tackles when he is in arms reach of an opponent however if there is an inclination of hard work to be defensive he chooses not too.

This has to change, he also isn’t the only player in our team that does this.. looking at you, you over priced Bull. If Zurhaar was in the stock yards he’d get passed in and sent to the knackery.

In 2026 I will believe things can be different. We will know by the final siren round 1
I certainly get the frustration with Powell. Very interested to see how his contract situation plays out.
Do they offer him a modest two year extension and he either signs because he wants to stay or does he look to move on elsewhere with a better offer or more prominent role?
You could make a case you extend him for two years and keep him around as midfield depth.
Doesn't mean you can't trade him before then to Tassie or he leaves end of 2028.
Given the Simpkin situation and unresolved contract situations with young guys like Duursma, Hardemann and GW at this stage, it'll be interesting to see what happens there.

A lot of glass half empty on Tommy Powell. He’s still young and they have got a decent amount of experience into him without much in the way of support around him in the middle.

I think 2 years would be fair for both parties but I reckon as the team improves he will too. Someone needs to show him the video of his handballs from his first year set to classical music.